Ugly Duckling houses

I’m feeling somewhat grown-up (well, it’s actually more that I feel like playing grown-ups than actually feeling like I *am* grown up). Which means that I am doing the grown-up type thing of house hunting. Yay!! Very very exciting. πŸ™‚ It’s kinda like the grown-up version of playing with dolls houses, I reckon. And heaps of fun! πŸ™‚

I’ve been looking around for the past month now. Seen some lovely places, seen some not-so-lovely places. I’ve discovered that I tend to always gravitate towards places built in the early 1900’s (or even earlier, in the case of the utterly gorgeous 150-year-old orange-with-purple-trim little farm cottage that I put my very first offer in on. And sadly missed out on. 😦 But that’s ok, coz I am of the opinion that there is always going to be something better around the corner if you miss out on a house. And besides, the kitchen was really just far too tiny. So.).

Spotted a house online last weekend, and went to have a look at it on Monday. Liked it enough, my lovely friend Teresa has helped me out by checking out the title for me (not only a lovely person, but a lovely person who knows stuff about property law, which is rather awesome at times like this). Went back and had a second look around it today. Have decided that I’m gonna get a builders report done, have a chat to a solicitor, and put an offer in when the tender comes up in early June. Fingers crossed I get it, coz I rather likes it!!

It’s very much an ugly-duckling cottage, though. Two bedrooms, built pre-1914. Looks like it hasn’t been touched since the 1960’s or 70’s. The kitchen has retro green-yellow-and-orange floral wallpaper, and fake wood veneer on the cupboard doors. Hideous combination. (Although I’m planning on keeping the wallpaper, coz I rather like it. Typical.) The bathroom is particularly stunning in it’s retro styles – blue bath, blue sink, blue-green-white floral wallpaper, and even a blue toilet! (Yep, also gonna keep most of that the same.)

The outside, though, is rather hideous. Looks like a faded blue-grey box in need of a paint job. In memory of the cottage I missed out on, if I get this place, I am seriously considering painting the outside a sunny yellow-orange, with plum coloured trim. And putting window boxes on the front windows. Yay!!

(Needless to say, it seems that ugly-duckling houses capture my imagination rather well. Figure. This probably says quite a lot about my personality, and why I never seem to have any free time….)

Anyways, stay tuned to see the outcome….!

Leave a Reply

