Sew Mama Sew giveaway day – Star pincushion

Hi everyone! If you’ve come over here from the Sew Mama Sew blog giveaway day, welcome!

However, I’m sorry to say this giveaway is now closed. Β And the winner is… Deborah!

https://i1.wp.com/www.sewmamasew.com/blog2/miscimages/giveawayday2012.jpg

First, a quick introduction to those who haven’t been here before.

I’m Kat, a 30-something girl, living in Wellington, New Zealand, with my partner and our little baby boy. I love to sew, especially making things from vintage patterns (the 1940’s and 1950’s are my favourite eras) and quirky prints. (Yes, I admit it – I’m guilty of making dresses from craft cottons. I find it impossible to resist those fun prints!) I also dabble with baking, gardening, knitting, and I’m working on improving my photography skills, so you’ll find a little bit of all of those things here as well from time to time.

And now, on to the giveaway!

Which is this rather cute (but then, I may be biased, since I made it) star pincushion.

starOne_top

(I made it using this tutorial from Sew A Straight Line.)

This little cutie is about 12cm across, and I can attest it holds pins well, since I stuck a few in it for the purposes of this post. (Need to give these things a trial run, after all!)

starOne_pins

Want to be in to win it? It’s easy – all you need to do it leave a comment! Just because I’m curious, in your comment, let me know what your current project is. (You don’t even need to be a follower, although if you feel like joining me on my crafty vintage sewing travels, you’re more than welcome. πŸ™‚ (

Want a second chance to win? Follow me and leave a second comment telling me you’re a follower.

I’m happy to send this anywhere in the world. I’ll close the competition at 5pm PST on December 7th and email the winner. (So please make sure I can find an email for you easily!)

(I also have another giveaway up here at the moment until the end of the week, for some sewing patterns, so if you’re interested in those feel free to enter over there as well.)

157 responses to “Sew Mama Sew giveaway day – Star pincushion

  1. I always have more than one project on the go….at the moment I am working on a custom stuffed animal, a pair of felted wool mittens, and a fleece jacket.

  2. My current project is a quilt for a baby boy!

  3. I’m currently finishing my Christmas gift list. Making shopping totes, zip pouches and luggage tags

  4. quilt as you go mug rugs are my current projects! πŸ™‚

    • What fun! Something I’ve been meaning to try actually…. I’m getting all sorts of inspiration from people’s comments here. πŸ™‚

  5. Working on pillow covers for Christmas. Thanks for a fun giveaway!

  6. I’m making doll sleeping bags currently.

  7. Fabric box organizers are on my current list to work on

  8. And have become you’re follower
    πŸ™‚

    Safiyaaj(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. Can anything be cuter? I would love to give your pincushion a good home.

  10. My current project is, oh wait, I can’t say, what if my Aunt reads this? Ok… well my next project is a set of jelly roll floor pillows for my niece, she’s far too young to read this and get a sneak peek! lol πŸ™‚

  11. I’m trying to figure out a block of the month.

  12. Right now I am working on the Just Takes 2 yearlong QAL.

  13. I am currently working on a couple of aprons as Christmas presents for my friends at work. I’ve also got a scarf on my knitting needles right now – just a couple more inches to go. Thanks for the chance to win the cute pincushion.

  14. I’m working on a giraffe-printed nightgown for myself.

  15. I am hand quilting a bed quilt for my boyfriend!

  16. I’m working on a Christmas quilt . . . probably for next year . . .

  17. I’m making placemats for my parents for Christmas!

  18. It is indeed a good star! I am working on writing up some notes for a felt Christmas Stocking I have designed. I’m (secretly) knitting a scarf for my husband for Christmas. I’m trying to knit myself a cabled jumper that I can wear before the winter is over and I’m thinking of starting something new tomorrow!

  19. have a soft spot for pin cushions and this one is so sweet …fingers crossed and thanks xoxoxo

  20. semiorganizedchaos

    i’m making new jammies for my kids! gooberific@yahoo.com

  21. My current projects is finishing up some quilts for Christmas. It’s a great pincushion. Thanks for the giveaway.

  22. This is lovely, thank you for sharing. I love pincushions and have a small collection of them myself, in fact I have made several this year as presents using either cross stitch or EPP. I am just finishing a large cross stitch embroidery of a butterfly and motifs making up a heart shape. It will be turned into a cushion for a present when it is finished.

  23. I am a happy follower too.

  24. Lots of projects on the go! mostly Christmas gifts – aprons and totes!

  25. I’m a new email follower!

  26. I’m making a fairy-coat for my little girl. I’m tired of “I hate brown”, it’s pink time!

  27. I’m sewing doll clothes.

  28. So cute. I am working on a Easy Street Mystery quilt πŸ˜€

  29. I am making items for my very first craft show, and I am in desperate need of a new pin cushion!

    jenna
    callherhappy.com

  30. I’m working on our local quilt shops Block of the Month pattern. This block is due in a few days, and I really need to finish it!

  31. Jesse Tree Ornaments are my current project…see photos on my Etsy shop (Pink Scissors Design). Your pincushion star is so cute!

