Mending pile Monday – a new zip in a vintage dress

Another Monday, another garment gets rescued from my UFO/alterations/mending pile. This Monday, it was the chance for a vintage dress to make it’s way back into circulation.

I got this dress from my lovely friend Hilaire at a clothes swap party several months back. It looks 1940’s style to me, but I don’t know for sure exactly when it’s from. The label is definitely vintage, though! Poor dress – at some stage past it’s zipper had broken and no one had replaced it. 😦

A bit of time hovering over the heater later (we’ve got an Antartic blast making it’s way up the country this week – brrr!) and the dress has a new zip and a hook and eye at the top of the zip since I didn’t have a zip long enough. Yay!

The fabric is a bit shiny, although not as much as the flash on the camera is making it out to be.

I like this dress – it’s a fraction too tight around the middle, but I’m working on that. 🙂 There are cute buttons and tabs on the sleeves, and there’s a matching belt somewhere in my room that hopefully I’ll unearth one day….

Sadly though, when I sat down in it to write this post, the kick pleat at the back of the skirt ripped all up the seam – argh!!! Guess I’m going to have a longer kick pleat than originally designed for….

Leave a Reply

