A Wolf in Denim

Yep, I made a third pair of trousers. Three pairs in one month, even. (Blame The Monthly Stitch – it challenged me to make trousers, so I figured, may as well jump in with both feet. Especially since I usually avoid making these things.)

This time – meet the Peter and the Wolf trousers from Papercut!

Now, these are so very, very far from my usual style. (After all, they don’t resemble a 1940’s or 1950’s dress in any way, now do they?) I’ve never been one for skinny pants – tried a pair on once, looked horrible on me, avoided them ever since. But, well, that yoke detail – even though I was pretty sure the finished garment wouldn’t be my style, I had to try making them just to try making that yoke.

(Do others fall prey to this as well? The strong desire to make something just for the sake of trying to make it, rather than because you want to wear it in the end?) (Or is it just me? <- sad, lonely voice from the corner)

Anyway, here’s what the finished garment looks like!

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Since they’re quite a tight-fitting pair of trousers, and the pattern calls for a woven with some stretch, I went for a stretch denim, and used the reverse side for the contrast yokes.

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I used the reverse for contrast on the pocket facings as well, but in hindsight should have probably just stuck with contrast yokes. Next time….

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The only alteration I made to the pattern when cutting out was the length – I'd heard from Sandra from when she made her fabulous black-and-red pair that they end up quite cropped. And I'm not really one for cropped trousers (heck, the vast majority of RTW trousers are cropped on me when they aren't meant to be, so I've had a pre-sewing lifetime of unintentionally cropped trousers to try and recover from!). So even though the scalloped hem is utterly gorgeous, I sadly removed it by extending the length instead.

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Which I didn’t do enough, it turns out and had to add a cuff at the bottom with the little scraps that were left from my cutting out, to get a bit of extra length. (Whoops!)

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The pattern went together really nicely, as all Papercut ones I’ve ever made have done. Nice, clear instructions, good drafting, and overall an enjoyable sew.

I did a bit more topstitching than what was called for, as the denim I used has a fair bit of stretch and I was worried about the seams bursting. So the side seams got topstitched as well, as did the full crotch seam (front and back). (And I can reasonably safely say they’re nice and strong, since I wore these around the house all day on Saturday to test them out! πŸ˜‰ )

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

For fun, I used some pink quilting cotton with cupcakes on it for the pocket lining, that I got from my secret santa in the 2013 Sewists Secret Santa Swap. (Thanks, secret santa!) Coz, you know – cupcakes. (Need I say more?)

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

To my shame, the front and back yokes don’t line up all that well on one side. Not sure how I missed this – guess that’s what happens when you sew with a head cold. Grrr. (And then I compound my feeling of duh-ness around this by showing you all how well they don’t match up….)

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

These are meant to be a mid-rise style, but the seam where the waistband hits the trousers hits exactly on my hip bones. A bit lower than I was expecting, and I had to add a bit of extra length (like, 7cm extra!) to the waistband to get it to do up when going directly across my hip bones. (Eek!) Next time, I’ll add a bit of length to the front and back pieces, to get these sitting an inch or two higher. (Because of where they hit, the waistband doesn’t sit as smoothly as it should either. But hey, I’ll always be wearing a tshirt or the like over these, so that won’t really matter.) Admittedly, I’m quite tall (177cm), so these are probably going to sit a bit higher on other people. (Have you made them? Do they sit higher?? I’m curious to know!)

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

So yes, the Peter and the Wolf trousers. So not my usual style. And I must admit, I’m not 100% certain on this pair on me. Do they fit ok? (I don’t ever wear trousers this tight, so I’m finding it hard to tell if there are fitting issues in the front section, or if it’s just that the style is so foreign to me!) Do they look any good? (Again, so far from my style I can’t tell!) Please people – give me your honest opinions!!!

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Whether they look any good on me or not, though, I do recommend this pattern. It comes together well, has interesting details, and great instructions. (And I’m contemplating how to convert it into a skirt variation next time I make it, so I can still get that yoke detailing but without the doubt of skinny pants wearing going on.)

