{Outfit Post} A Touch of History




Outfit details:
Skirt – Juli Hunter
Cardigan – Glassons
Jacket – Misery
Top – Glassons
Shoes – Minx
Necklace – vintage, left to me by my great-aunt
Bump – 17.5 weeks

This week’s Wednesday Wardrobe Challenge was ‘A Touch of History’ – wearing the oldest thing in your wardrobe. I pulled out a little box from where it’s been hiding for a few years – a small collection of vintage jewellery that was left to me by my great-aunt. I’ve never worn any of it – largely due to being worried I’d lose it. But you know what? If you don’t use something pretty, what’s the point of having it??

So this outfit came together a) so that it would go with this necklace, and b) so that it would fit over the bump.

I like this necklace. I have no idea of it’s history, which is a shame. Perhaps art deco era? Does anyone who knows better than me care to hazard a guess? The stone beads are individually knotted. One of my colleagues thinks it’s moss agate. (She’s more likely to know than I am. To me, they’re pretty stone beads. Nice and heavy and cool to the touch.)

4 responses to “{Outfit Post} A Touch of History

  1. Wow! I wish I looked that neat at 17.5 weeks. You look great Kat! And that necklace is stunning. I know what you mean about using precious jewellery. I came across some pieces the other day. Not of huge value, more sentimental but I’m going to take a leaf out of your book and do some fixing and wearing of them!

    • Thanks! 🙂 It’s funny, I’d never really thought about actually *wearing* any of the old pieces of jewellery I have before this wardrobe challenge. Now I’m looking at them all in a whole new light, and I think I’ll be wearing a few in the future. Would love to see what pieces you have that you’re going to be wearing! 🙂

  2. It’s a beautiful necklace and its colors go perfectly with that mustard cardigan!

Leave a Reply

