{Hair Colour} – pink and purple

The last hair colour I put through my hair, back in November, was Directions Rose Red. Which I got a photo of, and never got around to posting. So, just for reference, here it is – Directions Rose Red, bock on 9 November 2012:

roseRedNov2012

That colour has lasted remarkable well – it’s not quite as intense and dark as it was, but it’s still a nice, vibrant pink. However, my regrowth isn’t looking so hot, so a dye job was in order today. It seemed a bit of a waste to use another whole thing of dye when it was really just my regrowth that needed to be done, so I thought I’d try something a bit different this time. Inspired by this colour combination by Love Elycia, I pulled a half-empty tube of Fudge Paintbox Purple Haze out of the bathroom cabinet, bleached my regrowth (always a fun job – I walk about the house with my hair sticking in all directions due to the bleach for a while, hoping that no one comes to the door until I can get it all washed out again), and put the Purple Haze only on the top of my hair. I then combed it downwards, to spread the dye out a bit.

front

After I washed it out, I ended up with pink/purple multi-coloured hair. It’s a bit more purple than I was expecting in places, and far less consistent all over than I thought it would be, but overall I quite like the effect! I’m going to have fun playing with different styles to show different parts of the colour over the next couple of weeks, before the purple fades. (Sadly, the Fudge Paintbox colours are pretty crappy and fade very fast.) I’m curious as to what it’ll look like if I straighten it – straightening tends to make the colours more intense. May have to try that tomorrow and see how it goes. πŸ™‚

back

(Huh. Turns out I must have my hair in pigtails/plaits too often, since it parts down the centre back even when I’ve had it washed and loose all day. Anyone got any suggestions to stop that from happening?)

backUp
side

8 responses to “{Hair Colour} – pink and purple

  1. Having the purple next to your face is a flattering color; it seems to play nicely with your skin tone! πŸ™‚ Hair colors are such fun, aren’t they? (My elderly mother almost goes into a faint when I show up with blue or purple hair, though, so I’ve stopped doing it now that I live in the same town and see her daily. lol!)

  2. Wow! What an awesome colour combo! I wish i was brave enough to go a bright colour and also in a job that would be OK with it (local government wouldn’t approve!) I have no idea how to unpart your hair at the back… Straightening it may persuade it not to though?

  3. Good solution for covering the roots!

    • It worked out better than I expected! Think I’ll be trying it again in the future with different colour combinations. πŸ˜‰

  4. It’s kind of like a multi-directional ombre effect, I like it πŸ™‚

  5. I like the effect when your hair is up – pretty! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ I just wish I was better at doing up-dos so I could play around with the colours a bit more…. Must go spend more time on Pinterest spotting good tutorials, haha!

Leave a Reply

