Reusable toner wipes

A few weeks back, I spotted over on the wonderful Mrs C’s blog something that caught my eye. She’d made some reusable face/toner wipe thingies! (I have no idea what the ‘proper’ name for these is. Anyone want to enlighten me??) Whatever they’re called, they’re to use instead of cotton wool for putting toner/cleanser onto your face.

It’s been bugging me for a while now that I use cotton wool for applying toner. It just seems like such a waste, throwing out those little cotton circles every day! So when I saw Mrs C’s solution, I promptly decided to make some as well. (Thanks, Mrs C!)

I whipped up a little batch of them a couple of weeks ago to test out the theory – they’ve tested quite well, being good to use and washing up nicely for another round of usage, which made me rather happy. So, I’ve just made up another bundle of them.

They’re super easy to make – you just need two squares (or in my case, irregular rectangles, haha!) of cotton, and a square of thin batting.

Sandwich together, with the batting between two layers of cotton. Then sew/overlock/whatever together, and you’re done! Super quick, super easy, and a super way to use up some scraps and be kinder to the environment at the same time.

I used flannelette (brushed cotton) for mine, since they were the scraps closest to hand from my current project (hopefully more on that this weekend, once it’s finished). I couldn’t say how the flannelette compares to standard cotton for these little wipe thingies, but it’s nice and soft on one’s face, so I like it. 🙂

3 responses to “Reusable toner wipes

  1. Yay! I’m stoked that the idea is catching on 🙂

  2. Great! I use reusable wipes for my little guy (and nappies) and since he’s been here it’s been bugging me that my own life has so many disposables! Great idea but how annoying that I just binned all my post c-section granny pants the other day – they would have been perfect to recycle.

  3. these look really handy. I will give it ago. I have knitted face clothes and they work really well (about my knitting level too)

Leave a Reply

