Challenging May

Would you believe it – it’s May tomorrow! Yikes! Time, it does fly by.

And with the onset of May comes a whole new host of sew-alongs, challenges, and other fun things. Several of which I plan to take part in…

Burda Style sew along

Naturally, I’ll be joining in the Burda sew-along. After all, I’m one of the hosts, along with he Curious Kiwi. It would be a bit remiss of me not to participate in my own sew-along, now wouldn’t it?! πŸ˜‰

Me Made May '13

I’ve been looking forward to the next Me-Made-May for a while, so I’m definitely signing up to take part in that. (Must go do a me-made wardrobe inventory for that, actually….)

Stashbusting Sewalong

I think I may finally get my act together to take part in May’s Stashbusting Sewalong. The theme this month is sewing with knits and I have a lovely pile of merino sitting there, waiting to be made into snuggly things for winter.

Which will also tie in well with the natural fibers contest over on Pattern Review. Maybe….

Spring clean your sewing space

And as if all that wasn’t enough, I’m also going to be watching the Spring Clean your Sewing Space series over on Made With Hugs and Kisses.

Phew, lots of things I want to take part in this May! There’s a whole bunch more as well – the list, it just keeps on growin’!

How about you? Are you taking part in any challenges/contests/sew-alongs/etc this May?

22 responses to “Challenging May

  1. wow thats a lot on for the month!! I am looking forward to the burda sew along πŸ™‚ fingers itching to start…. after seeing how many bloggers are doing Me Made May I have challenged myself to do it next year – 12 months to go to make more clothes!

    • Oh yes, you should definitely take part next year! I’ve found the Me Made May events to be great – they’ve helped highlight the things I really want to make to complete my Me-Made wardrobe. πŸ™‚

      Looking forward to seeing what you make for the Burda sew-along!

  2. Wow, busy sewing month! I’m sitting out on MMM’13 (tough call, but life is crazy right now), but I’m hoping to get a little something in for the Stashbusting Sewalong. Probably not with the theme this month, but I do have a piece of from-stash fabric all cut out and ready to sew together!

    The spring cleaning one looks interesting–do you think that moving all of your sewing stuff to a different town counts as spring cleaning? πŸ™‚

    • I think it definitely counts as spring cleaning! After all, you get to clean the space where it was, and tidy it by putting it in it’s new home, don’t you?! πŸ˜‰ Good luck with the move!

  3. Wow, that is so much for one month!

    • I have a terrible habit of want to take part in EVERYTHING!!! I’m trying to be restrained in my commitments. Clearly, I still need more practice at that. πŸ˜‰

  4. I didn’t know about the Spring Cleaning one…I guess we’ll all be Winter Cleaning! πŸ™‚

  5. I definitely need to spring clean my sewing space, as my sewing space seems to be all over the house at the moment. I’m doing MMM’13 and I’m seriously tempted to do your Burda sew along even though I said I’d have a break from sewing challenges this month.

  6. This is a busy month! I forgot all about the Stashbusting sewalong last month– whoops! And would you believe that I don’t own a single Burda magazine? I’m looking forward to seeing what you make!

    • I’ve only just started collecting them myself, figured I should make something using one of them before I acquire any more, just to make sure I will actually use them!

      I’ve been terrible with the stashbusting sewalongs – haven’t done anything yet that fits into the themes. (Although I’ve been busting other people’s stashes, since most things I’ve made this year have been using fabric I got in swaps. Does that count for anything stash-busting-related, do you think?!?)

      • LOL! That’s totally stash-busting! πŸ˜‰ I haven’t kept up with the themes, either. But I’ve done pretty well with using stash materials (5 projects, I think?), although definitely not using things at the pace that I’m accumulating them, whoops!

  7. Busy busy! But, all good things πŸ™‚

  8. Eep, yeah, I’m participating in Me-Made-May as well as a new sewing contest called Project Sewn. I hope I’m not eliminated first, but if I scrape by then will I have a LOT of sewing to do this month!

    • Ooh, I just went and looked up Project Sewn! How exciting!! Well done on being selected, that’s so awesome!! I’ll be watching to see what you make for it – good luck!

  9. Hello Kat! After months of ignoring my blog and my sewing machine I came across your invitation to a Sewing Bloggers meet-up. I’d really love to come to one, do you have one planned for May? (If you can fit it in with all the above, you sound rather busy…) xLotte

    • Hello Lotte! We do indeed have a meet-up planned for May, and would love to meet you! Do you want to send me an email and I’ll let you know all the details? macska at gmail dot com

  10. Well… yes – challenging May … so far I am only in Me-Made-May but I see a lot is going on … hmmm. Some of the above I could combined e.g. Stashbusting Sewalong and some are just good to do e.g. Spring Clean your Sewing Space. Busy, busy, busy…

  11. Woo-hoo! Thanks for rounding up such interesting challenges!

    Put my sewing table together yesterday & found 2 burda patterns amongst the stash – that’s 2, and if I use stash fabric… πŸ˜‰
    D’el

Leave a Reply

