The Joy of Pink and Orange

Waaaay back in 2013, Heather and Oona had this fantastic idea. They sent each other everything the other would need to make a complete garment. Neither knew what they were getting, but they had to make it anyway. They called it The Sew Bossy Initiative.

Now, if you know me, you could probably guess that this is exactly the type of thing that appeals to me. A sewing challenge? Where you get to choose what someone else makes? And you have to make what they choose for you? Brilliant!

Naturally, I wanted to jump on board. My only dilemma – who to get all Bossy with?

Luckily, the amazing Oonaballoona came to my rescue, and suggested that I pair up with Joy from A Charm Of Magpies. Seriously, that girl Oona? Genius!

sewbossychallenge

So, I approached Joy and popped the question: Joy, will you Sew Bossy with me?

(Thankfully, she said yes. *phew*)

I had heaps of fun choosing what to make Joy make. And then heaps more fun unpacking the what-you-must-make parcel she handed me! Between us, we had a riot of colour. (If pink, purple and orange can be called a riot. Can a riot consist of three things? I vote ‘yes’, if those three things are as bright as the colours we were pulling out!)

In my parcel from Joy was the ingredients and the command to make the following:

  • New Look 6945 in an orange cotton sateen with a little bit of stretch. And the added challenge of replacing the button placket with an exposed bright pink zip.
  • Burda Magazine 12/2006 pattern 117 in a pink pinwale cord, with black lining and bright swirly coloured buttons for decoration on the (decorative) button flaps.

Yeah! Bright pink! Bright orange! Gotta love that. 😉

And then it took us for-ev-ah to actually make up our Sew Bossy commands. Oops.

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

But we got there in the end! And the other weekend, we trekked out to get some photos.

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Naturally, since the Little Man was with us, there was a photo bomb. Or twenty.)

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(And a bit of running-to-bring-him-back every few minutes. The challenge of corralling a 19 month old just increases when you throw high wedge heels, a pencil skirt, and a dirt path down a hill into the mix.)

drakecapture

But look, I can balance on one foot on a hilly dirt path, even in wedge heels! I has skills, yo.

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

My favourite of these two is the skirt. Because, it’s bright pink. And a super soft pinwale cord. And lined. And, it has a flounce!

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(See the lining? Peeking out at the top there. The flounce wasn’t lined, no need for that part really.)

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Plus, decorative pretty buttons! Woot!

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

(Although sadly it only just fits over the baby bump at the moment. So it’s getting hung up, waiting for a few months until I can wear it again and flaunt it with high heels. A skirt with a flounce like that? It calls for heels, yes it does.)

The top pattern calls for it to be lined as well, but I decided to draft facings for it instead, and add a flash of ladybirds (leftover from my Ladybird Ballet top). Because, ladybirds!

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Looking ahead, this top is gonna be super-useful in, oh, about 6-7 months. Chunky zip down the centre front? Yep, that zip’s gonna get used. And let’s call it serendipity that the sizings on this pattern seem to run rather large, which means it’s gonna fit really well just when I need easy access tops for Next Little Person.

Sadly, I completely forgot to get any photos of the process of changing the button placket on the top to a centre-front exposed zip. Oops. It was pretty easy, though. Firstly, I found the centre line of the front panel. Then I added 0.5cm seam allowance to this extending out from the centre front and cut it out on that new line. (Why 0.5cm seam allowance, you may ask? Well, I prefer to work with 1cm seam allowances, since I find 1.5cm is wasteful in most cases. And then it dropped down to 0.5cm added to allow for the width of the zip itself.) I then sewed the zip on using a 1cm seam allowance, and all was good!

Thanks so much for bossing me around, Joy! I love my new top and skirt, and it was so much fun to see what someone else would choose for me to make and wear. 🙂

Here’s a sneak peek of what I got Joy to make. Head over to her blog and check out all the details of her outfit!

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Notice how our shoes match each other’s skirts? Yeah, totally intentional, I swear.

Pink and Orange Joy outfit | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

13 responses to “The Joy of Pink and Orange

  1. I love how you both bought each other flounced skirts. And I’m quite jealous of the pink corduroy, looks awesome!

    • The pink is fabulous! I could quite happily just stroke it for ages, it’s so soft and pretty. 🙂

      What can I say? We’re all about the flounces, and the colour pink! 😉

  2. Omg you guys look so glamorous! That outfit sure shows off your stunning legs, Kat! 😀 Very impressive outfits indeed!

  3. ACK!!! i love those duo shots, such synergy in your picks for each other! the colors & swish in your bossy make are delicious–and i think it’s become a rule of sew bossy that one must take f o r e v a h to actually make it. i’m working on one with latrice that’s been going on since last october…

    • Aww, thanks lovely lady! Your pairing was inspirational, haha! 😉

      Oooh, another Sew Bossy? What fun! I’d love to do another one, had so much fun doing this (even though it took freakin’ ages to get us co-ordinated!). Maybe I should put the Instagram call out, see if anyone feels like pairing up…. Hmmmm….. Looking forward to seeing what you two come up with, when you get it finished 😉

  4. For the record, I’d like to once again state that you look SMOKING in that skirt.

    Thanks for the fun and games!

  5. The skirt in particular is a fabulous shape on you. I am also very impressed by your toddler catching skills in heels. Clearly you are very practiced!

  6. I love the bright colour, they look so fabulous on you. The cord skirt is really to die for, very flattering and I can almost feel how soft it is. I love the button as well. I think Joy was the Boss at being bossy!

  7. What a fun color combo!!!!! Drake is so cute, too. 🙂

  8. Pingback: FO: Sew Bossy Hummingbird top and skirt | acharmofmagpies

  9. Loving this! That colour combo is one of my favourites – weird in theory, amazing in reality!! Way to go guys!

Leave a Reply

