Crafty moments

So, after hearing what my colleague Gill has for her New Year’s Resolutions this year, I decided to add one to mine. I have a terrible (absolutely terrible) habit of forgetting people’s birthdays and important dates. Clearly, I am a very bad friend. šŸ˜¦ So, this year, I’m going to make a point of remembering them! (With the help of Facebook, so those of you who don’t have your birthday in Facebook are getting forgotten, I’m afraid to say.) And not only will I be remembering people, I’m also going to try to make little gifts for lots of people. Which makes for both a crafty challenge and a memory challenge, all in one!

Deciding to start this off on the right foot, the first craft-birthday-gift recipient for the year is the lovely Olivia. Sadly I forgot to take a photo of what I made for her, but here’s the tutorial I used: http://modernquiltlove.wordpress.com/2009/07/14/perfect-box-pouch-tutorial/

I made this little box purse up with a dark blue lining (thermal curtain fabric, in fact, to give it some stiffness, since I didn’t have any interfacing lying around but I did have curtain fabric. Go figure.) and with the outside in a green-and-lavender cotton covered with a cute cupcake print, and a lavender zipper to match. Looks very cute, in my opinion. šŸ™‚ (Note to self: remember to take photos of future creations.)

Leave a Reply

