Introducing the Gillian wrap dress pattern!

Hi all!

Sooooo, exciting news (well, exciting for me, anyway) – I’ve just launched my second pattern! Woo hoo! (And also – eek!)

Now, I know I said this blog wasn’t going to become all about Muse Patterns, and it’s not going to, I promise. But I am gonna be posting on here when I release new patterns because, well, they’re pretty massive projects and I’m pretty proud of them. I also know there hasn’t been a heck of a lot of content on here lately – that’s a bit of a symptom of my stage of pregnancy. Too far along to want to bother making more things that I can only wear for maybe a couple of weeks. I just haven’t quite gotten my head into the ‘making stuff for after the baby arrives’ mindset just yet, either. It’ll happen soon, and then I’ll be back to sewing things. 🙂

But anyway.

Check it out – my second pattern release! Wheeee!!!!

Gillian wrap dress from Muse Patterns

This one is for a knit wrap-around dress (or top, or skirt). Named after my lovely friend Gillian, who is a huge fan of wrap dresses and tops, and wears them extremely well. (That’s her in the pink dress – isn’t she gorgeous?!?) Gill’s lovely – she’s got a sly (and rather naughty!) sense of humour, a fabulous Scottish accent, awesome style, and she’s one of the most kind, caring and generous people I know. So when I was thinking up ideas for my second pattern, it seemed only right to design one with her as the ‘muse’.

Gillian wrap dress from Muse Patterns

And since Gill is such a super generous person, it also seems like a good time to kick off something I’ve been wanting to do for a while – namely, a bit of a charity project.

Gill is a big support of the NZ Breast Cancer Foundation, and with good reason – it’s a pretty awesome charity, doing lots of amazing work. So for the first week the Gillian pattern is up for sale, 100% of the sale price (less transaction fees) will be donated to the NZ Breast Cancer Foundation. Yep, that’s right – all patterns sold between now and midnight (NZ time) on 19 October will be raising money for this great charity.

Gillian wrap top from Muse Patterns

Now, on to the pattern!

I’ve been working on this one for, oh, several months now. (In fact, one of the first samples appeared on my blog back in July, when I realised too late I’d forgotten to make a dress in time for photos for the Outfit Along challenge. (Whoops!) It got put on hold a while to get the Jenna cardi pattern out the door, but now it’s time has come to see the light of day.

Gillian wrap top from Muse Patterns

The Gillian wrap dress has shoulder yoke and gather details on both front and back shoulders, for both a bit of a 1940’s look and 1970’s look at the same time. (I find it interesting when style trends pop up in other decades, don’t you?) At first glance, the front shoulder yoke details look the same as on the Jenna cardi, but the amount of gathering that goes into them is actually different, since the Gillian is designed to be worn as a top or dress, while the Jenna is designed to be a layer piece (and likely made in thicker fabric, hence it needs more gathering to get the detail showing up).

There’s a midriff band and waist ties, to add a bit of structure and definition around the waist area. A v-neckline has a band which is top stitched down and eased onto the neckline to help prevent the dreaded gape-while-leaning-forward. And the bottom front has rounded corners, just because I felt like doing it that way. 😉

Gillian wrap dress from Muse Patterns

As with the Jenna, there are a few mix-and-match variations you can choose from. You can make it as a dress, a top, or a skirt. You can have short, 3/4 or long sleeves. The skirt can sit at knee length or above the knee. Made up in a quirky printed knit, it can be a casual weekend piece. Or in a more sophisticated fabric, a staple for the office.

Gillian wrap dress from Muse Patterns

And just because I can, I’m going to hold a giveaway for a copy of the pattern. Want to be in to win? Just comment below and let me know – which variation would you make first? I’ll close off the giveaway on 17 October and announce the winner on 18 October.

And also, just because I can, here’s a discount code if you want to use it – get 15% off the pattern between now and the end of day (NZ time) 19 October with the code CUPCAKESFORGILL. (When you’re going through the checkout process, the space to enter the code comes after the Paypal screen, and the discount gets applied then as well.)

