MPM – grey skirt is good-to-go

A very quick and simple Mending Pile Monday task this week. So quick and simple, it felt a little bit like cheating, even.

I hosted a clothes swap party at my place on Saturday, and one of the items up for grabs was a nice grey straight work skirt, which was coming apart at the end of the invisible zip. Clearly, the skirt needed help. So I kept hold of it, and fixed it up.

Here’s a (not particularly good) photo of what it was like beforehand (turns out taking a close-up photo of a section of grey skirt where a seam has started to come apart does not make for an overly exciting photo):

If you look closely, you can just make out the issue. The bottom part of the zipper was coming away from the skirt, and the seam under the zipper was also coming apart.

A few minutes with an invisible zipper foot, a standard zipper foot, and my trusty quick-un-pick (*sigh*), and the skirt was as good as new! See?

And it’s now living a second life, in the wardrobe of my friend Steph. 🙂

2 responses to “MPM – grey skirt is good-to-go

  1. I do admire your Mending Pile Monday’s! I don’t get round to mending nearly as much as I should but I have made a couple of alterations to charity shop clothes recently. Boring picture, or not, It’s a very satisfying thing to breathe new life into a garment and better still to reduce the size of ‘a pile’!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I kinda have to force myself to do one each week, but it is very satisfying getting something back out of the mending pile and into use once again!

Leave a Reply

