Invercargill

I’ve been a bit absent from blogging lately, largely due to work. Every so often, I need to travel a bit for work, and this month is one of those times.

I was down in Invercargill for a couple of nights this week for work. I haven’t been to Invercargill for years, and the times I have been there before has been either to visit someone or passing through – I’ve never actually explored the city at all. (Something I’ve been meaning to correct for quite some time now! Steve and I have been trying to work our way around a lot of the towns in New Zealand and explore them all – Invercargill is quite high on our list for the next place to get to.)

Since Invercargill is so far south, twilight lasts quite a long time down there in spring and summer. Which was rather convenient, as it meant that after I’d finished work and had a bite to eat, there was still enough light to go on a rambling walk to see the tuatara at the Southland Museum. Sure, the museum was closed, but the lovely lady at the reception of the motel I was staying at let me know that you can wander around the back of the museum and see the tuatara from there as well. So, I went on a walk! Complete with camera, so I can show you some of what I saw. 🙂

It had just been raining a lot, there were gaps in the clouds for the sunset to come through. The prettiness of it doesn’t come out in photos, but hopefully you can get the idea. Now just imagine a couple of rainbows against grey sky and sunbeams in the background……

Dee Street and Tay Street are two of the main streets in Invercargill, and where they intersect is the corner of the main shopping area.  I started my ramble on Dee St just before the Dee St/Tay St intersection, then I headed up Tay St.

Sculpture at Dee and Tay St Intersection, looking south

Sculpture at Dee and Tay St Intersection, looking south

Corner of Dee and Tay St

Corner of Dee and Tay St

Putting up Christmas decorations on Tay St

Putting up Christmas decorations on Tay St

Building on Tay Street

Building on Tay Street

The Southland Museum is at the entrance to Queens Gardens. I saw Queens Gardens from the airplane when I was flying in – it looked like a very pretty area, so I went to track it down. (And yes, it’s very pretty! Next time hopefully I’ll have more daylight so I can explore it properly.)

Queens Gardens streetlamp at dusk

Queens Gardens streetlamp at dusk

Band rotunda in Queens Gardens at dusk

Band rotunda in Queens Gardens at dusk

At the entrance to Queens Gardens was a map of the gardens, where I spotted something intriguingly called ‘Dreamland Castle’. Curiosity made me go find out what it was. It turned out to be a cute kids play area, complete with turrets to climb, slides to go down, a drawbridge to cross, and a queen sitting in her tower.

Dreamland Castle in Queens Gardens

Dreamland Castle in Queens Gardens

On the way back to Tay St (and where I was staying) was the historic water tower.

Water tower at twilight

Water tower at twilight

And that was my wander around Invercargill in the twilight after a rain storm.

One response to “Invercargill

  1. I love exploring places with no particular agenda, just armed with a camera and an accomplice! I really love the picture of the water tower. Such a dramatic picuture and amazing colours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

