Snuggly squishy cuddly and warm

Oh my gosh, I knitted a jumper!

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And it’s got really long sleeves.

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

With cute scallop colourwork where the rib joins onto the main sleeve.

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Oh, and there’s scallop colourwork where the rib joins the body, too.

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Yay!!! πŸ™‚

This here jumper – it was actually the second “proper” (i.e. not a plain scarf or peggy square) project I started. I cast it on as soon as I finished my grey Miette cardi, waaaaaaay back at the end of 2013/start of 2014.

(Yeah, that’s right. A good year and a half ago.)

I was making good progress on it, and then I found out I was pregnant.

And you know what? Cropped, fitted jumpers don’t fit so well over a baby bump.

So it got put on hold, and I made a few cardigans instead. Far more practical for pregnancy and nursing, after all!

But then a couple of months ago, winter came along. It was cold (and I am not a fan of the cold). So I picked this jumper up again.

Having to go to Masterton and back on the train for work a couple of times gave me a couple of good, solid knitting sessions. So progress was made! (Finally!)

And now, it’s all done! Yay!

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And it’s super warm and soft and snuggly. With lovely long sleeves that keep my wrists warm. Win!

The pattern is “A Cropped Sweater for Winter” by Andi Satterlund. (It’s a free pattern, by the way. Go get it!) It’s a nice and simple pattern, knit in the round as hers tend to be. It’s got a semi-square neckline, and cute scallop colourwork details with contrast bands. Very easy to knit, and in 10 ply yarn so pretty quick too. (Even if that “pretty quick” knit took me a good year and a half!)

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

As is more-or-less inevitable (since I just can’t leave well enough along and have to mess with things every time), I made a couple of changes. Nothing major, though – just length alterations for the sleeves. The sweater is meant to have 3/4 length sleeves but, well, I live in Wellington. It gets cold here. Long sleeves are far more snuggly in winter.

(Plus, I’m tall. RTW things with long sleeves end up as 3/4 length sleeves on me. At times, I overcompensate for this when making things. Extra length! Yeah!!)

So I added 60 rows of knit to the end of the sleeve, before I started the cuff. And then I added an extra 10 rows of rib, too. (And with that extra 70 rows in total, they’re actually only just long enough. Hmmmm.)

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The yarn is Cleckheaton Country Aran 10ply, purchased from Spotlight (horror of horrors! But yes, I actually found some lovely, gorgeous, pure wool yarn amongst their cheap acrylics!!). The body of the jumper is in colourway 4013 (Dark grey) and the contrast is colourway 4009 (Teal).

(I learnt a lot about how to read labels on balls of yarn while buying this, from a lovely lady who was also browing the yarn selection. She knew lots about knitting, which was awesome as I knew pretty much nothing at that point in time, and she was very happy to share her knowledge! She taught me how to check dye lots as well, to make sure I didn’t run the risk of any colour variations. Thanks, wonderful stranger at Spotlight! Aren’t fellow crafty people awesome?!?)

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Changes I’d make next time would be adding yet another 5 rows to the sleeves (so a total of 75 extra rows, instead of the 70 I did here), and adding an inch and a half to the body as it’s just a smidgeon too short. (And next time, I’ll learn to do the super stretchy bind-off, as it’s a little tight getting it on and off over my shoulders – whoops!)

Anyways, I’m really happy with this jumper. Sure, it’s not perfect, but it’s snuggly and goes well with things in my wardrobe, and it’ll keep me warm.

Yay, knitting! πŸ˜€

Cropped jumper in grey and teal | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

My lovely sister snapped some photos up at Truby King Gardens, where we went to get pics of the final two samples of the Sophie cardi. Gotta love that winter sunlight through pine trees….

small_flowers

leaves

forest_path

23 responses to “Snuggly squishy cuddly and warm

  1. It’s lovely! And your boots are kickass. Glorious photos too, what a spot πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, that’s amazing! Congrats on beautiful sweater that fits so well!

    • Thanks! I always feel rather proud of myself when I knit something – it’s still such a novelty haha! πŸ˜‰

  3. Your sweater (a.k.a. jumper) is extremely, extremely cute! I’m tall too, so I appreciate the suggestions for how much to add in the arms, thank you. Although I’ve never actually made a sweater, this one seems like it MIGHT be doable. I’ve made hats, and I like knitting in the round. So, maybe….

    • Oh you should definitely give it a try! It’s a really easy pattern, and all knit in the round so you can try it on as you go and adjust the length accordingly. Brilliant! (Plus, 10ply yarn so it knits fast. Yay!)

  4. The entire outfit is fabulous, Kat! I love love love that sweater. I’m definitely going to knit this for the fall! ❀

  5. Pretty spot for pictures. The jumper is most awesome! I am always so impressed with knitters!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Haha same here! It took quite a while of me admiring people who knit before I finally got brave enough to try it myself. So glad I did! It’s always fun learning new things. πŸ™‚ (And surprisingly addictive, whoops! So now I have the sewing vs. knitting debate with free time, haha!)

      • I am sure that is why I have not taken the plunge. I have bought yarn and needles but stopped there. How DO you decide what to do?! Ah well… I am sure I will one day!

  6. Love the long sleeves!

  7. It’s gorgeous! And it has long sleeves!!! There just aren’t enough lovely, long sleeves like that in this world, I’m off to get the pattern, thank you!

  8. Love the scalloping on the ribbing. This has tempted me to pick up some sticks too!

  9. Brilliant stuff πŸ™‚

  10. Your sweater looks great. I like the way the colours mingle at the end of the wrists. (Sorry, it is Friday and I have been drinking crushed grapes!) I wish a fairy could come and sew sweaters up. I have 4 or 5 waiting for that arduous task. I agree with you about 3/4 sleeve sweaters. What is the point of having a warm body and cold wrists?!

  11. I love this whole outfit, and your jumper is fantastic! I just added it to my queue πŸ™‚ Love the colors you chose!

  12. Pingback: 2015 reflections | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a comment