Stars, stars everywhere

So, who else around here is a Pinterest addict? Got heaps of things pinned that you plan to make, one day?

Yeah. Me too. Oops. Maybe if I spent more time making and less time pinning…..? Whateva.

Anyway, one of the things I pinned a while back was this super cute star pincushion tutorial from Sew a Straight Line. I don’t need any more pincushions myself, so I took the opportunity to stitch one up as a giveaway recently. And I liked how it turned out so much, I then went and made a couple more for gifts.

pincushions1

I used shank buttons on one, and two-hole buttons on the other. And I must say, the two-hole ones are a heck of a lot easier to sew on tightly! (Although it’s a bit of a bee-atch getting the thread knotted tidily afterwards – I actually managed to break the head off a needle. Huh.)

I like how these turned out – they were fun to make, and a cute little scrap busting project. And now they’re winging their way to their new homes, where they’ll hopefully be loved (*fingers crossed*). Pinterest find = success!

pincushions2

8 responses to “Stars, stars everywhere

  1. Ohmygoshohmygosh these would be SUCH CUTE Christmas tree decorations too!

    • My mother actually suggested the same thing, and I’m seriously considering making some as decorations. πŸ™‚ How would that be for a multi-taking creation? Pincushion for most of the year, tree decoration for Christmas….

      Hmmmm….. makes me think, how cute would a sewing-themed Christmas tree be? Use ribbon and ric-rac and tape measures instead of tinsel. Pincushions and thimbles and quick-un-picks and embroidery scissors as decorations. May have to try that one year…. πŸ˜‰

  2. Dang it! Another project added to my one day list! Too cute!

    • There’s a pattern for the same star as a cushion as well – also on my one-day list! Too many cute tutorials, not enough hours in the day….

  3. I entered your contest to win of these, and unfortunately didn’t win, but I am sure whoever did is going to love it. You did such a lovely job on your Pinterest find, now if only I could do the same n mine. . . Lol! BTW, even though I didn’t win the pincushion, I found your blog, so I win anyway!

    Merry Christmas,
    Maureen

    • Thanks Maureen, that’s such a lovely comment! πŸ™‚

      You never know, after the Christmas-present-making madness dies down (and I have time to recover, haha!) I may hold another giveaway or two….!

  4. Love the sewing themed Christmas idea! Brilliant!

    I’m not a Pinterest addict although I think I could be. I certainly bookmark and download squillions out images and tutorials. But I won’t use it on principle that you can’t have private boards. Now they’ve added that I might try it out.

    • Oh, I love Pinterest! I used to bookmark everything, and it was always a complete annoyance hunting through folders trying to find the exact thing I was looking for. So much easier now!

Leave a Reply

