Circling around and around

Check it out – I broke out of my usual colour comfort zone and….

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

made something black!!

Eep!!!

(Yes, this is rare for me. Sure, my Simone dress had a black background, but I countered it with purple, and even then it’s far more neutral than pretty much everything else I own.)

But hey, it’s mono-sewn month over at The Monthly Stitch, and the challenge is to sew in black and/or white.

And white? Yeah, it’s not my friend. Looks dreadful on me, and looks even worse after I’ve been wearing it a little while as something about wearing white makes me far more likely to spill things on myself. Or use a pen that leaks. Or get splashed by a passing car going through a muddy puddle. Like I said – white isn’t my friend, and I’m not really it’s friend, either.

So black it clearly had to be!

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I dug out this mid-heavy weight wool blend (? I think?) knit from my stash. Had no idea it was there, and I still have no idea of where it came from or how long it’s been floating around in my stash for. (Signs my stash is too large. Oops.)

And I grabbed my newest Papercut pattern – the Circle Top.

Papercut Circle Top

(Yep, another Papercut make. But hey, I did warn you all – after all, they’ve got the biggest collection of patterns that I can sew up and still wear while pregnant, so this is kinda inevitable!)

Seriously though, have you seen the Circle Top pattern? It’s just like it says on the box – a giant circle. With sleeves. Worn as a top. Crazy!

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And also surprisingly comfortable and cozy. Coz the circular nature of it means you can do things like wear it up over your head like a hood, or pull the edges up and in so it snuggles around your neck kinda like a scarf.

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Plus it’s kinda fun to wrap all around yourself when it’s cold outside.)

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I must admit that at first, I didn’t really see myself wearing this style. But then Sandra kept putting up pics of herself in one of her two Circle Tops during Me Made May, and every single time I saw it, I wanted one. And now, I have one of my very own! Yippie!

At first, I thought this would be a super-fast make. After all, it’s just a circle, two sleeves, two sleeve cuffs, and edge binding. Simple, right? And sure enough, the sleeves and sleeve cuffs and circle all joined together crazy fast, probably in about 20 minutes.

And then I got to the binding.

Which just went on. And on. And ooooonnnn. Turns out there’s a fair distance around that there circle!

Worth it though, as the binding gives a nice clean finish (especially important with this style, since you see both sides as it hangs open) and also gives it a bit more weight for draping in the front.

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Please don’t look too closely at the binding in the above image though. Shameful though it may be to admit it, I finished this around 11pm on Friday night and we caught a plane early the next morning, so I didn’t get a chance to press the binding. It’s all pressed now though, and sitting much flatter than in that photo!)

The only issue I really had is that the sleeves are just a bit too short on me. Not surprising, since I have crazy long gorilla arms, and I didn’t lengthen the sleeves on this, so they’re made up at their ‘real’ length. Which would be a pretty good, long length on most other people. For myself, next time I’m gonna add probably 6cm to them.

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

My long-suffering made-to-photograph-my-creations partner and I went down to Nelson last weekend for a long weekend. (Without the Little Guy! First time we’ve been away from him, together, for more than a couple of hours! Very strange not to have him there.) Since I seem to have a ‘thing’ about wanting to take something new with me whenever I go away somewhere (gotta get different-location-photos, after all! Hah!), I rushed to get this finished late on Friday night as we were flying down early Saturday morning. And then I proceeded to wear it for the whole three days we were away, being all happy and snuggly and cozy, yes indeed. šŸ™‚

These photos were taken walking alongside the river that runs through Nelson, and also up in the gardens around the Nelson cathedral.

(Except for this one, which was taken in the Chinese Garden section of Queens Gardens. Blossoms! In the middle of winter! Made me happy. šŸ™‚ )

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Oh, and guess what else? I met Katie from Papercut when I was in Nelson! And she is super lovely and I got to visit the Papercut workroom and everything. (And my gosh, I want her workroom! So organised and filled with inspiring fabrics and things and with a super huge massive printer where she prints the patterns out directly.) I even convinced her to help me package up a few patterns so who knows? Maybe some of you will get a Papercut pattern that I helped put together in it’s box! Mwahahahaha!

