Do you have a plan, sis?

Coz I do.

I do indeed.

(Or should that be, I did?)

It was Franken-Indie week over on The Monthly Stitch’s Indie Pattern Month, and, well, since I seem to be addicted to sewing challenges (especially ones with short time frames) I kinda had to come up with something.

(Side note: it’s much, much harder to come up with a mash-up of two or more indie patterns when you’ve got a baby bump to contend with.)

I thought, and I thought. And I thought some more.

And then it hit me.

Combine the Deer & Doe Plantain tee with the Papercut Ensis.

Deer&Doe Plantain

Papercut Ensis tee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flare at the waist (i.e. bump-accommodating-space), well-placed colour blocking, and elbow patches!!!

Plantain + Ensis = Plansis! πŸ˜€

(Yeah, it kinda works, right?)

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Anyway, it was pretty easy hack to do. I cut the Plaintain tee in a size 40 (one size bigger than usual, due to pregnancy-rib-cage-expansion), and while cutting I laid the top section of the Ensis tee pattern over the top, so I could see where the colour blocking would start. I cut up to that overlap plus an extra 1cm for seam allowance, on the front, back and sleeve panels. (Note to self: next time, take a photo of this, coz these things are a lot easier to explain in pictures than words….)

(And in the process I found myself rather interested in how much the arm scye on the Plaintain and the Ensis differed. Far more than I was expecting, considering they’re both tee patterns. Kinda tempting to pull out a few more tee patterns to compare them all….)

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Then, I did much the same process to cut out the purple top section – again, using the Plaintain tee for the shape of the top (so the top and bottom matched nicely) and the Ensis top pattern sections to figure out how far down to cut (again, cutting down to the end of the Ensis top pattern piece and adding 1cm seam allowance to get that nice, clean match-up of pieces when stitching up).

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And since I was rockin’ the purple colour blockin’, I did the elbow patches in purple, too.

(Seriously folks – elbow patches!!! Man, I just love that there is a tshirt pattern out there with elbow patches on it.)

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Because I am tall and have crazy long gorilla arms (a rock-climbing friend of mine once informed me I have a good ‘ape factor’. True story. In theory this means I should be good at rock climbing. If I wasn’t terrified of heights, that is. Ugh.) I did my usual and lengthened the sleeves by 6cm.

And then when I stitched it all up and tried those sleeves on, they were still too short, so I added cuffs to them and now they nicely cover my wrists and the lower part of my hands and are perfect for winter. πŸ™‚ (It came to a total addition of 11cm length to the arms, by the way. See? Long gorilla arms.)

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

However, since I was only expecting to have to add my usual 6cm in length, I didn’t think to check the placement of the elbow patches until after I’d stitched it all up and realised the arms were still too long. Yeah, they kinda sit above my elbows. Ah well, they’re still ovals of purple so I like them enough. And I have plans for more of these Plantain-Ensis-cross tops, so I’ll adjust the placement next time. πŸ™‚

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I’m also going to lengthen it next time. It’d be ok if I wasn’t preggers, but as it is, this top is a little bit too short. Especially when goofing around and raising ones arms in the air, like so:

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I was naughty and didn’t hem the bottom – this fabric isn’t going to fray, and it means I can take it in at the sides post-baby if I feel like it. Flexibility = good.

Also, the bump is getting kinda crazy big. And I still have four months to go….. (*slightly terrified that I may not be able to get into cars/fit through doorways/etc*)

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Speaking of the fabric (if you’re interested) – the stripe is a mid-heavy weight cotton-blend tshirting I got at Levana factory outlet, oh about 12 years ago now. (Eep!) the purple is a mid-weight cotton-blend tshirting. Not sure where I got it from, chances are it was also from Levana. Either way, it’s been in my stash for ages and is slowly getting used up – would you believe I had about 10m of it!?! (My sister made an awesome Lady Skater dress from it the other week. I’ve already used it for a muslin of Ooh La Leggings, a Hummingbird tee and a Tiramisu dress, none of which are in my wardrobe any more, so clearly I need to make another dress or something out of this stuff coz really, purple is awesome.)

Hmmm. I’ve been up too long – the rambling has set in. Time for bed, I think….

Oh yeah, and it was windy today. Because I live in Wellington, and that’s how things are here. I submit my hair as evidence of this:

Plansis tee | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

G’night, all. Zzzzz……

17 responses to “Do you have a plan, sis?

  1. Love this tshirt hack! It looks awesome! love the colour / pattern combo. it does kinda hide the bump though, apart from the sideways exaggerated belly shot, you don’t look preggers in this shirt at all! Super styling preggers!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      It’s weird, this pregnancy I’ve only just put on nearly 1kg so far, so technically I’ve actually lost weight?!?! Means I don’t look pregnant until you see me side-on usually, which is kinda funny!

  2. You’re having another baby!

    • I am indeed. Give me an excuse to make even more pairs of PJ’s when you run your pajama party sew-alongs from next year onwards, haha! πŸ˜‰

  3. Hi Kat, looks very funky. My sister has loooonnng arms and has requested a Deer and Doe Plantain, so will bear in mind how much more I will need to add. Love the purple and stripes combination. I was wondering if you could add a cuff to the bottom also? Then when you have had the baby, you could always cut the cuff off before adjusting it? Just an idea, although thinking that you don’t usually raise your arms in the air! Great make x

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      I did think about adding a cuff to the bottom, but I figure I’m probably going to need it to stretch a bit over the next few months. I may put a cuff on it post-baby though. πŸ™‚

  4. Looks like a really fun and useful top. Great photos too (have just worked out that you’re at the zoo)!

  5. Pingback: Franken-Indie: hello, Plansis! | The Monthly Stitch

  6. I think its fab! And I like the way that you always future proof your pregnancy makes so that you’re able to wear them post baby xxx

    • Heh, thank you. πŸ™‚ (I suspect that’s gonna be getting a lot harder to do in a couple of months….!!)

  7. ohh, I love that top. The purple/stripes combo is just perfect and it goes great with your bump πŸ˜‰ . I love purple too, I don’t have many purple clothes though. Mental note, must make some purple stuff.

    (I assume you know this Gogol Bordello song? If not, check it out)

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Ah, purple is fantastic. Thanks for the link to the song, I hadn’t heard that one before!

  8. Kat, have you tried Megan Nielsen maternity patterns? I love the look of the wrapped top, but can’t remember if you have made it before? Xx

    • I haven’t actually tried any of her maternity patterns. Most of them I don’t find all that inspiring, although after reading your comment I went and had another look, and that wrap top is actually rather cute, so I may just make it up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

