Vintage pattern finds

Here’s a few of my recent vintage pattern finds that I haven’t shared with you yet….

McCall 6696
This beauty is from 1941. Sure, it’s two sizes too big for me, but I couldn’t resist buying it! I figure I’ll just adjust it. It’s still in uncut factory folds – I’m even wondering if I’ll ever make it up as I’ll feel a bit guilty unfolding it to trace around it after it’s stayed in it’s pretty folds for so long! I love the draping detail and the yoke on the skirt – so, so pretty.

Butterick 6049
This little pretty looks like it’s from the 1950’s. There’s no date on it though, so I’m just going by the style – if anyone knows when it might be from, can you let me know?

Australian Home Journal 5035
This pretty suit is a skirt and jacket combination. I love the pockets on the jacket, and the way the back seams on the jacket and the skirt match up, with the skirt seams ending in little kick pleats. This would look so pretty and classic made up for work.

Academy 2305
Not that I have any real need for a pattern for a shirt for 12 year old boys, but when I saw this one sitting at one of the local op shops, I just had to pick it up. It’s rare to find patterns older than the 1970’s in op shops here, and I suspect this one is from the 1940’s. At the oldest, it’ll be somewhere in the 1950’s. And it was only 20 cents. How could I say no? I figure I’ll probably want to make a shirt for a boy at some stage in my life, so now I’m prepared for that occasion. 🙂 The poor envelope is a bit battered, so I’ve given it refuge in my collection. Kind of like a “feel good” pattern adoption, in a way. It just couldn’t be left there, getting even more damaged. That would have been the Wrong Thing to Do.

Simplicity 5549
I’m oddly excited to have found this pattern. Like the Academy boy’s shirt, it was in the op shop down the road for 20 cents. Which seems like a heck of a bargain to me! I’ve been thinking about making some long witches-britches for under skirts for quite a while (if you’ve ever tried wearing a full 1950’s style skirt in Wellington’s winds, you’ll know why), and now I don’t even have to draft my own pattern for them. Yippie! I’m going to make up some of these culottes slips and long slips for wearing under skirts and dresses. The idea of this makes me happy. 🙂

So there we have it – some more patterns, added to my collection, loaded onto the Vintage Patterns wiki, recorded on my new patterns private blog, plastic-bagged, and ready to be filed. Bit of a mix this time – from 1941 to 1985, and from boys shirts to women’s lingerie. Which one’s your favourite?

2 responses to “Vintage pattern finds

  1. Just how stylish is the top one?! I have been hugely impressed by your pattern organising antics and I’m rather hoping it will rub off on me. I’ve just started buying some vintage patterns. I love to hold them and look at them at every opportunity and I so dont want to damage them. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks! I’ve been hearing how some of the other sewing blogging ladies organise their patterns, and have been meaning to sort mine out for a while. So glad I finally started, it’s oddly satisfying writing them all down and putting them into protective bags. Almost like organising a personal mini museum collection, haha!

Leave a Reply

