A little meet-up

Last year I stumbled across the wonderful world of Girls Who Sew And Blog. (I think it’s wonderful enough that it deserves capitalisation, don’t you?) I found (and followed) a whole lot of blogs, joined in the Sew Weekly Sewing Circle community, learnt a heck of a lot, got re-inspired with my own sewing, and made a bunch of new friends. It was a bit of a life-changing discovery for me, when I think about it…..

One of the girls I got to be friends with through the Sew Weekly Sewing Circle is the lovely Trish, who blogs over at Quiet Vintage Sewing. Trish is a former Kiwi, now living in Aussie, and loves vintage styles. If you haven’t found her blog yet, you should go and have a look – she makes some gorgeous creations, and every so often treats us to some photos of her house and/or vintage treasures.

I was pretty excited late last year when I got an email from Trish – she was coming over to New Zealand over Christmas, and wondered if I’d like to meet up. Of course I would!! My first ever blogger meet-up, how exciting is that?!?

We caught up one early evening in mid January (yes, I’m a bit late with posting this) over tea, then went for a wander along the Wellington waterfront. It was one of the few real days of summer we’ve had in Wellington this year, with gorgeous blue skies and lovely sunshine, so we made the most of it and indulged in some gelato. Yum!

Completely unintentionally, we both wore pink, and red shoes. (Self-made pink outfits, naturally.) Isn’t Trish’s dress gorgeous? I love the asymmetric neckline and the different directions of the stripes.



Thanks for a lovely evening Trish, it was so lovely to meet you! 🙂

10 responses to “A little meet-up

  1. Love both your outfits. I do hope we get to meet soon, too. I’m hearing we have a few friends in common, typical Wellington! 🙂

    • I encountered another Wellington blogger the other day – we were discussing the idea of a Wellington bloggers meet up. Perhaps we should organise something in a month or so?

  2. Sounds very cool. And in a month or so is also cool as right now my life is not my own, but it will be by then!

  3. Hello! Yay! What a lovely post. It was great to meet you too Kat and I would just like to clarify that I am still a New Zealander, even though I have married one and given birth to two of “the enemy”. I will never forget that perfect walk along the waterfront, talking sewing all the way!! xx

  4. Reblogged this on Quiet Vintage Sewing and commented:
    Just wanted to introduce you to my new friend Kat, who I got to meet when I was in Wellington in January. I do like tall girls and she is nuts about sewing like me, she writes a lovely blog and takes great photos (or her man does) of our town.

  5. How Fabulous! So wish I could come over to Wellington for your meet-up 🙂

  6. Aww. I bet you two had a wonderful time. I think I should have been there, in the middle then you would have looked like giants! 🙂

  7. How tall are u both?

Leave a Reply

