Oh, Hello Deer

So, remember how I mentioned the other day that I was lucky enough to be invited to be a pattern tester for the latest Papercut collection, Constellation? Wanna see what I made?

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Yep – it’s the cropped version of the Bellatrix blazer!

Isn’t it a gorgeous cut? I just loves it. I may have done a little happy dance when I saw the line drawings, as it’s exactly the sort of cut I’ve been looking for to wear over 1940’s and 1950’s dresses and skirts. The nipped-in waist, the curved peplum that rises up at the back – perfect for over full skirts, don’t you think?

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Since I got my hands on this pattern just after getting back from our holiday, I just had to indulge in using both the pattern and some of my new Japanese fabric at the same time. So I present to you – Buck, a linen/cotton blend from Echino, purchased in Tokyo. (Doesn’t that sound all wonderful and exotic?!?) And look! It has deer on it! And some of them are wearing glasses!! Oh yeah. Deer in glasses. How hipster am I?!?

And yet corporate as well, since this is a tailored blazer. And it’s (mostly) black. Therefore, I shall christen this… the Corporate Hipster jacket. (Yeah, I know. I’m not so good at coming up with the creative names. Oh well.)

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Don’t you just love the line of the peplum, curving up from the centre front? And the sleeve cuffs have a subtle curve on them as well (as all good proper tailored expensive jackets do, so I was rather excited to see the the Bellatrix has that detail on it), which curves in the opposite direction to the peplum so the curves balance each other out.

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The Bellatrix has two welt pockets. Which, if I’m being totally honest, usually scare the heck out of me. Yep, welt pockets and I are not friends. To the extent where I question whether or not to make up a pattern if I see it has welt pockets….

But for this one, I got brave. And I’m so glad I did! These welt pockets – a thing of beauty in the design and construction! So incredibly fast and easy and tidy to make up. (I may have sent fellow pattern tester Mel a rather excited text when I finished them, exclaiming how easy and tidy they were.) Seriously guys, Best Welt Pockets. Ever.

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Since this fabric is kinda full-on, I was a bit worried that the shawl collar would get a bit lost in the pattern of the fabric. So I made some red piping (first time making my own piping! Oh yeah!) in a shade as close as I could get to the glasses the deer are wearing, and edged the collar with it. I also added some to the sleeves.

My arms are super-long (which, incidentally, was what got me into sewing in the first place. Before I could make my own tops, I was wearing 3/4 length sleeves before they really existed.), so even though the Bellatrix sleeves are pretty long anyway, I added another 6 cm to the length, which made them perfect. And because I mucked up and forgot to lengthen them while cutting, and didn’t have enough fabric left to re-cut, I simply made a cuff which had the same curve at the base as the original sleeve did. Then when I joined it on, I used the same red piping between, which also follows the sleeve hem curve. And you know what? I reckon it looks a lot better than if I’d just cut the sleeves the right length in the first place, so I’m calling it a Design Feature. πŸ˜‰

But wait, do you see a bit of blue and pink appearing in that photo above where I’m pulling the pocket open?

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Yep, it’s the pocket lining. I couldn’t resist, and made it in a scrap of the fabric I used for my Cartoon Eccentric dress. (It has elephants on it!)

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I think this is one of my favourite parts – I have deer wearing glasses on the centre back. Woot!

Oh yes, speaking of the centre back – having a seam there is fabulous. It provides a bit more shaping for this tailored style, and it also makes it super-easy to adjust if you need to take it in anywhere.

(I didn’t need to take it in. I cut a S, and graded down to an XS at the bust, and it fits perfectly. Admittedly, I could have done with widening the shoulders, as I have rather wide shoulders, but I forgot to. I’ll do that next time.)

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Photographer Guy rather mysteriously informed me he knew the perfect place for us to get photos today, and led me up hills until we got there. On top of the rise between Berhampore and Kingston (or whatever the suburb between Berhampore and Kingston is?). Gorgeous views down to Island Bay and Cook Strait. And lots of wind to make hair and skirts do odd things in nearly every photo. This is Wellington, after all.

