The latest (and last!) vintage pattern stash from TradeMe

Ever since I started participating in The Sew Weekly I’ve found myself buying quite a few vintage patterns from TradeMe. And when I say ‘quite a few’, I’m talking often 3-5 a week. Eek! My pattern collection has not only doubled, but then doubled again and probably once more after that already this year. I shudder to think how much I’ve spent on them all – it’s just so hard not to buy a pattern when it’s more-or-less your size and vintage and you may never see it again! But the madness must end, and I made my last (at least for now) vintage pattern purchase off TradeMe while we were in Beijing. No more – the saved search has been deleted, and I’m managing to restrain myself from going online to hunt those patterns down!

So saying, though, I did get quite a few just before we went on holiday, that I haven’t posted here yet, so this won’t be the last vintage pattern post, not at all. 🙂

To start with, here’s the final stash I bought – a bundle of vintage patterns for $60 from one seller.

Simplicity 4996

First up – Simplicity 4996, from 1955. While I’m not too sure about the drop-waist style on me, I may as well give it a go. And the detachable collar on version 1 of the dress is super-cute – I can imagine making a couple of variations of it to mix-and-match with some of my other vintage styled dresses. I love how the two models both have their lips pursed as though they’ve been thinking and are about to say something deep and meaningful – they look like interesting people to have at a dinner party, don’t you think? The ribbon trim on the sleeves in version 1 is ultra-cute as well – probably my favourite detail of this pattern.

Vogue 6538

Vogue 6538 – an “easy-to-make” housecoat. Double-breasted, with a four-piece flared skirt and a fitted bodice with a slightly lower waist-line. Shaped collar and long sleeves which are turned back for three-quarter length, or short versions. Sadly, there are no date markings on this pattern and it’s not on the Vintage Patterns Wiki, so I’m not sure when it’s from. I’m guessing early 1950’s, but I’m not very good at dating patterns (yet). If anyone has any ideas, I’d love to hear when it’s from! I love how the model for version A has her foot daintily on a little footstool while she’s reading the paper.

McCall 804

One of the most unexpectedly cute patterns in this stash is McCall 804 – beaded or embroidered bolero jackets. I suspect this may be the first bolero pattern I ever bother to make up – usually I’m not a huge fan of them, but this one is rather darling. And as an added bonus – the transfer is still enclosed with the pattern! Yay! I can’t believe how old this pattern is, either – it’s from 1940! It looks like one of the newest ones in the stash, and yet it’s probably the oldest – how cool is that?!? A total score in this stash – it was labelled in the auction as being patterns from the 50’s, and I think it if had mentioned that there were some from the 1940’s it would have been sold for a lot more (I recently saw a 1940’s dress pattern sell on TradeMe for $119, eek!) Version B of this jacket may end up in my wardrobe quite soon, just as soon as it fits into a Sew Weekly challenge….

Butterick 2846

Butterick 2846 is another one that doesn’t appear on the Vintage Patterns Wiki, and sadly it’s yet another one that has no date markings on it. (Once again, if anyone can help me figure out when this was printed, I’d love to know!) The style looks 1940’s to me, but I can’t be sure…. It’s for a “Junior Miss and Misses’ Dress with a Novel Neckline. The dress that can taken you from daytime into informal evening. Graceful, boat-type neckline, and a feminine bow perched atop each shoulder. The built-up four-gored skirt gives the effect of a high waistline. Narrow belt across the back.” Isn’t that such a lovely description, including words like novel, graceful and feminine? Sadly I’m not 100% certain that all the pattern pieces are included – I haven’t checked it fully yet, but it seems to be just a little bit too light….. Fingers crossed they’re all there!

Butterick 3389

Butterick 3398 is another one without any date markings – once again, the details look 1940’s to me, but if anyone has a good idea, I’d love to know! There are no details on it on the Vintage Patterns Wiki, so I’m planning on going and updating it a bit later this weekend. It would be nice to put a date or a general era on it if anyone can shed any light on that. 🙂 The description is for a “Misses’ dance dress: dirndl skirt. Destined for dancing, the lovely cap-sleeved, dirndl-skirted dress planned with a delightful romantic air. The smoothly fitted basque bodice has a low V neckline and a diamond shaped inset. Bodice and skirt and shown in contrast, view B.” In theory this is a ‘quick and easy’ pattern, but it doesn’t look quite that fast to make up! I’ll give it a go and see how it goes, though – I think this would be a darling everyday dress with a shortened skirt, don’t you?

