Big ideas for 2016

Woo hoo! It’s 2016!!

And as per usual, I have lots and lots of plans. πŸ˜‰

Want to hear what they are? Here goes….!

Sewing stuff

Oh, sewing plans. I always have so, so many sewing plans. So many things I want to make – all the pretty fabric, all the fun patterns! But there just isn’t enough time for it all. So, here’s the ideas on the top of my list for this year. (Inevitably, they will change throughout the year, but we’ll see how far I get with them!)

Vintage patterns
I love sewing with vintage patterns, I really do. And I’ve been missing it the last three years – they’ve just been a bit too hard to fit into all the body changes from having two little kids. But now, it’s time to get back into it! I have quite a collection of vintage patterns, including a few from the late 1930s. (So beautiful!) This year, I’m hoping to make a bunch of them up.

A few of the pretties

A few of the pretties

I’ve got a real soft spot for 1940’s designs, and have quite a few dress patterns from this era that are high on my list of things to make. I’m also very keen to make up one or two of my 1930’s patterns. And wear them all regularly, of course! πŸ˜‰ I’ve already got a gorgeous deep purple wool for this 1940’s coat, and a floral lilac silk for lining for it. Mmmm……

Last year I also developed a real love of the Vogue Couturier and Designer patterns from the 1960’s and 1970’s, and I’ve been building up quite a collection of those as well. So many interesting style lines and design details! I’m planning on making up some of them this year as well. They’re just so gorgeous!

Some of the Vogue Couturier and Designer patterns

Some of the Vogue Couturier and Designer patterns

Indie patterns
Like with the last 3-4 years, there will be a bunch of indie patterns made up too. I’ve currently got fabric matched with the following patterns, just waiting for time to make them up: the Sophia dress from By Hand London (in a pink tape measure covered fabric from Minerva crafts); the Waver jacket from Papercut (in a coated polyester with a cream and black print from The Fabric Store); the YoYo dress from Papercut (in a place with green floral cotton from Fabric-a-brac). I’m especially in need of that Waver jacket – making a rain coat has been on my to-do list for about 15 years now, and I finally have the fabric for it, yay!

Pattern and fabric to be turned into the Sophia dress

Pattern and fabric to be turned into the Sophia dress

I’ll be taking a couple of breaks from my usual sewing of dresses to fill some wardrobe gaps as well. The raincoat is one of those – I also have plans for a few more pairs of the Carolyn pajama pants (both short and long variations), and I’ve got three Jenna cardis planned (in mustard yellow merino, fuchsia pink merino, and black leopard print), and aΒ Sophie cardi in a moss green wool blend.

Knitting stuff

Speaking of cardigans, that’s also my knitting plans for this year. I’ve got the Agatha cardigan by Andi Satterlund on the needles (and have had for over a year now!), and also the Sunshower cardi (also by Andi Satterlund). I have grand intentions to finish them both before winter this year!

Knitting the Sunshower cardigan at Friday work drinks

Knitting the Sunshower cardigan at Friday work drinks

I’m also hoping to get two other knitting projects on the go – one each after those two are finished. I haven’t decided yet which patterns will be next on the needles – I have lots I want to make, and a stash of yarn, so it’ll depend on which most catches my eye at the time. But I’m 99.9% sure they’ll be cardigans, since that’s what I love to wear.

Part of the yarn stash - so much pretty!

Part of the yarn stash – so much pretty!

Muse patterns stuff

Oh my, I have so, so many plans for Muse this year! I’ve got a rather large number of patterns designed, and just waiting to be drafted/created. Philippa, Frances, Heather, Artemesia, Kelly, Kaha, Rua, Juliet, Sandra, Christina, Rayna, one that I haven’t even named yet, expansion packs…..

(And yes, I am well aware that there just isn’t enough time in one year for me to create them all! Some have been in the works for well over a year already. Eek!)
I’m part-way through creating the Philippa pattern now (had it designed since February last year, and it’s time for it to come to life – exciting!), and having a lot of fun with that. πŸ™‚ My goal is to create eight Muse patterns this year, so about 2/3rds of that list above.

Beginning work on the Philippa pattern

Beginning work on the Philippa pattern

Other plans for Muse this year – getting paper patterns created! It’s taking a lot longer than planned, but progress is being made, albeit slowly. Sometime very soon, I hope!!

I’m also going to try for more professional photography for pattern images – looking to find a local photographer so the images can have less distracting backgrounds. Another exciting move to make!

Modern Vintage Cupcakes blog stuff

So many plans for this blog, and so little time to do any of them during 2015. So I’m gonna work to get some of them done this year! πŸ˜‰

For a long time now, I’ve had parts of a blog post on maternity-friendly Indie patterns waiting for me to finish writing it. And a follow-up on nursing-friendly Indie patterns. This year, they will happen!

Also for a long time (heck, it’s been sitting in drafts since June, and in the planning phase since 2014!) is a series on my vintage sewing machine collection. Not only that – I’m planning on making a garment with each vintage machine I own, using a pattern from the same era as the sewing machine. Conveniently, this ties in nicely with some of those sewing goals listed above. πŸ˜‰

Vintage 1970's Elna Lotus

Vintage 1970’s Elna Lotus

And one of these days, I’ll get around to giving the blog a makeover – the theme and banner are looking pretty old and tired. It’s one of those things that shouldn’t take long to do, but I keep bumping it down the priority list due to other fun things. It’s gonna happen though, I promise!

