Stash busting

Way back when at the start of the year, I made me a New Years Resolution to not purchase any new fabric. Turns out I’m not the only one – there’s a whole Stash Busting challenge going on over at So, Zo….! Sounds pretty perfect to me – after all, I have so much fabric there literally isn’t room for it in the house. (Sad, but true. I have a small storage unit which is half-filled with the overflow of my stash. *sigh*) Clearly, I need to use some of it up. And constantly giving in to the temptation of the sales at Arthur Toyes (the local fabric store I walk past on my way to work in the mornings) isn’t helping reduce that stash any, no siree.

So here we go, to keep myself motivated, I’m jumping on board with the Stash Busting challenge!

I’m a bit late in finding this challenge – Zoe started it all off back in January. But better late than never, right? And I’ve kinda been doing it anyway, what with that no-new-fabric New Years resolution, combined with the weekly challenges over at The Sew Weekly. (Although I must admit that despite the amount that I’ve sewn this year, it hardly feels as though I’ve made a dent in my stash at all! Oh dear…..)

Those of you who read this blog may have noticed that I fell off the fabric band-wagon (so to speak) on the trip over to Beijing. Well, I have decided to allow myself two exceptions to the no-new-fabric rule – if I go overseas and encounter things I could never get here in New Zealand, I’m allowed to buy them (within reasonable quantities – no going overboard with it, though!). And if I find awesome stuff second-hand I’m allowed to buy that as well, since that hardly ever happens and I love the idea of using thrifted fabrics to make up vintage patterns.

So there we have it – onwards with the resolution! No new fabric, no sir, no way, no how!

(And yes, all of the items I’ve made for the Sew Weekly challenges have been from my stash. Just in case you were wondering. :-) )

One response to “Stash busting

  1. It’s good to give yourself leeway, esp. during trips like that! The garment you end up making will be extra special. Good job on working from the stash though :)

Leave a Reply

