Pirate pants (arrr!)

Oooh yeah, been a while since I made anything for the Little Man, hasn’t it? But hey, maybe not all that long after all…. coz I made him some pirate pants back in September for a pirate party a few days before we went off on our holiday. Didn’t get any good pics of him in them then, so, you know, we had to get some pics at Lake Bled in Slovenia instead. (Oh, the things I do for this blog. I hope you all appreciate the huge effort into finding “interesting” photo locations. πŸ˜‰ )

Anyway, these are from a pattern I’ve used beforeSimplicity 3766. Pretty simple, there’s just two pieces in total, and some elastic around the waist.

Pirate pants

I did get a bit lazy, though. (Have you noticed that sometimes it takes more effort to be lazy than it does to just do something in the first place? Yeah, this was one of those times.) My sewing machine and overlocker (serger) share a desk, and when I want to use my overlocker I just move the sewing machine out of the way and pull the overlocker into the right spot. This time, I couldn’t quite be bothered moving my sewing machine, so instead of doing my usual overlocked edge finish I french-seamed all the seams. Yeah, more-effort-being-lazy. As you do.

Pirate pants

Turns out this is a slightly odd pattern sizing – they’re a bit too short in the crotch depth, and way long in the leg. But hey, that’s ok. They still come up high enough over his butt, and we just turn the cuffs up on them. And I guess it means they’ll fit him a bit longer, since he’s got that good ol’ “room to grow” going on. πŸ˜‰ And, you know, they’ve got cute skulls on them. So I reckon they’re pretty awesome, no?

Pirate pants

These pics were taken on the edge of Lake Bled while we were waiting for enough people to turn up so we could take a gondola over to the tiny little island. Our Little Man got rather fascinated by the chains holding the gondola’s onto the dock. Just like any good pirate, he was trying to figure out how to take off with a boat, I suspect. Aaarrrr!

Pirate pants

8 responses to “Pirate pants (arrr!)

  1. Pingback: Simplicity 3766 | Patterns patterns patterns

  2. Little Drake is so cute and he is a great pirate.

  3. Awww, he is so cute! Love the little pirate pants!

  4. Very cute (pants and baby)! I hope you have enough of that awesome skull stuff to make something for you!

  5. Pingback: Denim shorts for little dudes | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a comment