Gillian wrap dress, skirt variation, from Muse Patterns

So yeah, pattern number two! Now to wait and see what the online sewing world thinks of it…. (eek!)

19 responses to “Introducing the Gillian wrap dress pattern!

  1. I love this pattern I want to make the skirt first as I need a couple for winter as trousers are too hard with a leg brace.

  2. Oh LOVE!!!
    I’ve been trying to decide if I should buy the Jenna cardi and try to turn it into a t-shirt, but I’m glad I waited. I like this and it’s not an overlayer. Yay!

  3. OH forgot, I’d like to enter the competition, I’d make the t-shirt first. But maybe I’d make the dress. Both?

  4. 🙂
    I love the dress ( I like the matterial and it fit gorgeous on the lady ) and the top as well. I’m also not a dressy person (the only dress I wear latelly what you made me ) So anyway I think I prefer the top! 🙂
    And your sister looks great!

  5. I think that the dress is lovely, I’ve never considered a wrap dress, but I think something about the contrasting band at the waist has sold me on this one.

  6. I love the top variation and think I’d have to make that one first. Another cute pattern- keep up the good work

  7. Confession: I usually wait for other sewists to review new Indie Sewing Patterns before I get my own copy. Especially if I am not truly excited about a pattern. But your first two patterns were so down my alley that I got both right after their released and I really look forward to stitching them up (though making my wedding dress currently has priority, being the reason why I don’t already have a dozen snuggly Jenna cardis in my Winter wardrobe 😉 ).
    So please keep up the good work 🙂
    All the best wishes from Germany

  8. Another vote for top as first make – winter is approaching on my coast.
    Rain + tights = ick
    The dress has me dreaming of spring.

  9. What a beautiful pattern! Great job, lady! And what a great cause to support! You can leave me out of the giveaway as I’m sure I’ll be picking up a copy. 🙂

  10. Wow, I remember when you posted the sneak peak and I was so looking forward to finding out who you were pattern testing for so I could scoop up a copy as soon as it was out! And it was your own pattern, how cool! Congrats, and I’d love to enter the giveaway. This would be a great piece for work and other times when I want to look nice but not actually try too hard 🙂

  11. Great pattern with all that variety. I’d make the skirt first, in merino, to wear with winter boots and tights.

  12. What a gorgeous model! I’d make the dress first. Hot pink, or bright orange I think… Heavy stretch fabric, and I’d probably put in shoulder pads. 🙂 Nice work Kat.

  13. I’m in love with this pattern! The gathers at the shoulder yoke look fantastic. I’d make the top first I think, I even have the perfect fabric picked out for it!

  14. What a fabulous find! I saw the sneak peek on the Stitches and Seams blog and thought I would have a look. Then I discovered that Muse Patterns is made in New Zealand (just like me:) ). I would definitely make the dress first and I am very keen to sew it. No matter what else I make, dresses is what I love to wear the most.

  15. Well done and big congrats on your second pattern! I love that you are injecting your own awesome personal style into each one 🙂 I also love that you’ve named it after your gorgeous friend, who is a wonderful model and looks fantastic in it! 🙂 I would definitely make that wrap dress – can you believe I still don’t have a knit wrap dress? what’s wrong with me? haha!

  16. Love this! I’ve been wanting a wrap top, and I absolutely love the gathering at the yokes! Is that made in a lightweight knit?

    • Hi! 🙂

      The blue top version is made in a lightweight wool blend. The pink and black dress is a midweight synthetic mix blend, with black cotton blend tshirting for contrast trim. You could make it in pretty much any weight you choose – heavier knits wouldn’t show the gathers at the yokes as well though, as they’re designed for mid-lightweight knits (proportions of gathers to yoke).

  17. I just finished making the Gillian, and need to convince my son to take some decent outdoor pics this afternoon so I can write it up on my blog, but I want to say that if anyone is waiting for reviews … don’t. This dress/pattern is great! And if you know me, I don’t pour on the indie (or any pattern) love for no reason. Well done, Kat! I really like my finished dress

Leave a Reply

