‘ello there, Miss Bossy Patterns!

So….. Have you heard about The Monthly Stitch?

(If not, you should get over there and check it out – lots of fun to play along with, especially if you’re like me with So Many Things you want to sew all the time, coz it’s a great way to choose what to make next, haha!)

Anyway. The March challenge is Miss Bossy Patterns. The idea being we pick three patterns from our stash that we’ve never made, and get people to vote on which one we should make.

Fun!! πŸ˜€

But, you know, I happen to have a heck of a lot of patterns in my stash. (Oops.) So to make it easier for myself, I gave myself a sub-challenge. Since it’s Sew Grateful Week coming up, my pattern choices are limited to those I’ve gotten from other bloggers and haven’t used yet.

And just because I could, I went and matched them with some stash fabric. Because it’s fun to imagine completed wardrobe things, amiright?

Here’s the three options:

McCall 5676
Option One: McCall 5676
A pretty, pretty dress pattern from 1944, a gift from another blogger. This dress features a button-up back, either cap or puff or long sleeves, hidden pockets in the skirt centre panel seams, and gathers at neck and waist.
I’d make this up in a soft lightweight cotton – slightly pink tinged, with pink and orange flowers. (I’d also need to wear a slip under it, as this cotton is a bit sheer since it’s lightweight.)

Simplicity 3673
Option Two: Simplicity 3673
A re-released vintage Simplicity pattern, originally from the 1950’s, that I won in a giveaway. This one is a dress (or jumper) with three lengths and two skirt variations – a-line or pencil. It features a high waist with belt, under-bust gathers, and dart shaping at the waist.
This one is calling out to be made up in a vibrant pink and yellow cotton plaid.

Simplicity 3661
Option Three: Simplicity 3661
A 1950’s blouse pattern, that I got when a Pattern Pyramid visited me. It features a fly front (with either snap fasteners or buttons), dart tucks at the waistline, and box pleats. I’d make the short-sleeved version, with the tie collar.
For this one, I’ve earmarked a soft, lightweight salmon pink cotton/silk blend.

Alright folks, there’s the three options! All ones I fully intend to make up at some point. So, which to begin with? The choice is yours! πŸ™‚

18 responses to “‘ello there, Miss Bossy Patterns!

  1. The McCall’s dress is super cute! That’s my vote πŸ™‚

    • Know what I just realised? All three of my fabric choices match one of the pattern illustrations! Heh, complete accident. Funny. πŸ™‚

  2. A vibrant pink and yellow cotton plaid – YEAH!

  3. Love your first pattern & fabric – definitely that McCall’s dress!
    del

  4. How are we to decide when you pick great patterns? McCall’s dress is very sweet.

  5. I voted for the blouse, but I am not in the majority. I would love to see either of the dresses also.

  6. Tough choices, but I managed to chose one.

  7. I also vote for the McCall’s dress, Spring is coming… Also, I have nominated you for the Liebster Award for fabulous beginning bloggers. To accept your award and see what it is all about check out my blog post… http://sarahkatecreations.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/the-liebster-award-discover-new-blogs/

    • Well, technically, autumn is coming for me… πŸ˜‰ (But hey, that’s what tights and cardigans are for, right?! πŸ™‚

      Thanks so much for the blog award! That’s so lovely of you. πŸ™‚

  8. I love the dress – & that fabric is perfect! πŸ™‚

  9. Hmmm, hard choice, but I would love to see the blouse in silk, with the pintucks set off by the embossed striped fabric. I think it would be a double style whammy!! (my voting poll is up as well, not sure if you’ve voted yet, I can’t WAIT to see who wins, I’m becoming obsessed with checking the stats every few minutes, LOL: http://gjeometry.com/2014/02/13/help-me-obi-wan-kenobi/)

  10. I just love the combination of pink and yellow! So simplicity it is … it’s also in my stash πŸ™‚

    Herzliche Grüße,
    rebecca

  11. I love the McCalls and the fabric choice. It looks like it would be perfect for that trans-seasonal time we are entering (although living in Wellington, you are probably perpetually in that time!). But I also heart the Simplicity dress, possibly have added it to my own to buy list…

  12. Think I missed this when you posted (or I’ve voted twice!). I’m going for Simplicity in plaid. I’ve seen this one made up and it looked fantastic. That vintage blouse is very tempting though.
    Have fun!
    Ramona

  13. You should do all of them! But I voted McCalls as that print is so pretty and the dress needs summer, the others can wait until autumn.

  14. Is it too late for me to chime in? LOL I vote Option 2! Love that jumper!

  15. Pingback: Bossy, bossy, bossy boots | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  16. Pingback: The Debi dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