So yeah, the Circle Top. I likes it! And I am thinking about making one with contrasting band, coz wouldn’t that look rather fabulous, don’t you think?

And since it’s growing and all, here’s a ‘bump’ photo. For whatever week I’m up to now. 24 weeks, maybe? (Lost track. Oops!)

Black Circle Top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

So tell me folks, do you have a ‘need’ to make something new when you go on holiday, or is it just me?

I may be going to Christchurch for three days for work in a couple of weeks. Hmmm.. what to make, what to make….? Papercut’s Ooh La Leggings, Victory’s Anouk dress, or a vintage 1970’s dress? Which should it be??

18 responses to “Circling around and around

  1. Looks fabulous!

  2. Mwah!! Now I want one! I’ve ooh-ed and ahh-ed over Sandra’s and now your circle tops. It is just such a cool pattern. Must.make.one! šŸ™‚ Oh yes, and I love to have something new to wear if we go away somewhere, just cos!

    • Oh, you should totally make one! So snuggly and warm, I’m already planning another one, haha! šŸ˜‰

  3. Sweetie it is all kinds of freezing in Christchurch at this time of year so whatever you make, it had better be super blinking warm!

    • Never fear lovely lady, I’m a Dunedin girl born and raised, so well versed in the art of wearing many, many layers! šŸ˜‰

  4. I remember when I was pregnant my midwife said that you can tell first-time-mothers because they know exactly how many weeks they’ve been pregnant, whereas second (and subsequent) time around women don’t tend to pay as much attention (ermm.. too busy with the first baby I reckon!). Those short arms really are unfortunate – could you add a cuff out of the same fabric? Your trip to papercut sounds fun!!!

    • Haha yeah, classic second-time-around! šŸ˜‰

      They actually already have cuffs, but that does give me an idea – might cut the cuffs off and make longer ones. Brilliant! Thanks for getting my mind thinking that way! šŸ˜€

  5. Ok, I caved! I love this on you and will soon have my own version(s)! I can’t believe you hung out in the studio! A little green eyed over here šŸ˜‰

    • Oh yeah, I got to see the massive printer that all the patterns come from and everything! So much fun! šŸ˜€

      Haha the Circle Top is crazy, hope you enjoy your one! I’m busily selecting fabric for my next one already.

  6. Pingback: The Circle of Blackness | The Monthly Stitch

  7. So cool! This looks so cozy and cuddly! I’m so intrigued by the shape! Also, reallllly jealous of your visit with Katie! I’d love to meet her (and snoop around her workspace, heeheehee)!

    I’m off for a vacation next week and stole some time yesterday to whip up a new top. It just feels good to have something new for a trip!

    • I did think of you while I was in Katie’s workroom, haha! šŸ˜‰ If only it was easier to organise world-wide get-togethers…. They need to hurry up and invent tele porters!

      Wow, I just saw on your Instagram this morning where you’re off to on holiday – I am so insanely crazy jealous!!! Really want to hear all about it, it’s totally at the top of my list of places-I-want-to-go-to!!! Have a super awesome time. šŸ˜€

  8. I also can’t wear white – I kind of like the idea, and I like fabrics that have a white background (and do own a few) but I’m just too scared I’ll get the while really dirty

  9. Me loves the circle top, as you know mine as constantly being worn šŸ™‚ I also had to add length to the arms and I also took some fabric out of the cuffs so they are snug rather than loose. I own faaaaar too much black and have been looking at white with fear! I think your next make should be the Victory Anouk Dress, with another circle top of course!!!

    • I’m gonna recut the cuffs to add some more length, and I think I’ll follow your example and take some width out of them as well. šŸ™‚

      I am loving the style of the Anouk dress! Now to figure out what on earth to make it in… Too many cottons in my stash, not enough things-with-drape…!

  10. Pingback: prepping the pile, pegging out, & other necessities | Curls n Skirls

Leave a Reply

