Show Us Your Stash – Juliet!

Wanna get a sneak peek behind the scenes, and see someone else’s stash? Go on – you know you want to! (I know I want to, haha!)

The lovely Juliet from The Crazy Gypsy Chronicles was kind enough to be interviewed about her stash, and spill the beans on how she caterogises her fabric, and her recipie for home-made washing detergent.

So, Juliet, tell us – how long have you been sewing and stashing? How big is your stash?

I have been sewing for two years now, but my stashing goes back mush further than that! With my Mum’s job as a pattern maker and seamstress I was in a fabric store very often, so even before I was interested in sewing there has been a love for, and collection of, fabric. It’s only since I started sewing that I really started properly collecting!

My stash has a grand total of 60 pieces of garment sized lenghts of fabric, filling 5 boxes. This is not including linings, and a whole load of saved scraps – I learned the hard way early on about scraps, but even then I struggle to sometimes let go of pretty fabric!

Sewing space

Sewing space

Where do you keep your stash? How do you store it?

I’m lucky enough to have a room for sewing in, so my stash is mostly found here, but on any given day of the wee some of it is likely to have spilleed into our bedroom, lounge, dining room, washroom…

I store my stash in an old office filing cabinet, which has drawers at the bottom, filled with boxes that hold the fabric according to fibre. I used to organise it by colour, but my huge collection of blues and greens meant that it overflowed often. I have categorised very vaguely – silks, cottons, knits, wools (including knits), and synthetics (a very small count). And I have one lonely length of linen, which has been added to the cotton to keep it company!

Filing cabinet of sewing lovliness

Filing cabinet of sewing lovliness

What is the oldest piece in your stash? What was your original plan for this piece and why hasn’t it happened?

Oh, that’s hard! As far as I can tell, my oldest piece is this cotton twill with mustard, forest green and ruby stripes intersecting themselves – which is actually on its way to Kat herself as part of the swap. (Kat says “yay!!”) I’ve had it since I was a teenager, and I always imagined it as a blazer, but I never quite felt I could have done it justice, so it started the stash!

The oldest piece in the collection

The oldest piece in the collection

What’s your favourite piece in your stash? Where did you get it, what do you love about it, what do you think you might do with it?

My favourite is actually a bit kooky – it’s some crazy tribal print linen, it’s medium-heavy weight, I suppose, but I saw it and HAD TO HAVE IT. Clearly I am one of the few who wanted it, as it is still for sale at Global fabrics a year and a half later, but one day it will become the fabric for my version of this dress, pinned here: http://pinterest.com/pin/202028733255015198/. Am I right, or am I right that these two are a match made in heaven??

Tribal print linen of favourite-ness

Tribal print linen of favourite-ness

Does the fabric you buy go straight into hiding or do you wash it first?

I always, always wash first – everything goes into the wash with my home-made detergent (1 cup baking soda, 1 cup washing soda, 1 bar grated sunlight soap and drops of lavender oil). Whe I decide to sew something, I want it ready! And washing first forces me to pause and really consider my purchase and the right pattern to use… washing time saves me from the dreaded wrong-fabric-wrong-pattern disasters.

A cottony collection

A cottony collection

How do you add to your stash? Do you buy with a purpose in mind, or is it fabric lust?

Usually, I shop for something in particular, but if I see something I adore, and especially if it makes me audibly gasp, I get it!I used to pop into my local fabric stores for lunchtime entertainment, but I have had to ban myself from that pastime. A girl still needs money for wine and cheese, you know!

Lots of lovely knits

Lots of lovely knits

Do you have something in your stash that you cannot bear to cut into? Why?

It has to be this beautiful silk cotton – look at the different patterns on each side! I originally bought 1.5 metres, and decided the next day I needed more, so went back. It’s very soft, floaty but opaque, and in colours that I just adore. Who knows what will become of it? I’m waiting for the right pattern, something that can showcase it beautifully. Suggestions are encouraged!

The scared-to-use fabric

The too-pretty-to-use fabric


The flip side

And the other side!

Do you just stash fabric, or does the problem include patterns and notions?

I never had enough patterns until last year, and then I had many great hauls of vintage patterns, and now they are spilling everywhere! I just love them, the possibility, the illustrations, the styles… love them. Oh, and I have a growing collection of buttons. I love buttons. I could feel guilty, but I don’t have any other vices – I don’t smoke, drink (much) or have other expensive hobbies, so I feel like I have to spend my cash on something!

Silken selection

Silken selection

Have you decided to do a “stash-busting” resolution this year? If so, what have you decided to do?

Nope, no deliberate stashbusting exercises this year. I have several items that are bookmearked for something in particular in my stash, it just depends on when I get around to them! I guess that part of this is built into my self-set fortnightly sewing challenges, but I don’t intend to place any restrictions or rules upon myself. We’ll see how I feel next year, yes?

Pile of pretty polyesters

Pile of pretty polyesters

Thanks for the peak into your stash Juliet! Gorgeous fabric. (And if you’re ever looking for a new, loving home for that blue polyester with birds on….. 😉 )

Want to see some other fabric stashes?

Want to see even more? Stay tuned – Anne and I have a few more stash reveal interviews lined up during February as part of Swap Your Stash month!

(Want to get brave and share your stash with us all? Coz let’s face it – we’re all curious about everyone’s stashes! And we’d love to see your one. 😉 Anne or I would be more than happy to ‘interview’ you as well!)

19 responses to “Show Us Your Stash – Juliet!

  1. Aha, I recognise several of these fabrics from local stores! I stroked the deep teal silk cotton today and reluctantly walked away, again….

  2. I’m in perfect agreement with the pinterest dress and that tribal print, a match made in heaven! Thanks for showing us your stash!

  3. I’m game – my stash is a lot bigger than it was a couple of years ago when I started Sew Weekly … Hope to hear from you!

  4. The green silk cotton jacquard is beautiful! Love it. And I just bought the green self striped silk cotton for me! So I approve of your taste 🙂

  5. Oooh, how fun! I love her stash! That Pinterest dress is going to be amazing, but I really want to see that aqua silk/cotton made up!

  6. These posts are so fun!!

  7. Oh, the too pretty to use fabric is beautiful! I can’t wait to see the Pinterest dress, it is a match in heaven as Anne says. Also intrigued by the pink in the silken stash too…

  8. I could honestly talk about my stash all day, so naturally I enjoyed this post. In fact even though I posted about it, I could blab on for much longer, lol!
    Some really beautiful fabric here. I also second Kat, I could take that bird print polyester of your hands, hahaha!

  9. These interviews are really fun! Now I feel like I should do something to show my stash, although it would take me some time to put together since my stash is currently residing in two different towns. No joke. She has some very lovely fabric!

    • Oh, speaking of stash– I’m aiming to get these fabrics mailed out next week, so I need your address! If you could email me at sunnyb64 at yahoo dot com, that would be great. Thanks!

  10. That pinterest dress will look PERFECT in that fabric, do it, do it! 🙂 Ahh more stashes please, I am loving this!

  11. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Ginger! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  12. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Diane! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  13. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Mrs C! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  14. Pingback: DRAFT FO: green dress | acharmofmagpies

Leave a Reply