(Also, sorry about the frown-y photos. There was quite a lot of glare from the sun and I’ve spent too much time staring at computer screens over the last many years for my eyes to be happy with sun-glare! 😦 )

Corporate Hipster Bellatrix Blazer | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I used a bright burgundy for the lining. Because pops of colour are awesome. πŸ™‚

Right, onto the pattern review segment!

Seriously guys, if you like this style blazer, you should go and buy this pattern now! It was super easy to make up, and a lot faster than I was expecting. The construction is genius, and the instructions are great – clear and easy to follow. With the shawl collar, and the brilliant extremely simple welt pockets, this is far easier to make than you’d expect.

The fit is tailored, nipped in at the waist and then flaring out with the peplum over the hips. It’s fully lined/faced, and the lining (and facings) are constructed at the same time as the shell, so it all comes together quickly. The sleeves are faced, and the lining is then joined onto those, which gives a super neat and tidy look inside (which I completely forgot to get photos of, sorry!)

Now, you may think I’m raving about this simply because I was lucky enough to be one of the pattern testers. But seriously, this pattern is awesome! I foresee a few more variations in my future, starting with one in burgundy velvet in the longer version for winter…. Mmmm……

Since I’ve raved about how awesome Papercut is on here a bit lately, I’ve decided I want to share the Papercut love. So, I’m going to give away a Papercut pattern! With one little catch – I want this to go to someone who doesn’t own, and has never made, a Papercut pattern before. Someone who hasn’t discovered their awesomeness yet. So if you’ve never owned or made a Papercut pattern, and would like to try one, this giveaway is for you!

Want to be in to win? Comment below saying you’ve never had a Papercut pattern, and tell me which one you’d choose if you won. I’ll draw a winner on Saturday 23 November and buy you the pattern of your choice. πŸ˜‰ This giveaway is now closed – congrats to the lucky winners, Anne W and Symondezyn! (Yep, I couldn’t resist sharing the Papercut love, and decided to draw two winners. πŸ˜‰

103 responses to “Oh, Hello Deer

  1. Although I qualify as a Papercut newb, don’t put me in the draw – hey don’t quite get my size range πŸ˜‰ But Ihad to say how much I LOVE LOVE LOVE this pattern – I love both your and Mel’s versions. But, there really is something about deer in red glasses, non? One can see them sipping pinot gris outside Duke Carvell’s and discussing art in an ironic way… xoxo

    • Awww, thank you! This pattern really is fantastic, it’s such a great cut πŸ™‚
      And i am totally picturing those deer hanging around, sipping their craft beers, talking philosophy and pop culture

  2. I’ve yet to get around to buying a Papercut Pattern, but it’s in my future, I just know it (I’m psychic). From this collection, I love the Sigma dress; from previous collections, Peter & the Wolf; Coppelia; La Sylphide: Undercover Hoody … If only I had more time … !

  3. Hey Kat, Gina here, I have never had a Papercut pattern and I really like this little jacket!

  4. This blazer is fantastic! I love the fabric and tne piping really finishes it nicely. I am a papercut virgin and would love to make the watson jacket

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚
      Ooh yes, the Watson jacket. That’s the one that first caught my eye from papercut – I’m planning to make it for winter next year πŸ™‚

  5. I purchased this pattern as soon as I saw the pattern release. Tis a perfect jacket. Love yours!

  6. Wow- that is a sharp jacket!

  7. What is a Papercut pattern? The only reason I heard of them is, well, you blog! Surprise me with one of your choice, if I win.

  8. Oh my god. Your jacket is amazing!
    I am a papercut newbie, however, I will order some in the future. I love this Bellatrix jacket. I also love the Watson Jacket and La Sylphide. Difficult to choose…

    • Ooh, those are three of my favourites! The La Sylphide was the first Papercut pattern I ever made, and completely converted me to her designs. πŸ™‚

  9. This is gorgeous and I’m glad to hear that it wasn’t *too* difficult to make, because it looks intimidating.

    • Oh it’s far,far easier to make than it looks! Seriously, you’d be surprised how fast and easy. Don’t be scared of it! Katie’s instructions walk you through it really well. πŸ™‚

  10. Oh I love it! The sleeve extension with the contrast piping is one of my favourite features as it really accentuates that curved cuff. The deer at centre back are just perfection!
    I’m a paper cut pattern virgin but have always loved Watson and your version makes me want Bellatrix too. I think it could be made into an awesome frock style coat by lengthening the peplum and using a velvet, brocade or gorgeous jewel toned wool. Watson would have to be made in a tweed to pay homage to Sherlock! I’d be overjoyed to receive either pattern if I’m lucky enough to win.

