Rock’n’Roll Baby (step one)

The thing with having a baby boy named Drake is, I kind of want to dress him to match his name. A cross between a pirate and a rock’n’roller. And, when he gets older, a bit of 1940’s style thrown into the mix as well. Funnily enough, it’s not that easy to find baby clothes to match any of those styles.

So, I made a pattern for baby trousers, based on a pair we already have for him.

And thus, the first step to being able to dress him in the rock’n’roll style – grey trousers made from an old tshirt.

Check out the raised eyebrow below – he’s practicing his ‘stage look’ already.

Sure, the rest of the outfit doesn’t look all that rock’n’roll, but like I said, this is just step one. Watch this space for more rock’n’roll/piratical baby styles in the future. I have fabric, and I have intentions to use it!

(On a side note, it’s interesting how much pirate-themed fabric I already have in my stash. Jolly Rogers, anyone?)

These little trousers were so fast and easy to whip up – yay for overlockers! I’ll be making him a few more soon, and if I figure out how, I’ll probably even put the pattern up here for anyone who wants it.

12 responses to “Rock’n’Roll Baby (step one)

  1. What a fun name! It’s nice to have a little one with a unique name. And how cool to be able to make tiny little pants in no time flat!

  2. Great name! I’m sure he’ll be the best dressed kid in town! πŸ™‚ One bonus in making kids clothes, besides dressing them sharp, is that it’s easy on the yardage ^_^

  3. He’s going to be the coolest kid on the block!

  4. So awesome πŸ™‚

  5. Aaaw this is going to be so cute to see how you dress him up! If I ever have a little one I want to make a pile of dinosaur-themed onesies (tails included) to dress them in! Is that weird??

    • Dinosaur onesies sound awesome! (Especially with tails – that would be so adorable!)

      Now I’m thinking I may have to make a monkey onesie. And a cat onesie. With tails. And hoodies with ears to match. Hmmm…… Must make the most of this before he gets old enough to protest what he’s dressed in. πŸ˜‰

  6. As a rock and roll dancer and enthusiast, I can’t wait to see the rest of his rock and roll wardrobe! A little greaser outfit? Denim pants with cuffs, white socks, sneakers, white tee and leather jacket? Not a lot of need for Brylcreem though…

    • Oh, that would be so adorable! I’m so dressing him like that at some point – great idea! Maybe I should find a bunch of rock’n’roll styles and work my way through them with making outfits…..

      • missjoiedevivre

        Yes, do that! You could do bowling shirts (love those bold stripes), men’s cardigans and sweaters, letterman jackets. I can’t wait to see it all!

  7. “A cross between a pirate and a rock’n’roller.” YESYESYES! He’s super adorable πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Grow, baby, grow! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