Other sewing/online stuff

Carrying on having fun with The Monthly Stitch, along with my fellow editor, Mel. We has plans, yes indeed we does. πŸ™‚ Especially for Indie Pattern Month, the annual big event. I’m really looking forward to it – we’re already well into planning stage, and it’s gonna be awesome! πŸ˜€

I’m continuing on with the Minerva Bloggers Network as well – I have my next five projects all lined up and ready for making, a fun mix of useful things (pyjamas!), fun things (dress covered in little foxes!), and even something for the little dudes (mini trousers!).

Some of the Minerva projects waiting to be made

Some of the Minerva projects waiting to be made

And of course, carrying on with Sew Indie NZ. I have lots of plans for that this year as well – I’m in the middle of getting another designer to stock, and have two others on the list of ones I want to get in soon as well. And there may be thoughts around non-pattern things to stock as well, perhaps, we’ll see how it all goes….

It’s not all online things either – I have plans to actually get my sewing room organised (!!!). Work has started – a pegboard is up and being organised, two thread racks have been purchased and one is mounted on the wall so far, and I also bought a trims organiser (also awaiting being put on the wall). It’ll take a while (because quite frankly, I’d rather be sewing!) but organisationΒ will happen!

Organisation is happening!

Organisation is happening!

Speaking of organising, I’ve been slowly (very very slowly) adding patterns to Evernote, at the recommendation of the lovely Mel. I’ve bought comic book bags to store patterns in, and have plans to slowly but surely get my collection archived and recorded this year. And even weed out a few patterns. Maybe. But let’s not be too hasty there…!

And there we have it!

Lots of plans for the year! I’m really looking forward to it – now that my energy is kinda coming back after last years horrible sleep deprivation, and my body is settling down with all the shape changes, I’m really looking forward to getting back to sewing lots of fun things. And I’m super excited about all the plans I have for Muse this year! Bring on 2016 – yippie!

What’s top of your sewing plans this year? Do share – I love finding out what everyone is planning! πŸ™‚
25 responses to “Big ideas for 2016

  1. Looks like you are going to be busy this year. I am too unorganized to be planning anything. I flit from one project to the next!

    • Haha I usually flit from one project to the other as well! Hence why a few of these have been on my things-I-really-want-to-make list for quite some time. πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow – what a mammoth year that will be. I look forward to seeing things as the are created. Lots of inspiration!

  3. 2016 is going to be busy! Excited to see what you make and to see what’s new from Muse. I’d love to be involved in testing some of your patterns, give me a shout if you need some new testers.

  4. Blimey I feel exhausted just reading it! What great plans, have fun in 2016, will be great to see what you come up with.

  5. Lots of fun plans, looking forward to seeing new muse patterns and forward your purple coat and the lining (my favourite colour!). I have the fabric you have for Sophia, in a different colourway and it’s on my list to make a skirt out of.

    • Ooh which colour way do you have? (I was very tempted by the grey/red one – spent ages debating which to get!). Do you know which skirt pattern you’re going to use it for? Make it this month – we could be tape-measure-fabric blogging twins!! πŸ˜‰

  6. So many plans! I can only dream of being that productive once I’m clear of the infant stage. :p

    I can’t wait to see the new Muse patterns. (And actually sew more of them!)

    • Hey, it’s free to dream, right?! πŸ˜‰ And while you’ve got a snuggly-baby-stage one, you get lots of knitting time while trapped on the couch as they sleep on you. πŸ˜‰

  7. Phew! I’m worn out reading all that! How are you going to get all that done, work full time and look after those boys of yours, including the adult boy πŸ˜‰ I need to make you the Wonder Woman outfit!!
    I’m trying to put my patterns on Evernote too, methinks I need to get some tips.

    • I figure sleep is unnecessary. Hahahahahahahahaha!!!! :-p

      Mel gave me good Evernote tips. πŸ™‚ Maybe we could have a pattern afternoon, where we sit down and collectively record our patterns – otherwise I keep putting it off as it’s far more fun to sew them than record them!

  8. I love big ideas, shows creativity is working well, and you have a fantastic list! Keep up the good work. xxx

  9. That’s quite the list! Best of luck to you with all of it. I’ll certainly keep an eye out for the maternity/nursing posts. We’re hoping to have another child at some point within the next couple of years, so I’m trying to focus my limited sewing time on things with a flexible fit and friendly for either state where possible. And also hoping to follow along with TMS themes and the optional monthly themes for the Stashbusting Sewalong group as much as I can, with what my new mom wardrobe needs.

  10. So busy! I especially want to see your series where you make a vintage pattern on machines from the same era. Great idea, and I love reading about vintage machines and patterns.

  11. Awesome plans, can’t wait to see some of your vintage creations and what you come up with for Muse!!! Quick question, where did you get your raincoat fabric from? I’m dying to make one, but can’t really find any fabric locally…

    • I got it from The Fabric Store! It’s a polyester, treated on the wrong side so it is waterproof but doesn’t look all shiny on the outside. πŸ™‚ I got it at the start of their sale – if they don’t have any left at the Wellington store, you could always ask if they have it elsewhere?

  12. Pingback: made to measure (an ode to a TNT – S2226) | Colette's sewing & stuff

  13. Pingback: A symphony of seventies swans | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