    • Oh my gosh, a frock coat length Bellatrix! What an awesome idea!!!! I am so tempted to do that for next winter…. Hmmmm…… *already thinking of fabric choices*….

  11. Very nice!! Love the fabric πŸ™‚ It’s a great shape with good details. I’ve never had a Papercut pattern, but this I may pump for! Great stuff

  12. Love your blazer! The piping is absolutely perfect! I’m new to Papercut patterns, but just browsing their site made me start thinking of Christmas wish lists! The Undercover hood and Ensis tee are right up my alley, and the Coppelia tee looks comfy-cozy, too. (Can you tell it is dismal gray today and the wind is starting to howl?)

  13. I would love to try paper cut pattern! I would pick the bomber jacket! Thx!!!

    • Isn’t that bomber jacket cute?!? I’m going to make that one myself as soon as i find the rib trim and open zip i need for it πŸ™‚

  14. Wow! I love this! It’s so fun and cute! Love, love, love! Obviously leave me out of the giveaway as I’m a Papercut fangirl, too, but I’m excited for the winner of the giveaway! So, so cute!

  15. You never stop to amaze me. How do you manage it all! Your jacket is great I love the collar. I have never used a papervut pattern and having a hood look I’m wandering why? I love the Watson jacket but I would never get round to finishing it, so I would xchoose the sigma dress. You are certainly a pioneer to indie patterns thanks.

  16. I have never made papercut pattern before – I looked at them once before and they didn’t go up to my size. BUT I just read on another blog that they increased their size range starting with this collection and checked again – YES, this blazer goes up to my size! So, enter me in the drawing, I would love to make the bellatrix!

    • Yes, she’s added another size to this collection! Isn’t it gray?!! πŸ˜€ i may have done a little happy dance when i heard that πŸ™‚

  17. I agree that the cuff is a design feature, not a mistake. I love the piping on the sleeve – if I were to make this, I would cut a seam in the sleeves just to do that!

  18. Holy smokes this is gorgeous! The fabric looks perfect as a jacket (an idea I might pinch one day when I get the right kind of blazer pattern – unfortunately this one isn’t for me, I need MORE fabric over my bottom not less).
    I would totally run with “design feature” on the sleeves, they look rad!

  19. I said why not and bought the Bellatrix blazer pattern, never tried papercut patterns, excited to try but I am smitten with the Watson jacket.

  20. awesome make, Kat! Love the placement of the two deer at center back!
    I’ve been admiring katie’s designs for a while but haven’t bought any papercut patterns yet. I almost pulled the trigger last week during her sale but didn’t in the end bc I know there is already so much in my queue! But I really do want to get around one to one of these. Would love to win this giveaway and get some extra motivation to finally make one up πŸ™‚ I’ve admired the watson jacket for a long time. In this new collection, I love the blouse, blazer, and bomber jacket (would only get this one if I knew I could source some good ribbing for it). The tunic too – that one for me is a classes example of I didn’t love it when I first saw it but became drawn to it when other people were so excited about it. Now I think it’d be great for thanksgiving and or christmas over leggings. It looks like it could accommodate holiday meals :)!

    • Awww, thank you! πŸ™‚ i must admit, the deer at the centre back make me rather happy πŸ™‚

      I know what you mean about the saiph tunic – the more i look at it, the more i think about making it. I’m considering lengthening it for a knee length dress with a belt around the waist….

  21. Those deer with the glasses are the best! I’d totally be finding red rimmed glasses just to wear with that gorgeous jacket.
    I’ve not used a Papercut Pattern despite admiring them from afar. The Sigma dress is so cute and practical that I have been eyeing off fabrics in the stash since the collection was released, if I won it would be on the cutting table in a flash!

