Lovely patterns from lovely sewists!

Remember how a while back, some of us girls over at the Sew Weekly Sewing Circle had us a pattern swap? (And the lovely Debi sent me this exciting stash of goodies all the way from Scotland.)

Well, one of the other sewing girls and I decided to have our own mini pattern swap as well, just for the fun of it. Check out what the awesome Crissy sent me, all the way from Texas! Exciting!!

Two patterns, two sewing books, and a cute card. Thank you so much, Crissy! 🙂

She sent me McCall’s 3394 from 1955:

McCall’s 5247 from 1959:

A copy of McCall’s Easy Sewing Book from 1960, full of great advice on selecting and handling fabrics, tailoring, decorative stitching, and lots of other awesome things:

And a copy of Learn to Sew from the 1940’s (so amazing – it’s impossible to find these sorts of books over here!), full of lots of fabulous advice like pressing, adjusting patterns, and so on:

(I love how you can sew along with the Learn to Sew book, using specific Simplicity patterns. I’m very tempted to make it a project, like Gertie’s one, and hunt down every pattern used in this book and make it up. Maybe that’ll be a goal for next year…..)

Thank you so much Crissy! I love it all!!!! 🙂

And that’s not all! A while back, I was lucky enough to win a giveaway that Chicky Chickita was hosting on her blog, for a reproduction vintage Simplicity pattern – Simplicity 3673. I’ve been wanting to try one of the repro Simplicity patterns for a while, but the fabric shops that I can get to easily don’t stock Simplicity. But now, thanks to Chicky Chickita, I can try one out! Yay! This one here, in fact:

Thanks so much, you two lovely fellow sewing girls from around the world. I really appreciate the gifts, and they’re all high on my list of things to make in 2012!

2 responses to “Lovely patterns from lovely sewists!

  1. I’ve been wanting to make the reprint Simplicity 3673 for a while – can’t wait to see what you make with it! And I think that would be awesome if you could hunt down all those old Simplicity patterns from the book, go for it!

  2. Pingback: The Texan Gingham dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

