Roses in the City

Look, look! I made a thing!!!

To be more specific – I made a dress!!! A summer dress, in the hope that one day summer will arrive. (Although it looks like I’m going to have to travel to the Northern Hemisphere to get any summer this year… Hmmm…)

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And if we’re wanting to be really specific, I made the Rose City halter dress by Sew House Seven, using a Liberty poplin in the classic Carmine print from Minerva Crafts. Because rose pattern on rose dress pattern just screams out summer picnics and adventures, don’tcha think?

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Plus I figured the extra sweet girlishness of roses would be offset by my tattoo with the halterneck back. Coz normally, this print would be just a little bit too sweet for my taste…)

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

This was my first time sewing a Sew House Seven pattern, although I’ve got a few of them in my ‘things to make’ list. (Have you see the Tea House dress? Gorgeous! I need a maxi in that style…) I found it to be a great pattern to work with – instuctions and markings all nice and clear, all the measurements that you need to figure out what you’re doing, everything matched up as it should. Overall, a well crafted pattern, I reckon! πŸ™‚

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I made up version B, with the bias-cut A-line skirt with curved patch pockets. I did all my usual adjustments – grading out a size between bust and waist, lengthening the bodice by about 1.5cm, and doing a small bust adjustment. For once, I didn’t length the skirt, as it seemed to be a good length (i.e. I can actually wear it without fears for showing the world my unders. What the heck is up with super short dresses?!?!? Or maybe it’s just those of us who live in windy locales who worry about that… πŸ˜‰

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The Rose City Halter dress has some lovely details, including a fully-lined bodice, unusual pocket shaping (curved on one side and the base, and straight on the other side!), released pleats at the shoulders, and separate neck ties that you line with the same fabric as your garment so they’re always showing right-side-out. The lined bodice gives a great, clean finish – I went with a yellow lightweight poplin for lining, just to add to the summery essence of the whole garment. πŸ˜‰

I added a couple of other touches too, naturally. I hemmed the skirt using a blind hem and Hug Snug rayon seam binding. And I added an Oscar Wilde quote as a label on the inside, on top of an accent of the Carmine poplin.

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I’m really happy with how this one turned out. So lovely and girly and summery to wear, and fun to make. πŸ™‚

Also – notice the shoes? Liberty print Nikes, yeah! Double Liberty!! πŸ˜‰

(Photos taken on a trip to Wellington Zoo. In late January (yes, that long ago). In between chasing after two preschoolers who were determined to cause chaos. Hah!)

Rose Squared dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

10 responses to “Roses in the City

  1. Great dress! And fabric.

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ It’s quickly become one of my favourites.

      On Fri, Apr 21, 2017 at 1:13 PM Modern Vintage Cupcakes wrote:

      >

  2. Love the dress, and trainers, and hair ;o) Here’s to making!

    • Hah, thank you! Making things is awesome indeed. πŸ™‚

      On Fri, Apr 21, 2017 at 5:02 PM Modern Vintage Cupcakes wrote:

      >

  3. craftysewandsewindorset

    Very cute. Welcome back to the world of sewing pretty things….missed your makes.

    • Aww thank you! πŸ™‚ Sewing pretty things really is a wonderful way to spend some time! πŸ˜‰

      On Sat, Apr 22, 2017 at 9:18 PM Modern Vintage Cupcakes wrote:

      >

  4. Very cute! And your inside finishing is just perfection!

    • Thanks Linda! πŸ™‚ I really like how the pattern gets you to line the bodice – such a nice finishing. πŸ™‚

      On Mon, Apr 24, 2017 at 5:00 AM Modern Vintage Cupcakes wrote:

      >

  5. Kat you look beautiful! I love the label with the quote in the back as well – clever. Thank you for making it.

  6. Pingback: The Rose City Halter Dress from Sew House Seven | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a comment