Show Us Your Stash – Ginger!

Guess what folks? We have another lovely sewing blogger, happy to let us indulge in a bit of nosiness by showing off their stash! Yay! I’d like you to give a warm welcome to….

Ginger of Ginger Makes!

If you’re not familiar with Ginger, you should go and check out her blog. She makes the cutest things, including what is probably my favourite ever version of the Anise jacket (seriously, check out that gorgeous lining!) She also has a pug dog, which just makes everything cuter, really. ;-)

Alright then Ginger, are you ready? Here’s some questions for you!

How long have you been sewing and stashing? How big is your stash?

I’ve been sewing just under two years and began stashing shortly thereafter. It’s not crazy huge, but it’s too big for my NYC apartment.

Shirt/top fabrics

Shirt/top fabrics

Where do you keep your stash? How do you store it?

I keep my fabric rolled up neatly and stacked inside three dresser drawers. One drawer is designated for top weights, one for dress weights, and one for bottom weights.

Dress-weight fabrics

Dress-weight fabrics

What is the oldest piece in your stash? What was your original plan for this piece and why hasn’t it happened?

This is a silly answer, but it’s a bunch of corduroy that I bought intending to make neckties for my brothers and coworkers. I didn’t realize that it would be really hard to press sharp points in corduroy, and that they would be super bulky. I thought the boys would look so hip, but I’m sure they wouldn’t have worn them (not even to humor me!). The pieces are too small for a skirt, so I should probably get rid of them.

Corduroy intended for a bunch of ULTRA-COOL skinny ties

Corduroy intended for a bunch of ULTRA-COOL skinny ties

What’s your favourite piece in your stash? Where did you get it, what do you love about it, what do you think you might do with it?

My favorite, without a doubt, is an ikat from B&J Fabrics. I just love it! The colors and the weave are so cool, even if ikat is a trend that’s probably already over. I bought it last May and spent more cash on it than on anything else in my stash, so I struggled with deciding on a perfect pattern! I’m 95% certain that it’s going to become a Robe Belladone this spring.

Ikat from B&J Fabrics

Ikat from B&J Fabrics

Does the fabric you buy go straight into hiding or do you wash it first?

I wash it first so I can dive in right away and start cutting when I have the time and urge to start a new project!

Fabric for skirts/shorts/trousers

Fabric for skirts/shorts/trousers

How do you add to your stash? Do you buy with a purpose in mind, or is it fabric lust?

I try to buy fabric with a specific purpose in mind (i.e., I need a dress to wear to a wedding in March), but like any fabricaholic, I get seduced by gorgeous fabric and occasionally HAVE to buy a piece that I don’t have a plan for. :)

Do you have something in your stash that you cannot bear to cut into? Why?

Oh, gosh, I have this gorgeous Liberty lawn that I bought in July 2011 at the London store. I must have spent an hour in the store agonizing over which print to choose! It’s so soft, luxe, and pretty that I haven’t been able to work up the guts to use it! Honestly, I’m glad that I didn’t cut it up right away since my sewing skills definitely weren’t up to par and I almost certainly would’ve ruined it.

Liberty lawn… yummy!

Liberty lawn… yummy!

Do you just stash fabric, or does the problem include patterns and notions?

I’ve accumulated a fair amount of patterns, probably about the same number as I have stashed fabrics. I pick up matching thread and zippers when I buy fabric, so those hang around in my collection until I get around to making something.

Hey, I never said that EVERYTHING fit into the drawers! Ugh, I’m buried under bags of scraps and odds & ends!

Hey, I never said that EVERYTHING fit into the drawers! Ugh, I’m
buried under bags of scraps and odds & ends!

Have you decided to do a “stash-busting” resolution this year? If so, what have you decided to do?

I’m participating in Cindy’s Stashbusting Sewalong and I pledged to use six pieces of stash fabric. That’s a pretty easy goal, so I’m hoping to surpass it and make a big dent in my stash this year. Aside from my monthly Mood Sewing Network fabric allowance, I’m avoiding fabric shopping so I won’t be tempted to buy stuff! I’ve gone through my stash ruthlessly and only kept fabric that I love, so I want to see some of those pieces come to life! I also really want to find a way to use, recycle, or thrift scraps– they pile up so quickly and I don’t know what to do with them!

Thank you so much for letting us peek in your stash, Ginger! Can’t wait to see what you do with some of those pretty, pretty fabrics, including that ikat (which will never go out of style, as far as I’m concerned!) and that grey fabric with birds you’ve got stashed away in your tops drawer!

Want to sneak a look at some other people’s stashes? Here’s a few you can check out if you haven’t seen them already:

Want to see even more? Stay tuned – Anne and I have a few more stash reveal interviews lined up during February as part of Swap Your Stash month!

Speaking of which – we’re into the last half of February now, so if you’re wanting to swap some of your stash goodness for other things that you’re more likely to use, best hop to it soon! There’s still plenty to be swapped, you can read all about it over here.

17 responses to “Show Us Your Stash – Ginger!

  1. Loving this series! Sonja’s stash is so tidy!

  2. This series has been fun to follow! I’d like to do a post about my stash, I’m always looking for things to break up the wedding dress talk right now. Would you mind if I used your questions?

    Also, I do still need your mailing address so I can get that fabric out to you!

  3. Whay, I love that ikat! Everyone has such neat stashes!! :0

  4. Thanks for having me! It was so fun to dig through my stash!

  5. I love it… I always feel bette knowing I am not alone ;-) I promised myself not to buy more fabrics – it is difficult, especially with upcoming a fabric markt in three weeks…

    • I wonder how many fabric stores would go out of business if sewists had more will power when it came to acquiring fabric…. Hmmmm….. Perhaps we just need to think about how our fabric purchases help power the economy?!? ;-)

  6. Ohhh lovely stash

  7. Pingback: Show us your Stash…. Lizzy! | Mercury - Handmade Fashion

  8. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Diane! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

  9. Pingback: Show Us Your Stash – Mrs C! | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