    • Now that you mention it, i do have a pair of red rimmed sunglasses lurking around someplace… I may have to track them down just so i can wear them with this blazer πŸ˜‰
      Isn’t the sigma dress great?! I’ve already picked out the fabric I’m going to use for my first version of it, ha ha!

  22. This looks fabulous on you, such a great, interesting fabric choice! I’ve already ordered this pattern along with a few others from the range but seeing your make has got me super excited about getting my hands on them. Thanks for the inspiration.

  23. I haven’t made any papercut patterns before and was thinking of trying the bomber jacket from this new collection, however your blazer looks so pretty, maybe I should try this instead….

  24. Hi, never made one of hers before, i would choose the Rigel Bomber πŸ™‚ im actually trully curious as what is what makes them so easy to sew. You do a great variety of stuff and seem to know your way around well, so what is the golden tip?
    Cheers,
    Mariana

    • It pretty much comes down to her drafting and her instructions. She does clever things like attaching sleeves in the flat instead of on the round, which is a lot easier and faster. And using facings for the cuff on the blazer rather than getting you to blind hem a curve. Her instructions are very clear and easy to follow, and she gives tips like how to use your feed dog to deal with any fullness in a sleeve head. πŸ™‚

  25. I really have to try their patterns at some point, as I’ve heard nothing but good things about them. I love how your blazer turned out, and Bellatrix is just an awesome name. The pattern I’m really wanting to try is their circle top.

  26. Never made a Papercut before, love la Sylphide or saiph tunic, your jacket is exquisite x

  27. Great fabric! And I have the long arms issue too, so I understand completely. I have actually not bought any Papercut Patterns yet, but that jacket looks pretty fabulous, so I’d probably go for that. I do love a good jacket!

    Also, burgundy velvet sounds luscious!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚
      It really is quite wonderful having a jacket with long enough arms – something not to be taken for granted ha ha! πŸ˜‰

  28. You look AMAZING in these photos! Love the windswept curls and sultry expression – very “wuthering heights”.
    I have never bought a Papercut pattern, so I went over to have a look and really liked the lines of the Watson jacket. Thanks for this generous opportunity!

  29. Glasses wearing hipster deer knew this blazer would be cool before you even started cutting πŸ˜‰

    • Hey man, if they hadn’t thought it would be cool, they wouldn’t have stuck around. (unless they felt it was ironic to do so, that is…)

  30. Oh, me please. I haven’t tried a Papercut yet. I’ve heard great things about the Ooh La La Leggings, but I also like the look of the Petal Skirt.

  31. Yet another that hasn’t tried Papercut. I like the look of the patterns’ production, but can’t see the styles on my short, curvy figure. However, I’m swayed by your jacket and review of Bella trip. I think it could work for me, too.

    • Oh, i think the Bellatrix, especially the cropped version, would look fantastic on a figure like yours!! I bet the la sylphide would look great on you, too πŸ™‚

  32. Love the jacket & your post & the scenery. Really super make & great fabric!!! Don’t have a Papercut pattern, but would choose this one, thank you, ma’am!
    del

  33. First of all, I lurve the fabric you chose! polka dot and deer in glasses… so perfectly quirky! Secondly, a great job on the jacket! Love the red piping..
    Don’t count me in a giveaway, though, I like Papercut patterns, but I already have too many sewing patterns in my stash..

  34. Wow Kat your blazer is like magic! I’m completely smitten by the deer in glasses. I saw this over on Mels blog and fell in love with the shape and the fact that both of you remarked how easy it was to sew the welt pockets. And dare I even mention the red piping and lining! A work of art to be sure. So I am totally sold on this and would love to win the Bellatrix blazer. Thanks Kat.

    • Aww thank you! πŸ™‚
      Seriously, these welt pockets are super easy. They’re in the seam, so no need to slash them open or stitch down annoying little triangles or anything like that.

  35. Oh, this looks great! I’ve just purchased the Tiramisu dress pattern after seeing your amazing creations… I would love to win the pattern for THIS blazer too. It looks amazing!