Papercut Peter and the Wolf trousers | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Oh, and check out my shoes! I love these – still breaking them in, must get to work on that coz they’re far too pretty to sit languishing in my wardrobe. They’re the ‘Apple Dimple’ style from Minx. Totally my favourite shoe brand.

Apple Dimple shoes by Minx | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Thanks to my lovely sister for taking the photos! She did such a good job I had a hard time choosing which ones to use, hopefully it hasn’t given you all photo overload as a result. πŸ˜‰ (Poll time – lots of photos, or less photos? Which is best for you?)

46 responses to “A Wolf in Denim

  1. Those contrast panels are super fun! And magic secret pocket cupcakes need to become a thing! πŸ˜€

    • Yes! Cupcakes in all pockets!! Maybe we need to declare a “cupcakes pockets month” or something like that, get everyone to do it for a creation or two… Hmmm…

  2. Love these on you, think you should make more!! If they fit better at waist etc you might be happier to wear them.

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Oh yes, that’s a good point – I may have to try making them again and move the waist higher, see what difference that makes!

  3. Great pair of jeans. Like you, I often make a pattern, just to make it. I think where the Times meet could be passed along as a detail, wink wink. The photos are great. They were balanced with enough writing to avoid overload lo.

    • Oh, that’s good to know that I didn’t completely overload, thanks!

      Hah, glad to know I’m not the only one who makes patterns just because they look interesting. πŸ˜‰

  4. These look amazing! I love them on you! Seriously, the fit is STELLAR! I must confess that I’m still completely terrified of making jeans. I tried really hard, and even made a date with a sewing friend to cut and muslin jeans, but we both chickened out and I just can’t make myself do it! These look so utterly fantastic, though, and I’m so impressed by your mad skillz, girl!

    • Aww thanks! πŸ™‚

      You know, these really aren’t that hard to make. You should so try it! I think you’ll be surprised how much easier it is to make trousers than you think it will be. (I suspect the main secret lies in finding the right pattern for your body type though….)

      Right, my Wolfies are done – it’s now your turn! πŸ˜‰ Get a pair made in the next month and I may just send you a little something as an incentive, haha!

  5. I love them! Perhaps I will take a chance…

  6. If they’re comfy wearing ~ and they look like they are ~ they’re keepers. They look great, and you’re not the only one in that corner, let me tell ya! Seriously, the shoes are making this, too, because of the heel height with that scrunchy length. So do try the pattern again, and dig out more heels, cause these are gawjus!!!
    del xx

  7. Going to make my first pair of pants this month and this post is definitely helping with my motivation πŸ™‚

    They look great πŸ™‚

  8. I think they look great! I can’t say for the fitting, but the front looks normal to me πŸ™‚

  9. They look great! With those heels it looks as though your legs go on for ever!

  10. I think they look FAB on you! I’m not bias AT ALL πŸ™‚

  11. These are sexy! You need to get dolled up and take them (and your new shoes) out on the town. Truly though, I love these and think they look better than the pattern example (which you might have just convinced me to buy). Also I really think they suit you.

  12. Kat they look good – I am sad that Papercut do not do Plus size as I am handicapped when it comes to drafting up!!

    • Papercut extended their size range in their last collection to add the next size up, so hopefully that means they’ll keep on adding to the size range! I like it when companies do wide size ranges. πŸ™‚ You can see their sizing here (http://papercutpatterns.com/pages/size-chart), and I believe the Constellation collection goes up to an XL (which is bigger than most XL’s – I find I’m a good size smaller in Papercut sizes than in any other companies sizes.)

  13. Hi kat,
    I think they look really good on you, maybe you want to try wearing them with a looser top?
    Youve done a fab job!

    • Thanks Mariana! πŸ™‚ Good idea about the top – I think I’ll need to make one, since I don’t own any! Eep!