    Deborah
    pinkscissorsdesign@ gmail. com

  32. Darling pincushion — I’d love it! I’m working on a pillow cover for a holiday swap — thanks!

  33. I’m working on a blackboard fabric play mat for my granddaughter. Thanks for the giveaway!

  34. I love your pincushion – very cute. I hope you are meeting many new quilty friends from around the world.
    Regards from Western Canada,
    Anna

  35. I’m making an advent calander full of doll clothes.

  36. cute pincushion! I’ve been making fabric storage baskets for my kids for christmas. We are coming to NZ at Easter for 4 weeks, we have uk family in Wellington – can’t wait for my first visit!

  37. Yes, I want to win it. It’s really cute. If I don’t win, do you have a tutorial for it? I’m in need of a small pincusion.
    Best wishes from the other end of the world!

  38. I think your pincushion is adorable! I’m currently working on a baby boy quilt.

  39. I’m working on a large crosstitch for my old re-finished desk. Thanks for the giveaway!

  40. Right now I am working on some small wall hangings.

  41. Hmmm, at the moment, I’m finishing one table runner and designing the next one! LOL Thanks for hosting a giveaway!

  42. Hello from Minnesota! I’m working on soft toys and little quilts today. (But really I’m entering giveaways…)

  43. I’m addicted to stars – I love them! And pin cushions too πŸ™‚ Fingers crossed! Oh yah – I’m doing button holes on hanging tea towels.

  44. I am currently working on stealth projects and someone is reading as I type so I can’t tell.

  45. I am a new follower.

  46. I am working on some snowflake ornaments right now. They are turning out nicely.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    ktreve (at) hotmail (dot) com

  47. I’m working on infinity scarves for gifts, am testing t-shirt patterns to find one that really fits, and am trying to make granny square blocks! Thanks for the chance at your pincushion – very cute!

  48. I’m crazily sewing Christmas crafts such as a banner or a bunting! Thanks

  49. I am knitting a little vest for my littlest one and planning a quilt for my middle one.
    Thanks for the chance to win.

  50. Hi ! My current projects are (yes, I know I shouldn’t start too much at the same time) a shawl (Brennu Njall by Helene Magnusson), a cardigan (Mademoiselle arc-en-ciel by de rerum natura) and mittens (veyla mittens by Ysolda) !

  51. hi my current project is to make a bolster pillow

  52. My current project is quilts for Christmas

  53. I am a follower

  54. Welcome! πŸ™‚

  55. I’m working on a tree skirt. Thanks for a great giveaway~!

  56. I won’t tell about my projects because than I will be unable to sleep tonight because the list is long and the time till chistmas is short….

    • I know exactly what you mean! I’m only letting myself think about my current project and the one immediately following it – if I think any further out than that it gets a bit overwhelming with the Christmas deadline. :-/

  57. Pillows for Christmas (can we have Christmas in January so I can have more time?) and a mock up of my block for a bee.

  58. I am finishing a couple of Christmas pillows, working on a cross-stitch picture and a small felted wool project. Thanks for the opportunity on the draw. Merry Christmas to you.
    bonnielarson58(at)gmail(dot)com

  59. my current project is a hexagon quilted project made from old recycled denim scraps from my moms alterations shop. She does a lot of chopping off pants legs to hem them.
    conn-and_vans_mom@yahoo.com

  60. I don’t have any current projects. Unless you count, clean the house and get out the Christa stuff. That’s always a fun project!

  61. ^^^that should say Christmas! Not Christa.

  62. I’m currently working on an I Spy quilt.

  63. I am working on a rag quilt for my nephew and a matching one for his bear!

  64. I’m now following you!

  65. Hello there! My current project is a lap quilt for my mother. Thank you for taking part in this giveaway, this is a lovely and generous prize! Have a very Merry Christmas!

  66. I follow your blog and thank yo for the additional entry!

  67. I’m working on a super mario quilt for my son. πŸ™‚ Thanks for such an awesome giveaway! Happy Holidays to You! πŸ™‚

  68. What a beautiful star! Thanks for the chance to win!

  69. I am working on 2 quilts for my friend’s boys for Christmas.

  70. I’m trying to finish up a Christmas quilt. Key word here is “trying”. And I have a few more Victorian Christmas ornaments to make yet. ” Sew” much to do…”sew” little time left! This pin cushion is very sweet! Thanks for the chance to give it a new home!

  71. I’m a new follower. Would love to visit New Zealand some day! Maybe when we hit the lottery! :0)

  72. I’m currently working on a couple dresses, a couple shirts, and a leotard for friends. Thanks for the chance to win!

  73. Very cute! I love pincushions. I decided to make Bonnie Hunter’s mystery quilt “Easy Street”, so that’s what I’m working on mostly. It will probably take me two years to complete…

  74. This pin cushion is absolutely adorable! I am currently working on a baby quilt!

  75. It is too cute!! I’m currently working on a memory quilt for my best friend.

  76. so cute, I collect pin cushions and this would be a great addition

  77. I’m making hood/scarf combos for my nieces. I hope they like them!

  78. what a cute pincushion!

  79. They sound lovely πŸ™‚

  80. Pingback: Winner winner (chicken dinner) | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  81. Pingback: Stars, stars everywhere | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