Vogue 7449

Another one that doesn’t feature on the Vintage Patterns Wiki is Vogue 7449 – an “Easy-to-Make” pattern for a bed jacket. This one actually has a date marking though – it’s from 1951. I’m not sure I’ll ever make this one up, but it’s a cute addition to my vintage patterns collection anyway. 🙂

McCall 7522

Another gorgeous pattern from the 1940’s is McCall 7522, from 1948. (Once again, I can’t believe my luck at getting a bunch of 1940’s patterns! These are nearly impossible to find over here in New Zealand, it seems! I was so excited when I got them in the mail and they were all about a decade older than I was expecting – yippie!) This is an elegant skirt pattern with two variations, I’m planning on making up the variation with the soft pleats on the front. I think it would look lovely in a soft charcoal grey wool, don’t you?

Vogue S-4672

And here’s yet another one that doesn’t feature on the Vintage Patterns Wiki – Vogue S-4672. (I think this is the first time I’ve encountered a Vogue pattern with an ‘S-‘ on the front of the pattern number – does anyone know anything about this at all?) Once again, there are no date markings, but it’s definitely looking 1940’s to me, with the slim lines, the tailoring details, and the inclusion of shoulder pads into the pattern. The fastenings for this one are interesting – it overlaps at the back and buttons from the right shoulder to the waistline at the back (which looks like it would be a bit hard to do up by yourself, really?!). The opening is then “continued in the depth of pleat”. I’m thinking I’ll need to make a slip for under this dress for wearing in Wellington, or that skirt is going to go flying open in the wind anytime I go outside! This dress is a rather unusual style, and I’m really curious about how it will look once it’s been made up.

Vogue 6082

Vogue 6082 once again has no date markings. (Why oh why didn’t they put date markings on patterns?!?) It’s for another “easy-to-make” dress, with the following description: “Four-piece flared bias skirt joins shaped lower edge of bodice below regulation waist-line. Low shaped neck-line. Dropped shoulder armholes.” Late 1940’s, early 1950’s, perhaps? Does anyone know? I really like the neckline and the bottom of the bodice details in this pattern, and how they carry that soft ‘v’ shape down through the dress.

Simplicity 3384

Simplicity 3384 is also missing date markings. (Surprise, surprise.) It’s a cute pattern, and I wish I had it back when we were doing the vintage apron challenge for the Sew Weekly! The pattern is for both a pinafore and an apron. The pinafore buttons down the centre back of the bodice and the skirt, while the apron ties at the waist instead. There’s a cute pattern included for the bow applique as well – I love those little details!

Vogue 7263

Much to my delight, Vogue 7263 actually has a date on the pattern! Yay! This one is from 1950. There are a few variations for this dress – you can make it with pockets in the side seams, or without. There can be a collarless built-up neckline or the front turned back in a narrow collar. Sleeves can be long, pushed up for three-quarter length, or short. There’s a pattern for a separate scarf included which can “be worn in various ways” – it looks like you put button holes in the neckline in a couple of the variations so you can thread the scarf through and tie it outside the dress, which is an interesting look.

McCall's 9872

Sadly, the last pattern in the stash, McCalls 9872, is missing all it’s pieces. There are about 4-5 pieces that have been cut from another type of paper and hand labelled, but the rest are all missing, which is a real shame. 😦 It’s for a dress for “the mother of the bride or groom”, and would have been lovely to make up, with that stunning bodice detail. It’s sad to think of a pattern being lost like this, especially one from 1953. 😦 Oh well, maybe I’ll encounter another copy of it somewhere else sometime! That would be rather nice. 🙂

So, there we have it – a rather fantastic stash of patterns I bought in a bulk lot from TradeMe. Now for the hard part – seeing which one to start with?!? What do you think – which should I make up first?

6 responses to “The latest (and last!) vintage pattern stash from TradeMe

  1. oooohhh McCall 804…droool… you know I love those 1940 patterns! That vogue special design is AMAZING!!!

  2. I Love Butterick 3389… now how do I get one???

  3. Personally I like Vogue 6538 , however since you don’t make boleros, maybe you should start with it!

  4. Hey! These are sooo awesome Kat! Great score! I love Simplicity 4996! Wow! Looks so pretty!

    I agree with Nat, the bolero looks super cute and would be such a fab addition to your wardrobe! But I also love Butterick 2846 and think it would look super cute on you!!
    hugs from Lisa

  5. I am SO in pattern envy Kat, how fabulous, what finds!
    Regarding dates, I asked about this on sewweekly, and Debi is a bit of an expert. She says she dates patterns by looking on the oarrten wiki website and finding other patterns by the same manufacturers that start with the same numbers, then she thinks they should be about the same time, if that makes sense.
    Btw I am so drooling over your 40s dress that buttons up at the back, that is amazing, well worth the monor irritation of having to go to work with your coat on because you need someone else to do the buttons up ;0)

  6. Pingback: The Bookclub Bolero | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

