MPM – The Ivy Star skirt

Yikes, has it really been that long since I’ve done a Mending Pile Monday mission?!? Oh dear. Too many Monday’s out of town for work does not make for a depleted mending pile…..

Anyway, back to it this week! And the candidate for this Monday: a long-ish denim skirt from small NZ designer Ivy. I got this in a clothes swap about a year ago, and it was just the wrong length on me (and the invisible zip was coming loose at the back) so it went into the Mending Pile of Certain Death to languish for quite some time.

But now, it’s time in the light has come! I pulled it out, raised the hem by 19cm, and hand-stitched the base of the invisible zipper. The result? I’m wearing it now, and it’s likely to get high rotation in my wardrobe. ๐Ÿ™‚

This skirt’s kinda interesting – it’s a treated denim, a bit plastic-feeling on the front which gives it a bit of a sheen. There’s a slanted pocket on one side, with three embroidered stars on the edges. Simple details. I like them a lot.

Anyway, here it is, in it’s new, wearable-by-me form.


6 responses to “MPM – The Ivy Star skirt

  1. I really like the stars – cute skirt ๐Ÿ™‚ It must’ve been really long before if you raised the hem 19 centimeters – I think it’s a good length now. Just enough to show the tights!

    • Yeah, it was quite an odd length before – not really ‘long’ but too long for any regular length. (I guess it would have been a proper ‘long’ skirt on someone shorter than me, though!)

  2. Love it – cool skirt and definitely a Kat length now ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. really cute! I have finally worked out how to get wordpress blogs onto my reading blog list! (not very good at computers normally) so you are the first up!!

Leave a Reply

