Challenges, challenges everywhere

Soooo……

You know how Mel and I have been hosting a couple of sewing challenges lately? Well, we enjoyed it so much, we decided – why don’t we make it a regular thing?

(We also know a few people, myself included, have been missing the challenges from The Sew Weekly. So, you know, maybe there are a few more people out there who would like a regular programme of sewing challenges….?)

And thus, I give to you….

The Monthly Stitch!!!

The Monthly Stitch

The premise is simple – every month, there will be a different theme. You can choose to sew along with all of them, none of them, or just pick the ones that interest you – it’s entirely up to you.

(Personally, I tend to find sewing challenges rather motivating. They encourage me to step outside of my ‘normal’ styles and try something new, they help me prioritise my (extremely long) things-I-want-to-make list, and there’s something rather exhilarating about sewing to a deadline.)

Mel, Juliet and I are your lovely hosts, maintaining the blog and doing all that sort of good admin-y stuff.

And we’re looking for contributors to take part! We’re wanting The Monthly Stitch to become a community – somewhere we can all sew along together, learning from each other, getting inspired, and making more ‘virtual’ friends. And we’d really like to feature other people’s creations on the site as well, both from the community aspect and because, let’s face it, it’ll be far more interesting with a bunch of things for people to look at, now won’t it?! πŸ˜‰

Anyone can be a contributor – whether or not you have a blog. All we ask is that you participate in the occasional challenge (or all of them!), and submit posts about your challenge creations.

The first challenge, for August, is a cape-along! (“Capering around”, as the lovely and witty Juliet nicknamed it.)

Cape Challenge August 2013

Septembers challenge is yet to be decided – we’ll be putting it to a vote sometime kinda soon.

Go on, join us! You know you want to. πŸ˜‰

13 responses to “Challenges, challenges everywhere

  1. Sounds like fun. Sounds like a challenge for me to interpret it in a style that I can wear here in such a hot climate too. Count me in!

  2. This is awesome! On twitter, a bunch of us seem to be finding themes to sew along to often. I’m gonna share this. It’s perfect!

  3. Pingback: Misery Loves Company Dress | Sewing for Me!

  4. Tempest Devyne

    No! No! No darlink….No Capes!! http://www.tumblr.com/tagged/no%20capes (sorry I can never let a chance to do an Edna E. Mode impression pass me by)

    Actually I’ve been thinking about making a cape to go with my unfinished swimming costume….so I’m in.

    (Just don’t tell Edna)

  5. Ooh I think i,d like to play, better see weather i can pick up a pattern and fabric πŸ˜‰
    Nikie

  6. Oh No…! And one that I have a great idea for! Have to see if I can fit it in : )

  7. Sounds like a great idea and I’m sure I’ll take part at some point. August won’t work for me so I’ll be watching from afar!

  8. Hello, I can do some here and there, but I can’t do the cape one because I’ll be doing the Sew Weekly challenge and I’m only up to doing one monthly project these days. Look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  9. I’m so excited! πŸ˜€

  10. I am super impressed with how much energy you guys have! While a cape is on my list I should really get a wiggle on with other things on my MUST sew list! If sewing a dress is chosen for September then I could re-prioritise for August πŸ˜‰

  11. Definitely interested in a monthly challenge so count me in. Since I’m participating in the Sew Weekly Reunion challenge, I may have to start in September.

  12. Hi! I just joined you over at The Monthly Stitch, and I am sooo exited to get started! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to getting to know everyone:) In the meantime, why dont you take a look at my blog? πŸ™‚ http://trollemors-hverdag.blogspot.no/ (Stitches & Pearls)

    Have a super day!

    • Welcome! πŸ™‚

      I like the cape you’ve chosen to make – a very cute style! I’m looking forward to seeing what it looks like when you’ve made it up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

