Mellow Yellow La Sylphide

This one’s been hanging around a while, waiting to be posted. I was actually about to post it when my laptop died (argh!!!!). And now, finally, here it is – my half of the twinsies La Sylphide dress photo shoot that Mel and I did together. :-)

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

We had so much fun taking photos together of our Ensis tees last year, that we’ve decided to make it a regular thing – pick a pattern, sew it up at the same time, then get photos of it together. (And can I just say, taking photos with another sewing blogger is So Much Fun!!!!)

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

We’d both made up Papercut’s La Sylphide pattern once before, and loved the result, so decided we’d make another one, kinda to sew along with the sewalong that Lauren ran over on the Papercut blog. (Not that either of us are particularly good at going at the same speed as sewalongs. Oops!)

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

If you’re unfamiliar with the La Sylphide, it a cute little button-up dress, with a full skirt, sleeves, and a necktie. Surprisingly fun to make, with details such as using interfacing to create tidy hems on the sleeves, and attaching the sleeves in the flat (brilliant!).

Papercut La Sylphide dress

Since I’d made it before, I decided to make a couple of adjustments this time around to change the pattern up slightly and not have two identical-but-in-different-fabrics dresses hanging in my wardrobe.

This time around, I did the following:

  • Lengthened the neck ties by 12cm at either end (I found them just a bit too short last time)
  • Lengthened the skirt by 15cm (be warned if you make this – the default length is very short!!)
  • Took a lot of the fullness out of the skirt (for two reasons – I live in a very windy place, and I was using a vintage fabric of a narrow width and there was no way I was gonna get the full skirt out of it)
  • Shortened the sleeves by 15.5cm
  • Cut the back skirt on the fold, rather than with a centre-back seam. (I did this last time as well.)
Folding out volume in the skirt

Folding out volume in the skirt

My verdict on the changes? All a success! Only thing I’d do differently with them next time is how I cut the sleeves and make sure I mirror-image the slope of the last inch of them so the hem is the same width as the sleeves when folded under. I had a heck of a time easing in the hem since it was shorter than the point of the sleeve I was easing it into! Oops – didn’t think that one through when shortening them!

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Next time I make this there are two other changes I’d make. One is a change I planned to make this time – widen the shoulders by 1cm, as I have quite broad shoulders and the seams sit a bit too far in on me (as they do with pretty much everything). I remembered to widen while cutting out the back bodice, and completely forgot the front bodice adjustment. Duh. Next time, yeah? Other change I’d make is lowering the bust dart points by about an inch, which I’ve discovered is something I pretty much need to do by default for every pattern I make. (Heck knows why?) Oh, and I’ll add in-seam side pockets to the skirt. Because, you know, dresses with pockets are rather fantastic.

Just like last time, I cut a size S, grading out to a size M at the waist. Only it turns out that I’ve lost a bit of weight since then (baby fat vanishing – woo hoo!) and I had to take it in, so next time I’ll cut out a size XS bust, grading out to a size S at the waist.

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

For the photos, we went exploring and headed up to the top of Miramar Peninsula, to a water tower I’d spotted while flying into Wellington a couple of weeks beforehand. (Good way to find photo locations, no?) I’d never been there before – great views all over the city, and the contrast of a water tower with lots of graffiti – which I’m always a bit fond of for backgrounds to photos. ;-)

Twinsies of Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Twinsies of Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Twinsies of Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Twinsies of Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

So much fun doing twinsie makes/photos again! And this time my sister Jen joined us, with a skirt she’d made from a self-drafted pattern. (With teapots!!)

So much fun in fact, we’ve got another twinsie creation planned very soon….

Mellow Yellow Papercut La Sylphide | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

27 responses to “Mellow Yellow La Sylphide

  1. You’ve almost Converted me to this pattern. I didn’t love it before (possibly to do with the Super short skirt) but your version is lovely! And twinsies photo shoots look so fun!

    • It really is a cute pattern – and very easily lengthened. :-) I kinda have another one planned sometime soon, actually……

  2. Taking the fullness out of the skirt has given it quite a different look – it really suits you. I love your photo shoots – that graffiti is perfect. I’ve also discovered that I have to lower the bust placement on all my makes and I thought it was just age and 3 kids later, but maybe it’s just that we are all made differently.

    • Thanks! :-) Taking out some of the fullness also means it’s not quite as, um, interesting to wear on windy Wellington days, haha!

      Good to know I’m not alone in having to move the bust dart placement! Was wondering if it was due to having tiny boobs…..

  3. Fun!! I agree, that’s a great look on you. And seeing an example with a longer hem length is encouraging. :)

    • Thanks! :-) I much prefer it with a longer hem. I’m thinking about making a much longer one as well, below-knee length, and see how that goes.

  4. I like your new version better! Your changes make sens. Great dress!

  5. This is really cute! I love the color!

  6. Your dress turned out beautifully! I love the yellow color, and it pairs perfectly with all of your blue accessories :) Photo shoots with other sewing bloggers is the BEST! Well done, both of you!

    • Thanks lady! :-)

      Yeah, it just makes it so much more fun, eh?! And less embarrassing in public, haha! ;-) You got any more knitting-with-others planned? I loved how you guys did that, so cute. :-)

  7. I love all the twinsie shots! They really made me smile with happiness!

  8. Twinsie photoshoot – what a great idea! Both your dresses came out beautifully!

  9. This colour is perfect on you – and I love it with the touch of aqua accents. What a good reason to have to make more clothes – a reduced baby waist! You and Mel look like you are having so much fun.

  10. I love the idea of taking blog pictures with another blogger! It must make it so much more enjoyable. I need to find a photo buddy!
    I love the changes you made to this pattern, it really suits you!

    • Thanks! :-) I’m finding it rather amazing just how versatile a pattern can be if you just make small changes to it each time.

  11. I really love this on you!!! The colour is amazing – so so pretty, and you’re looking fantastic! :) Love the way you reduced the fullness of the skirt too, great tip, and I like your method – I’m always discovering too late, that I wish I’d done that with my dresses and skirts, as every time I wear anything fuller than an A-line I feel like I’m playing dress-up in doll clothes LOL.

    • Aww thank you! :-) I never used to think I could wear yellow at all, until a couple of years ago when I got jealous of all the gorgeous mustard yellow cardigans I was seeing everywhere. So I just gave in and got one, and now? Mustard yellow, you are my friend! ;-)

  12. Very cool dress, the colour is fabulous! And the photo shoot is brilliant, love that graffiti.

  13. Pingback: Ladybird Ballet | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  14. Pingback: Shades of Me: Winners and Wrapping Up - welcometothemousehouse.com

  15. Pingback: Meet the Editors – Kat! | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

