Loganberry Coppelia

I’ve set myself a little challenge over the past month, and plan to continue it all through June (which, by the way, is Indie Pattern Month! Woo hoo!!). The challenge? To find and sew indie patterns that are both maternity-friendly and that I can wear when I’m not pregnant and don’t look like maternity clothes when I’m wearing ’em.

Turns out there aren’t all that many different indie designers who have designs that fit that maternity-friendly category. I’m guessing it’s largely because of the strong trend Clio recently talked about around sewing people making dresses, usually with fitted waists, and that’s influencing the indie designers. (Or maybe it’s the other way ’round?)

There are a couple of indie labels that do have styles that I reckon will work for both maternity (or the before-I-look-like-a-whale-with-legs stage of maternity, anyway) and also post-new-small-persons-arrival. So apologies in advance, but you’re likely to see a fair bit of Victory and Papercut on here over the next month or so. Single styles from others will hopefully crop up from time to time as well to break up the Victory-and-Papercut monopoly (such as the Summer Concert Tee from Dixie DIY and the Plantain tee from Deer&Doe).

(For those of you who prefer the vintage styles that crop up on here, never fear. I have some ’50s, ’60s and 70’s maternity patterns up my sleeve for when the indie ones don’t fit any more! Including plans to try one of those weird 1950’s skirts with the circular cut-out for ‘the bump’, just out of curiousity to see what they’re like to wear. Uncomfortable, I suspect….)

And so, without further ado, I present to you the latest in my indie maternity-friendly creations – the Loganberry Coppelia!

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The Coppelia is a wrap cardi pattern by Papercut. A ballet style with raglan sleeves, it ends at the waist with long ties. Which makes it pretty perfect for maternity, since you can wear it above the bump quite easily. (Fair and advance warning – I have another one of these appearing on here soon. And it’s unlikely to be the last. I may be in love with this pattern, it’s so crazy easy to make and wear!)

Papercut Coppelia cardi

Papercut Coppelia cardi

Since I’m a dresses girl at heart, I thought I’d experiment a bit and try lengthening the Coppelia into a wrap dress.

(Plus, it fits in rather well with the ‘Sew Stretchy‘ month challenge over on The Monthly Stitch.)

And sure enough, it turned out rather well!

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Or at least I reckon it did, and that’s what counts, right?! šŸ˜‰ )

I lengthened the waist ties a bit as well so they wrap around both front and back and provide a bit of definition in the front in the longer style. They’re easy to tie above-bump, and since the Coppelia is made in a stretch fabric, it’s super comfy and will also look pretty good post-baby.

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

It was pretty easy to lengthen this pattern, and I took photos as I went, so I’m going to put a tutorial up sometime in the next couple of days for anyone who is interested. Doesn’t matter how much you lengthen it by – a few inches to get it more of a hip-length style, or a full-length maxi dress, or anything in between, the process is the same.

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

These photos were taken on the War Memorial grounds, on an utterly gorgeous winter day. (Big thanks to Nikki, the lovely photographer!)

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I love the lion fountain near the entrance to the War Memorial park, it makes me smile whenever I walk past it. šŸ™‚

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Why Loganberry? Well, I was going to call it ‘cranberry’ but the colour isn’t quite right. For some odd reason (since I’ve never seen or tasted one – we don’t get them over here in NZ) logan berries came to mind. I Googled ’em and they looked about the right colour.

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Plus, after these photos were taken the other week, we went for High Tea at Logan Brown. Berry coloured dress + Logan Brown = Loganberry!)

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

It’s funny, but I always feel a need to name the garments I make. Seems to make it easier to refer to them later by name, rather than vague description. Not that I find it easy to think up names. Erp. What about you guys? Do you tend to name things? Or how do you refer to them if you talk about them later? Got any good suggestions for how to come up with names for garments??

Loganberry Coppelia | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

23 responses to “Loganberry Coppelia

  1. Pingback: Loganberry Coppelia | The Monthly Stitch

  2. This is a great idea and it looks smashing on you. I love the colour no matter what it is called

  3. Good luck with your challenge! am sure you will do really well at adjusting for your growing belly.

  4. Very clever idea to transform the Coppelia into a dress – it looks great!

  5. This looks great as a dress! Awesome idea!

  6. Can’t wait to see your maternity makes! Being at the whale end of the pregnancy spectrum I’m really struggling to find indie patterns for June to sew that are maternity friendly or are within my skills to alter. I’m planning a Coco dress, will see how that goes. I made maternity-friendly Oh La leggings from Papercut and they have been the most worn item ever since.

    • I have plans for maternity-friendly Ooh La Leggings sometime in the next couple of weeks, seems they’re the only leggings pattern without a seam running up the stomach! I suspect I’ll be making several pairs of them. šŸ˜‰

      If it helps, the ones I’m thinking might be maternity friendly for longer are the Anouck and Simone from Victory patterns, the Coppelia (cardi), Rigel (bomber jacket), SJ Tee, Bellatrix (blazer), and the Circle top from Papercut pattern. Also the Summer Concert tee from Dixie DIY. šŸ™‚ (Oh, and the Victoria blazer from By Hand London. I figure any blazers/jackets/tops that can be worn open and look fine are candidates for things for me to make over the next few months!)

    • Ness, I can’t believe you are remotely whale-like.

      • kiwimagpieness

        You’d be surprised Heather!! Kat, I was thinking of the circle top and the Rigel bomber and possibly the Saiph tunic (love me the papercut!) and maybe the Lola sweater dress from Victory (with modified front panel) but will probably not have enough sewing time before I pop (approx. 11 weeks to go and I only sew roughly 1 or 2 things a month)…

  7. I LOVE your Coppelia Dress, it’s the perfect wrap dress. The colour is so yummy. I’m looking forward to your maternity adaptations šŸ™‚

  8. Beautiful dress, I can’t wait to see how you turned this into s dress, it’s another reason for me to buy this brilliant pattern, ha!

  9. It’s a great colour on you Kat – I really must make this one up! It’s in my pile of “stuff to make for winter” – lets see if I get to it before its summer again….

  10. margueritedesigns

    Lovely colour and beautifully made.

  11. This is gorgeous and clever! You look like a million bucks in it too. Good luck with the maternity challenges too!

    I rarely name my garments. I appreciate the effort some people go to do so, but the reality is that when I’m talking to my friends about my wardrobe or sewing plans etc I’m far more likely to say “my pink leopard print dress” then “Insert crazy name” dress. So that’s what I blog too.

  12. Pingback: Tutorial: how to lengthen the Papercut Coppelia top | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  13. Pingback: A me-made-May retrospective | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

