Forties Foxes

Oh yeah, it’s been a while, but finally, here’s a make from a vintage pattern!

Well, sort of a vintage pattern. A vintage reproduction, to be precise. (And it’s been a long time since I’ve used one of those, too!)

Meet the Forties Foxes blouse:

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Made using Simplicity 1590, a reproduction of a 1940’s pattern.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I used view B, with the collar. I decided not to include the optional waist tie, as I felt there’s enough going on with this top without it. (Peplum. Collar. Foxes. Yeah, that’s enough for one top, right?!?) I debated about making the little neck tie that goes with it, but once I tried it on I realised I was never going to wear it fully buttoned up so didn’t bother.

(By the way, if you’re wondering what the two snap fasteners/poppa domes are for in the notions, they’re for attaching that little neck tie to the shirt. Cute, eh?! You could make several in different colours, and play mix-and-match.)

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

This was my first time using a reproduction Simplicity pattern, and I must say, it was a rather enjoyable experience! There was the usual over-abundance of ease, so I chose my size based on the finished measurements table instead, which fits well (and also meant I made one size smaller than I would have otherwise). Everything came together nicely, the instructions were easy to follow, and there were a couple of fun bits too, such as when the front waist dart and the seam joining the front panel to the side of the peplum are sewn in one go as a nice, continous seam. Check out how it looks on the outside – the vertical seam here is the dart being stitched and the peplum attached at the same time:

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

There’s also a nice little intro at the start of the instructions, talking about how fashions changed due to WWII and how sports wear was invented as a result. I’m a fan of thoughtful little touches like that. šŸ™‚

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I love the peplum on this blouse – it’s smooth at the centre front (as the front just extends to the hem, with the peplum being joined on about 10cm away from the centre front), and flares out nicely, dipping down lower at the back.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Turns out it catches the wind rather nicely, too, in the cliched Wellington autumn weather.)

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The collar is quite narrow, especially at the back, but I’m fine with that.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The sleeves are simply an extended shoulder, angling down to the side seam.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The fabric is a quilting cotton, with a super cute fox print, from the Frolicking Forest collection by Camelot. It’s the first time I’ve used a Camelot quilting cotton, and it was lovely to work with – soft to touch and with great colours.

And, you know. It’s got foxes on it. And that’s all kinds of win.

Since it’s a wildlife themed top, I picked these cute little yellow buttons with flowers on them.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And because I love it, I used Hug Snug to bind some of the seams on the inside. Next time (and there will be a next time, as I love this pattern!) I’ll bind some more seams, in particular the seam where the peplum joins the bodice, and the hem of the sleeves.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

With the exception of the Hug Snug, all of the fabric and notions (and the pattern, too!) came from Minerva Crafts, as part of their blogger network. (Thanks, Minerva!)

Here’s how it all looks on the inside – far easier to get a good idea of the pattern itself this way as you can see the seam lines.

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And finished off with a label, just because. šŸ˜‰

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The only asjustment I made to the pattern was to the bust darts. I moved the dart points a couple of cm lower, and also did a small bust adjustment and took out about 2/3 of the width of the side bust dart.

There’s also a couple of small things I noticed in the instructions, in case they’re of use for anyone else making this:

  • When pinning on the collar, align the collar edge with the centre front marking (i.e. the straight line a couple of cm in from the pattern piece edge)
  • When basting on the collar, baste just within the seam allowance so the basting stitches don’t show on the right side when you’ve done your final stitching
  • If you’re finishing the long edge of the facing with a zig-zag or overlocked edge, trim 6mm off the shoulder edge so it lines up with the shoulder seam nicely (as there’s a 6mm seam allowance for doing a turned-under edge)

Forties Foxes blouse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I’m really happy with how this turned out. And I’m particularly happy that I feel it’s marked a turning point in my wardrobe – while I’ve still got a bit to lose around the waist to get back to pre-baby-size (and fit back into my vintage style dresses which, let’s face it, is my key motivation to get back into shape, haha!), I can now fit into some of them and as a result I feel I can start making things with my much-loved vintage patterns again. Yay!

(Of course, this means I now want to go and make all the things. All The Things!!!)

28 responses to “Forties Foxes

  1. Lovely – great fabric and the shape of the blouse is so elegant

  2. I love this on you, Kat! It’s such a great fit and the print is so cute. šŸ™‚

  3. This is adorable! Foxes? Yes, please. šŸ™‚ I have this pattern and the hope to make it one day so it’s nice to see it on a live woman. (And I know I owe you an email, but life has just exploded lately and I’m so behind in my personal life.)

    • Oh, it’s such a great pattern, you should definitely make it!

      No worries about the email, life definitely happens at time! šŸ˜‰

  4. You are looking amazing! Such a cute fabric, and the top is a winner; the fit is really spot on šŸ™‚

  5. That fabric is adorable… I love this pattern. I have made one without the collar and have another one I am making this month. This looks great on you!

  6. I have seen this pattern before and was wondering how it looked sewed up. It looks lovely! Thanks!

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚

      It’s a great pattern – lots of fun to sew up. I’m definitely going to be making it again!

  7. Very nice! I’ve seen this pattern bumping around and it’s really nice to see the finished product. It looks great and so much more modern that I would imagine.

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚ Oh yes, it’s a great pattern! I agree, far more modern than you would expect based on the pattern envelope. šŸ™‚

  8. Retro, peplums and foxes, what’s not to love? It looks amazing and I’ll definitely be looking out for this pattern! The finished seams and label make it look really professional too. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚ I’m enjoying taking more time to add those sorts of touches to my sewing this year – it makes me so much happier when I look at the insides of garments with them like that! šŸ˜‰

  9. so much fun with the foxes ;o)

  10. Really love this Kat, think I may have to get the pattern for myself!

  11. Ohh man the seam binding looks so nice, I really need to get on that bandwagon! I’m pretty sure I have some in boring white so I don’t really have any excused not to!

  12. I love the foxes! The top looks really good on you. I love the seam finishes – maybe I should get that rayon tape a go too?

    • Thanks! šŸ™‚ Oh yes the rayon seam binding tape is fabulous, I wish I’d discovered it earlier! Want me to bring along a length of it on Sunday for you to try out?

  13. Oh, that would be nice! I was looking at those tapes today on Ebay and I almost bought some but it would be nice to try it out on something first šŸ™‚

  14. I am in love with that pattern – not so much the pictures on the envelope but how it has sewn up. The fit is soooo flattering. I am swooning over your seam finishing – might need to lay my hands on some of that Hug Snug!

    • It really does sew up wonderfully! (Although I highly recommend going on the finished measurements when choosing a size, otherwise this would have been a size too big on me, eek!)

  15. This is so you! Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

