Patterns, patterns, everywhere!

Remember how I mentioned that I had a whole stash of vintage patterns I purchased/found recently, and hadn’t gotten around to putting up on here? I figure today is a good day to show you all a few more of them, so I can then move them into my pattern stash shelf. 🙂

I’m being a good girl these days as well, and putting them up on the Vintage Patterns Wiki if they aren’t already up there. After all, we’ve all got to do our bit for the international vintage sewing community, right?!

Weigel's 2106

First up, Weigel’s 2106, year unknown. I’m guessing this is 1950’s. I especially like version B, with the three-quarter-length sleeves and the softly flared skirt. It’s the sort of dress that makes me want to start wearing gloves.

Simplicity 9610

For a change from all the 1950’s style dresses I’ve been collecting, here’s a cute blazer pattern! Simplicity 9610 from 1972. While the double-breasted style isn’t really me, I’m liking the single-breasted version, with it’s softly rounded lower corners. I love the floral version on the pattern envelope – I can imagine this made up in a floral corduroy (which I happen to have somewhere around in my stash, now that I think of it….)

McCall's 3701

And now back to the pretty dresses! Here we have McCall’s 3701, from 1953. I love the insets on the hips just below the waistline, with the gathers around them – it’s an interesting feature, and the reason I purchased this pattern. I’m curious to see what it looks like when it’s made up – I figure it’ll need to be in quite a soft, flowing fabric, so not all that suitable for the quilting cottons I tend to favour for 1950’s style dresses usually!

Simplicity 2910

Simplicity 2910 is quite pretty, with it’s shawl-type neckline. It’s from 1959. I’m not sure which version I like the most – they’re both awesome in different ways!

Simplicity 5445

And the last vintage pattern for today’s post, Simplicity 5445, from 1964. I don’t know quite what it is about some of the Simplicity pattern envelopes from the late 50’s – early 60’s – they somehow manage to make the skirts look very boxy, and I’m pretty sure they won’t look anywhere near that boxy when they’re made up. Hmmm. This is one of those envelopes – the dresses just don’t look that good, and yet I’m sure they’ll be a lot nicer in ‘real life’! Guess I’ll just have to make one up to find out. I’m leaning towards version 1 to start with, with that cute little collar.

So, which one is your favourite?

2 responses to “Patterns, patterns, everywhere!

  1. I’m loving the double breasted jackets actually 😀 I bought a cute short winter jacket last year and can’t wait until I fit it again.
    For simplicity 5445 I also like number 1 with the cute collar (I’ve started choosing my favourite’s before what I read what yours are 🙂 )

  2. Wow Kat! These are great finds too! Awesome!
    Maybe this Simplicity 9610 will be a winter coat perhaps??
    My favorite though, has gotta be Simplicity 2910 the pencilly skirt version! I think it would looks so cute on you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

