Apples and turtles for Dolly

Getting in right at the last minute for Sew Dolly Clackett, I made a dress this weekend!

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Now, I had big plans for the Dolly Clackett sew-along. I love dresses, and I love quirky prints, and cottons. (And I love Roisin’s style.) So this sew-along? Pretty much perfect, really.

Fabric was chosen, as was the pattern (to start with, making two Cambie dresses). And then, it happened.

The lack of sew-jo.

For a month.

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

And not only that, exhaustion set in as well. I was just too darn tired to do anything except fall into bed at a crazy early hour every night.

My sewing machine was gathering dust. The fabric was sitting in it’s pile, untouched and ignored.

What happened?!?!

Well….

this.

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Yep, that’s a 13-week baby bump, folks. :-)

(Which also means there was no way I was gonna be able to squeeze into any Cambie dresses anytime soon. Or anything else with a fitted waist, for that matter.)

And then it was Easter. A 4-day weekend. And the end of the first trimester. The exhaustion lifted slightly, I was rapidly running out of things to wear. Gloriously, the sew-jo returned!

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I dug out Butterick 4513, a re-released 1950′s pattern that I’ve made once before, way back in 2010. It’s a crazy-easy pattern to make, with a total of four pieces – front and back skirt, front and back bodice. Four darts, some elastic at the back, and you’re done. Voila!

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

It’s super-easy to wear, as well. A pull-on style, with elastic at the back so it looks fitted around the waist but that fitted-ness can stretch as required as a baby bump grows. Then spring back into shape for post-baby wear! Win!

Now, I was going to show you a photo of the first time I made this pattern, way back when. I know I did a blog post about it. But can I find it, anywhere?!?! No, I can’t. Argh! Instead, I’ve trawled through the archives and dug out a rather terrible image from Me-Made-June 2011. Here ’tis:

(What you can’t see here is that the top and armholes of the bodice are edged in red bias binding, which extends to tie in bows at the shoulders, just like on the pattern envelope. You’ll just have to imagine that part, I’m afraid.)

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I decided to make a couple of changes this time around. Firstly, I moved the darts, as they were in the wrong place for me. I moved the side bust darts down a couple of centimetres, and moved the bust darts across as well as lowering the point by a good inch. (Can’t remember the exact amounts – I wrote ‘em down, but the paper has gone walk-abouts.) I also shortened the bodice by 2cm as I found the waist of the first dress I made from this pattern was a bit too low. (In hindsight, 1.6cm would have been about perfect for shortening. Next time.) And I shortened the skirt by about 16cm or thereabouts.

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

The other change I made was to the shoulder straps. While I like the bias binding finish and the little bows of the pattern, I’m planning to wear this quite a bit over winter with a long-sleeved merino top and tights underneath, and little bows on the shoulder look kinda bulky under cardigans. (Plus, I’m trying to channel Roisin’s style a bit here, and she goes for wider shoulder straps.) So instead, I just made some wide, flat straps and attached them at front and back.

(I reckon the result looks a little bit like this dress of Roisin’s. Only with little wee turtles and fruit on it, instead of floral.)

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

I’m pretty happy with how this came out. It’s super comfy to wear, is gonna work for the next month or two of pregnancy, and will be all good to wear after the baby arrives as well. (In fact, I’ve been wearing it quite a bit the last few days. I’m seriously thinking about making another one with the same adjustments. And pockets, which I forgot to add to this one. And we all know pockets make things awesome-er.)

As to how it’s channeling Roisin’s style? Well, here’s what I was using for inspiration/ideas:

  • It’s a vivid colour (she is rather fond of blue)
  • It’s a cotton in a quirky print (little turtles! Apples and pears!!) (even though it’s a smaller print than she goes for usually)
  • It’s a 1950′s inspired style, with a fitted waist (plus elastic, woo hoo!)
  • It’s got a reasonably high square neckline and wide straps, like the Flora dress she’s been making a lot lately
  • Plus, it works well with brightly coloured shoes and a cardigan. And we all know Roisin’s about the shoes and cardigans. ;-)

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

So there we have it – Sew Dolly Clackett, maternity style! (And our front door is even blue, so I could attempt to mimic’s Roisin’s photo shoot style. Hah.)

Dolly Turtles dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

43 responses to “Apples and turtles for Dolly

  1. aaww congratulations! lovely dress. it is just like the flora bodice!

  2. Congratulations!!!! And the dress looks great.

  3. Love this dress, Kat!! Congrats on getting your sewjo back, and the 13-week-old bump. We needed a maternity Dolly Clackett in the mix. Cute cardi and shoes!
    Best Wishes!!!
    Shelley

  4. Congratulations! I love the dress – anything with turtles on immediately wins my heart!

  5. Congrats on the baby bump!! So Exciting! The dress is beautiful as well. :-)

  6. Gorgeous dress, Kat, and well done finishing in time!!! Congrats on the baby bump too!! :)

  7. OMGGGGG. Congratulations, my lovely friend – I am so happy for you!!!! Also, the dress is FABULOUS :)

  8. Congrats on the new little one! And the dress is lovely. It looks super-comfortable, too.

  9. Congratulations on the bump and the lovely dress xx

  10. Lovely dress (goes nicely with your hair!). Congrats on the little one!

    • Hey, I figure anyone can match shoes and handbag, right? I’m all about taking coordination to the next level. ;-)

  11. Congratulations Kat! Very nice news. Cute dress and shoes too. Winter maternity sewing must be a bit tricky. I guess layering is the way to go?

  12. Your dress is super cute! As is your bump :)

  13. Love it love it love it! And I want to steal your shoes

  14. Eek! Congratulations!!!!! You look so cute!

  15. congratulations!!! how exciting to be adding to your family! I love your entry for the challenge- the bodice is just like the flora and the print is so fun, as are your shoes!!

  16. Congratulations!!!
    This is a lovely dress, and I’m glad you’re going to be able to wear it with and without bump.
    Also. Hot dang, you’ve got great legs!

  17. Congratulations!!! I love this dress,it’s really beautiful! Love the print and the shoes are the perfect touch:)

  18. CONGRATULATIONS Kat and family!!! That is awesome news! P.S. I love the dress and you look so beautiful in these photos!!! xo from Lisa

  19. Pingback: If cats looked like frogs we’d realize what nasty, cruel little bastards they are. Style. That’s what people remember. | rubydust

  20. kiwimagpieness

    Oooh, congratulations. So know what the lack of sew-jo feels like in that first trimester!! Look forward to seeing your maternity makes :) Cute dress too

  21. Pingback: Turtles and apples and squiggly circles | The Monthly Stitch

  22. cute dress, cute bump, awesome shoes!

  23. Congratulations. You look fab. I really like the shoes.

  24. Pingback: Me-Made-May ’14 – the first lot of outfits | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  25. Pingback: Me Made May ’14, the second week | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  26. Pingback: A winters Dream about Midsummer | the curious kiwi

Leave a Reply

