Pay it Forward 2011 craft challenge

While randomly cruising Facebook today, I spotted a rather awesome status update from my lovely friend Karen. I’m not sure if she came up with the idea herself, but it was about a Pay it Forward 2011 craft challenge. The first 5 people to comment on her status, and commit to participating in the Pay it Forward challenge, would each get something handmade by her during the year. In return, they would each commit to making the Pay it Forward challenge their status update and making something handmade for the first five people to comment on their status.

Neat idea, right?! Never one to resist a challenge (especially a crafty-related one!) I decided to take part. (Surprise, surprise!)

I’m not sure what the coolest part about this is for me – is it the idea of getting a random handmade crafty goodness thing from Karen sometime spontaneously during the year? Or the fun of making and sending out five little gifts of my own for friends? Or the happiness of knowing that coz of my taking part, a whole bunch of other people will be doing the same and lots of crafty items of happiness will be making their way around the place? (I’m totally digging the idea of this challenge spreading and growing, like a crafty happy chain letter but without all the negative stuff that chain letters have with them. An awesome group of crafty individuals joining forces to make little bits of crafty happiness during the year. The whole thing brings a big smile to my face. So, thanks Karen, for getting me involved! You rock!)

πŸ™‚

Wanna take part? If you’re on Facebook (or if you blog), just post something like the following, and sign yourself up!

Pay it Forward 2011: I promise to send something handmade to the first 5 people who leave a comment. They must in turn post this & send something they made to the first 5 people who comment on their status. It must be handmade by you & must be sent sometime in 2011. A great way to start 2011!

(Also, if you wanna take part, I’m also gonna make a little crafty creative something for the first couple of people who comment on here. Just because I like making things. πŸ™‚

6 responses to “Pay it Forward 2011 craft challenge

  1. Sounds great! I think I shall post on my blog when I have some time^^
    I need some inspiration right now xoxox

  2. This is the best idea ever πŸ™‚ my email address is rubyandlo@gmail.com

  3. Such a lovely idea, I’m new to blogging so I think I’ll pop it on my facebook for a better response. Spreading craftyness around the world, sounds like a plan! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Kat – this is a great idea – I will put a link on my blog, and get thinking about crafty things I can make!

  5. Pingback: Ladybird Purse | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  6. Pingback: A cat for Cat | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

