Cupcake toddler dress (just like mum used to make)

Ready to see a little bit of cuteness?

Check it out. It’s a dress for a one year old. Made in a lemon yellow poplin. With pink pockets and cupcakes!!!

Cupcake Cutie dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(And just for the record – I originally bought this fabric for me. And still intend to make a me-sized dress out of it. Because – yellow! Cupcakes!!)

Cupcake Cutie dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Anyways, this little cupcake-covered cutie was a gift for my friend’s daughters first birthday.

I made it using Simplicity 7591 – a top, jumper and overalls pattern from 1976.

Simplicity 7591

(Pattern image from the Vintage Patterns Wiki – my copy is in size 1 instead.)

Fun fact – my mother originally bought this pattern. And used it. A lot. She made me things, my brothers things, and my sister things. (Or maybe lil’ sis’ just got the hand-me-downs since she would have had newer patterns to use for her? Not sure….) So it’s a very well-loved pattern – apparantly it was one of mum’s go-to patterns for us kids.

I like knowing that I’ve used a pattern that I grew up wearing. It gives a nice feeling of continuation, don’t you think?

It also ties in well with my Vintage Pattern Pledge (which is basically to just use a bunch of vintage patterns from my stash this year. Sad that it’s taken me this long to use the first one! Although there’s a blog post about a second vintage pattern make coming up soon, yes indeed….)

I made the jumper view – a cute little A-line style with a zip in the centre front, patch pockets, and straps that button at the front. It’s a little hard to tell in the photo, but the buttons are burgundy red.

Cupcake Cutie dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The inside is finished with facings. And in this case, also a little label, just because.

Cupcake Cutie dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Wish I’d thought of making a cupcake to photograph with it. Mmmm… cupcakes….

15 responses to “Cupcake toddler dress (just like mum used to make)

  1. gilliancrafts

    It’s adorable!!!! But I’m still watching to see you do a vintage pattern on a vintage machine, as per your Sewing Dare! πŸ˜‰

    • Work in progress. πŸ˜‰ (With the tiny slices of time I get to sew at the moment, you’ll be waiting a few weeks sad to say. 😦 But it will happen!!!

  2. I love vintage patterns and this cupcake fabric is so adorable! Awesome sew πŸ™‚

  3. Unfortunately, she still hasn’t figured out walking, so this dress is still unworn. Soon, hopefully!

  4. Such a cute dress. Making me want more cupcakes though!

  5. Pingback: Cupcake Cutie dress | The Monthly Stitch

  6. I would totally make a dress for me out of this fabric!

  7. It’s beautiful!

  8. Pingback: 2015 reflections | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a comment