    • Oh, I can totally picture you in this blazer! I bet it would look fab on you πŸ™‚
      Hope you enjoy the tiramisu! In case you haven’t found it yet, theres an online shop at dresses and me, based in nz and selling patterns from a few of the indie labels. Far, far cheaper postage for a lot of them, too. πŸ™‚

  36. Kat you have done such an amazing job with this jacket. Such cool fabric. Love the piping. Great idea. And those shots of you are fantastic. Love your hair down, blowing in the wind against a distant backdrop. Hats off to your photographer too! x

  37. I’m not a newbie (I was lucky enough to test, too!) but i just wanted to tell you that your blazer is AMAZING. Bespectacled deer make me happy too πŸ™‚

  38. The Watson jacket! I’ve never used papercut patterns.

  39. Kat, this is such a great style, and you did such a great job (awesome fabric choice too). Could you please enter me in the draw? I want a Bellatrix just like yours!

  40. I have never used a Papercut Pattern but would LOVE to give this blazer a go. I might just try it in a light denim. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  41. Never made or owned a Papercut pattern before, but I love the new constellation line. I’d like to try any of those patterns. Your blazer is darling, I totally am digging the deer and dots:)

  42. I love that blazer. The polka dots with deer heads is such a fun quirky fabric, and I love that you added the contrasting piping! What a great job!

  43. I haven’t tried any of the patterns yet and love the bomber jacket. Thanks for the competition.

  44. Kat, these photos of you are just breathtaking!! I love the way you paired this funky little jacket with the hot pink ballgown-esque skirt… it’s very reminiscent of Madonna, but with your own characteristic twist – I love it!! And you are looking amazing!!!

    I’ve never owned a Papercut pattern, and I have a bunch of them on my wish list too… haha… I don’t know why i haven’t just jumped on the bandwagon, but here are the ones I love most: Undercover Hood, Midsummer Night dress, La Sylphide dress, and the Bustier dress. Probably if I had to pick just one, I’d go for the hood because it’d fill a gap in my wardrobe that is sadly lacking ^__^

    • Aww shucks! Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Also – you won the competition! Let me know your address and I’ll send the undercover hood pattern your way πŸ™‚

      • OMG!!! Thank you soooooooooooooooo much!!! I’m so freaking excited!! *Happy dance happy dance* I’ll send you my address via email right away!!!! :D:D

  45. Ooh I love your fabric! I’ve been wanting to buy that fabric but for lack of time/inspiration. . . Now you’ve gone and given me some ideas!

    I’ve never seen a Papercut Pattern before and would love to win!

    • I’ve been wanting this fabric ever since i first saw it about a year ago – so glad i finally got it! It’s lovely to work with, too πŸ™‚

  46. Pingback: Papercut winner (or maybe two…?) | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  47. Pingback: Little Bitty Crazy Houses | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  48. Pingback: Dreaming of a clear blue summer’s day…. | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  49. This had got to be one of my favourite of your makes. It’s really brilliant! You’ve done a beautiful job and the piping is perfect! The pink skirt is fabulous too, is that one of yours too?

    Gutted I missed your draw but oh well!

  50. Pingback: 2013 reflections – top 5 hits and misses | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  51. I love this jacket, the deer are totally hipster!
    I do have a question. I’m ready to start on my very own Bellatrix. The instructions tell you to fuse the entire jacket + the front facings and double fuse the collar. Is all this fusing really necessary or not? I have a normal weight cotton, probably of the same weight as your deer. Just no deer, only stars…Thanks!

    • Thanks Wendy! πŸ™‚

      I used the fusing in all the places it said to, but I did use quite a lightweight iron-on interfacing, so it didn’t add too much bulk or stiffness, but gave it just enough to make the collar fold into and keep it’s shape really well. When I make it again, I’ll almost certainly use the interfacing again as well (but again, a lightweight one), unless making it in a much heavier fabric like a denim.

      Hope you have fun with your Bellatrix – I really enjoyed making mine, and your stars sound fabulous! πŸ™‚

  52. Pingback: Me Made May ’14, the second week | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  53. Pingback: Meet the Editors – Kat! | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

