Celebration dress – which should it be?

Hey there friends.

So, I once again am having a ‘what should I make?’ dilemma. What better way to solve it than by asking for your opinion, no?

Next week’s Sew Weekly challenge is to make something to celebrate the New Year. My lovely friend Emily is coming to stay and we’re having a ladies vintage tea party on the 2 January – so it seems to me that I should make a vintage styled dress just for that!

Also, the lovely Trish from the Sew Weekly sewing circle and I are doing our own mini challenge – to make something from one of the vintage Australia Home Journal magazines we have.

So here’s my question – which of the following four dresses do you think I should make for a ladies vintage styled tea party?

Option number 1 – either variation of this dress from June 1946. Peplum? Or crossed at the bodice? I can’t even decide which of the two to make, they’re both so cute!

Option number 2 – the pink/orange dress from December 1962. Aren’t those contrasting fabrics sweet? And the big pocket on the skirt?

Option number 3 – the yellow and black checked dress from January 1958. I like the rounded neck and sleeve band, and the way it’s all one piece. Might look cute in a contrasting colour, perhaps?

Option number 4 – the green dress from December 1952. Cummerbund, exaggerated sweetheart neckline, draped and gathered sleeves – it’s kinda grown up and little girl like all at once, don’t you think?

I love how most of these are from the Christmas or New Year editions of Australia Home Journal. Seems quite appropriate for a Celebration dress to round off the year!

So, which do you think I should make?

10 responses to “Celebration dress – which should it be?

  1. I reeeeeallly want to see option 3! I have that journal and pattern but couldn’t for the life of me figure out the grading I’d have to do to make it fit me and then the instructions went over my head… but I’d LOVE to see it made up, it’s so freaking cute.

  2. Oh, and I think it would be perfect for a tea party and look amazing on you!

  3. I love the green dress on the last pattern! 8059 I think it would look gorgeous on you!

  4. I love the 8059!!!! Yeiiii!!!

  5. margueritedesigns

    I love the ‘pink orange’ dress with the striped bits in it.

  6. OMG 8059 – hands down!

  7. I love the last green one, and the first one – peplum or not – I can’t decide either! I also love the yellow one…..
    The green would be great for the tea party, and is more overtly vintage, so I’d go for that!

  8. Yay Kat! I am so excited about our mini challenge and have been trying to wrap my head around the tiny pattern in my mag today – have to do some major grading up!

    I love the Blue cross over 40’s dress. But I think you would look lovely the Black and Yellow 50’s dress -it’s fun and youthful – very you darl!

    That green one is amazing – but looks tres difficult!

  9. I’m a sucker for a sweetheart necklline! These are all undoubtedly gorgeous but I’m diggin’ the first one, crossed bodice or without and the last one with the cummerbund. Ooo I can’t wait to see the result.
    In the meantime, have a wonderful Christmas, Kat. I’ve so enjoyed following your blog this year. Lots of lovely wishes for happy and healthy 2012! x

  10. they all look so good. I would say the first picture in red, or the last picture in yellow. Good luck, and a very Merry Christmas to you and your man! x x x

Leave a Reply

