Show Us Your Stash – Diane!

Guess what folks? It’s time for another Stash Reveal interview! This time, we’re having a peek at the stash of Diane, who blogs over at Marguerite Designs.

Diane makes things out of pretty, pretty fabric. And she not only sews, but she’s a knitter as well! She’s thinking about doing a ‘knit weekly’ series this year, trying out a new stitch each week and posting about it. Want to learn about some more knitting stitches? Keep an eye on her blog for when that series starts.

So, Diane, give us the details…!

How long have you been sewing and stashing? How big is your stash?
Always, but it kind of magnified when I followed Sew Weekly and I actively started to hunt stuff out.

Lots of lovely fabric and craft things on shelves

Lots of lovely fabric and craft things on shelves

Where do you keep your stash? How do you store it?
Well it was in a cardboard box, but it grew so much recently that last year I bought a set of bookshelves in a sale and I now stack stuff on the shelves keeping scraps in a big blue laundry bag at the side of it.

A big bag of scraps

A big bag of scraps

What is the oldest piece in your stash? What was your original plan for this piece and why hasn’t it happened?
A piece of navy silk with a small pattern in golds and red. I didn’t really have a plan, I just liked it and it was in a sale – my first piece of something really special and I even remember the cost, about £3 and I bought it with holiday money. But it’s not really big enough for anything in particular – maybe a waistcoat lining?

The oldest piece in the stash

The oldest piece in the stash

What’s your favourite piece in your stash? Where did you get it, what do you love about it, what do you think you might do with it?
At the moment, some Liberty paisley in pinks. I got it in the John Lewis (famous UK store) sale. I just love the colours and the fine printing. I’m going to make another Liverpool shirt with it (an Amy Butler pattern).

Pretty Liberty paisley

Pretty Liberty paisley

Does the fabric you buy go straight into hiding or do you wash it first?
I wash it on my machine’s short 1/2 hour cycle, so it’s ready for use when I need to.

How do you add to your stash? Do you buy with a purpose in mind, or is it fabric lust?
If it’s a bargain and an irresistible print, then I’ll get some … I actually look for it now! I know I’ll use it somewhere along the line …

Do you have something in your stash that you cannot bear to cut into? Why?
I did … it’s done now … it was a gift from my dad’s friend and I was scared I’d ruin it … a silver embroidered tunic … but after about 8 months of weekly sewing, I just went for it.

Do you just stash fabric, or does the problem include patterns and notions?
Oh, it’s patterns as well now …. I work not far from a department store with a haberdashery department where you can browse through the pattern books. Fatal at lunchtime, plus there are two charity shops on the way where I’ve found some gems.

Have you decided to do a “stash-busting” resolution this year? If so, what have you decided to do?
I’m trying to be a bit more thoughtful about what will match with other things I’ve got, as well as think about what’s missing in my wardrobe. Haven’t really made a resolution … just thinking about it at the moment (but I know I won’t be able to pass up on something truly wonderful).

I have a length of fabric to swap if anyone’s interested. It’s a waxed African print in yellow and purple. Quite stiff and starchy because of the waxing. The piece is 120cm x 160 cm.

African wax print, up for swaps!

African wax print, up for swaps!

Well, that’s about it where my fabric is concerned. I could do exactly the same with my wool and card making things!

Thanks for the glimpse of your stash Diane! 🙂

(Here’s where I admit – Diane did have some other fabric to swap, but I nabbed it. Sorry!)

If you’re interested in swapping for that length of waxed African print (which looks pretty fabulous!) let Diane know in the comments below so she can get in touch and see what you want to swap for it.

Want to see some other stashes? Two more have gone up in the past few days:

And just in case you missed any, here are the others in the series so far:

What’s that you say? You want to see even more? Well, you might just be in luck – come on back in a couple of days and see who’s stepped forward to show us their stash! (Hint: it’s a vintage loving lady this time!)

6 responses to “Show Us Your Stash – Diane!

  1. “Show Us Your Stash” is such a great idea to get to know other fabric addicts! I found your blog through FNSI.
    Greetings from Alaska 🙂

    • Hi NIna! Thanks for visiting. 🙂 I’m heading over to your blog to have a look now, too! (Such a great way to find new blogs to read.)

  2. I do really enjoy this series. Makes me and my stash feel so Normal…
    🙂

  3. Are those teacups? That’s pretty fabulous. If no one else is interested, I may want to take that one off your hands–it’s actually the perfect colors for my mom’s kitchen, so I might want it to make something for her! Let me know if I have anything on my stash page that you’re interested in, I’ve crossed out the descriptions of the ones that have been taken.

  4. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Mrs C! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a comment