Top 5 of 2012 – the hits

Have you seen the Top 5 of 2012 series being hosted by Gillian over at Crafting a Rainbow? (Which, by the way, is a fabulous title for a blog, I reckon.) Basically, it’s a time to reflect on the past year of creating, and look at the year ahead.

So, here goes – my first Top 5 of 2012 post – my favourite creations.

The one I’m most proud of – the All Buttoned Up dress

All Buttoned Up dress
Made from a 1940’s pattern, I did my first fully hand-stitched hem, and fabric-covered buttons. Those details make me smile whenever I look at it, and when it fits me (hopefully it will again in a couple of months!) it’s on high rotation in my wardrobe.

The most-worn-during-pregnancy one – the Generations dress

The "Generations" Dress
Turns out these 1970’s shift-dress styles are super-comfy when pregnant! Along with the Bookworm dress (made from the same pattern), this was worn heaps during my pregnancy.

The classic basics one – the Powder Room PJs

The Powder Room PJs

Made during the Pajama Party sew-along, hosted by Karen of Did You Make That, I love these PJs. I made two pairs this year, these and the Turkey Pajamas, and they’re my two favourite pairs of PJs. (Note to self: must make more….)

The unexpected favourite – the Braveheart dress

FrontTwo

To be honest, I wasn’t expecting to like this dress all that much. It’s not my usual style, fabric, or colour. (I made it as an early-days-of-pregnancy dress, before we told everyone we were expecting, but most of my fitted-waist dresses were already too tight!) But you know what? Turns out I love it! Everything about it, and until I got too round for it, it was on high rotation in my wardrobe as well.

The end-of-year favourite – the Gingham-To-Go shirt

frontClose

I faced another wardrobe challenge after the little boy arrived, and I had to figure out what I could wear that a) provided easy access to certain areas, b) actually fitted at the moment, c) I liked to wear, and d) would hopefully be wearable as my body changes size. The Gingham-To-Go shirt was the first garment I made that met all those criteria! I wear it at least once a week, and you’re likely to see this pattern cropping up again very soon.

So there we have it – my top 5 creations for 2012. Quite a mix, since they run the gamut of my “normal” size, pregnancy garb, and breastfeeding-friendly styles! The funny thing is, if I hadn’t had a baby this year half of these garments wouldn’t even have been made, and yet here they are, in the top 5. Life’s funny sometimes. 🙂

13 responses to “Top 5 of 2012 – the hits

  1. it’s so neat to see your journey through pregnancy to motherhood in your sewing! this is inspiring to me, as i’ve got a 17 week bump on the go right now (and it’s all new to me). now, if only i could find me a great vintage maternity dress pattern like yours 🙂

    • Oooh, exciting!! Congratulations!!! 🙂 (Also, flick me an email with your size – if it’s the right size for you, I’ve got a maternity pattern I can send your way that’s almost identical to the one I made up for my fave maternity dresses. macska at gmail dot com)

  2. It’s interesting to see your top 5, especially since your wardrobe needs changed so much throughout the year!

  3. I love your style- the way you work vintage with modern- loved all of these’

  4. I like the progression of your garments from before, during and after pregnancy 🙂 I REALLY love the Generations dress, it’s so lovely on you 🙂 I think your look has gotten more ‘you’ – if that makes sense… like a more seasoned, concentrated version – you look very confident and self assured now… never mind your ‘normal’ size; you look most fabulous NOW!

    • Aww, thank you! 🙂 I’m kinda curious to see what direction my sewing and style go in over the next year, since I had to adjust it for this year’s changing needs. It’ll be interesting to see if it goes back to what it used to be, or how much it’s changed! Hmmmm….

  5. Oooooh, your vintage dress is to die for!

  6. Pingback: The “Strawberry Sundae” Shirt | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  7. Howinteresting seeing your wardrobe adapt to your changing needs! And all great garments too!

Leave a Reply