  14. Yes, I’m raising my hand over here, that I also have a handful of patterns that I’m curious to try out – even though I don’t think I would wear them (or am not sold on the style yet…). I think it balances out those patterns that look perfect in your head, and then fail to excite you once they are made.
    And I completely agree about the unintentionally cropped trousers syndrome! I have a few centimeters on you, and have plans to join the jeans-making club very soon. I’ve been busy so far making lots of tops with extra-long sleeves πŸ™‚

  15. I hadn’t seen this one before, but it might be the incentive I need to give Papercut a shot– it looks like these would be a lot easier to adjust the fit than a lot of other skinny pants patterns! (Me and my “strong thighs”…haha.)

  16. I often buy a pattern because I want to make it without thinking about whether I want to WEAR it, trying to break that habit! But I think in this case it pushed you in a good direction– the pants look great on you. I haven’t made them, but I muslined the Papercut pleated pants and they hit me far too low, falling off the hipbone, when I think they’re also supposed to be mid-rise. I’m going to go down a size and try again soon. And now you’ve got me wanting to try this pattern too.

  17. Wow, Kat, these are some of my favourite trousers ever! I love the pattern, but they way you colour blocked and added the funky pocket fabric! Gorgeous. They fit well too, I’m sure you will wear these A LOT!

  18. Coo, your legs look long! Love the way you make the pocket in the reverse fabric. What a great ad for Papercut you are πŸ™‚ We need to invite them to the “other side” πŸ™‚

  19. I gotta say, those look like they fit pretty darn well, m’dear!! I have been pretty meh about skinnies too (having had a few awful dressing-room experiences trying them on LOL) but I do like them on others and I do like the seaming details on this pattern, so perhaps all is not lost! πŸ™‚ As a tall girl myself, I totally relate to your leg length issues… it ALWAYS looks like I’m preparing for a flood! LOL

  20. The FIRST tings I saw were those amazing shoes! And THEN there’s your fabulous pants – they look GREAT!! Good butt shot : ) I may be coming to the southern hemisphere in a couple of months, don’t know if I’ll get to NZ but we’ll see…

  21. They look great – although you don’t look convinced in the pictures! And like others have said, great butt shot! I definitely make things up just because I want to make them, except I usually don’t realise it wont suit until AFTER I’ve almsot finished.

    And I recently had the thought – is the whole point of “7/8 pants” that they make tall people feel better when RTW pants are too short? Because otherwise… WHY?

  22. Love the trousers Kat – they are awesome! And when I was looking at this pics I was thinking “nice arse Kat” πŸ˜‰ So you should definitely wear them!

  23. Love these on you. Love your topstitching. Love your choice of denim and the contrasts. You rock these jeans.

  24. uhm amazing! Your shoes are super duper cute, too! I have yet to make any papercut pants, but I often wonder if the patterns are drafted for a slightly petite frame overall since they fit my shortness so well right out of the package. I LOVE these on you. Perfect with your tee πŸ™‚

  25. Pingback: Days in photos | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  26. Kat these look fantastic on you. I’m so far behind in my blog reading I’ve just discovered your post. The straight leg looks fantastic – I’m now tempted to make yet another pair with a straight leg rather than a skinny. I love these on you, well styled with the FAB-U-LOUS shoes and Ensis tee. I think they give you great portions. The fit looks great for straight out of the box.

  27. I keep meaning to comment and then forget – but these look so HOT with heels! xx

  28. As to your question about the style suiting you. . . the word that comes to mind is smokin’ . . .

    I was never much taken with this pattern, but seeing it made up on you has changed my mind. I am tempted to make it now!

  29. I think these look fantastic on you. If you’re still aiming for a vintage-ish look, try channelling the 60s, think Brigitte Bardot, skinny pants and sloouchy breton tops with a headscarf and major cats eyes. But they look stellar, so wear them with pride!

  30. Pingback: Meet the Editors – Kat! | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

