Teddy bears picnic (…only with bloggers instead of teddy bears)

Today was the day of the bloggers picnic. The sun was shining, the weather was clear, only a small breeze ruffled the air. (As opposed to the Wellington weather over the last few days, which involved hail, driving rain, wind, cold Southerlies, and a small earthquake or two. Clearly, the god of weather-and-sewing was smiling on us today.)

Seven Wellington (and Paraparaumu and Palmerston North) sewing bloggers gathered around the fountain in the rose gardens at Wellington Botanic Gardens, grabbed a drink at the nearby cafe, then wandered into the Dell to find a nice shady spot for a picnic lunch.

And what a lunch it was! So. Much. Amazing. Food. Yummmmmm…….

calzone

Calzone by the amazing Mrs C.

tarts

Fruit tarts (I think from Jo?). (I didn’t notice until looking at this photo that there were two flavours! Argh, I missed trying one!! This is a minor disaster, folks!)

I would mention all the other tasty treats we had, but I’m getting hungry just thinking about them all again, so I won’t inflict that on you. Lets just say, you’d be jealous at having missed it. πŸ˜‰

There was lots of talk about sewing (surprise, surprise), fabric, and a couple of other crafts even got a look-in. A (very hurried) small swap (we were running out of time – too much chatting, not enough checking the time, and people’s parking was running out of time – oops!) where I scored this gorgeous Ikea cotton from Mel:

fabric

(I just love that she’s pinned on there where and when she got it, on a cute little template with a sewing machine on it. Love!) (May have to “borrow” that idea, actually….)

There was also an (equally hurried) photo shoots, where those of us wearing new garments could get some pics for our blogs. (I’ll show you photos of my new cardigan in another post later.)

It was soooo much fun! Thanks for a lovely picnic lunch, ladies. πŸ™‚ Let’s do it again soon!

group

(We approached a random group of strangers to get one to take our photo. Thank you lovely lady, whoever you were!)

Top row (left to right): me (and Drake in the middle of a throwing-up action shot. Oops.), Emily, Maryanne, Juliet.
Bottom row (left to right): Jo, Mel, Nikki.

(Yep, we posed school-photo style. Just coz the steps were there, and we could.)

(Live in Wellington and want to join us next time? Let me know, and I’ll add you to the mailing list!)

21 responses to “Teddy bears picnic (…only with bloggers instead of teddy bears)

  1. T’was just lovely to meet you Kat, Drake and the ladies. I wanna do it again please please, yes please.

    Sewing can be such a solo thing, other than when the hubs zooms in to find out what all that swearing was about. So, it is a real pleasure to meet like minded folk outside of the sewing room.

  2. Looks like another great meet-up. Will have to try and make the next one – couldn’t really abandon hubby today on our wedding anniversary!

  3. IT was so much fun, I felt like a party pooper running away. No ticket, luckily, and my 5 hour peacock shirt cutting out marathon is now finally completed! xoxo

  4. It was great fun! Those tarts were mine… which flavour did you miss? I only tried the lemon, totally missed the raspberry! Bums! Can’t wait until next time!

    • I tried the raspberry (which was amazing!), missed the lemon. Guess we’ll have to have another pot luck picnic! πŸ˜‰

  5. Lovely blog lunch!

  6. The weather couldn’t have been better and I was so tempted to throw in my sewing mission and join you all – but as maid of honour it is important to show up clothed next week. I’m glad you all had a great time and will be at the next one!

  7. Hey Kat! Just poppin’ by to say you’re one of the winners in my Giveaway πŸ™‚

  8. What a well-dressed group! How awesome!

    • It was heaps of fun! Are you NY girls having a meetup in March with Lladybird? We thought we might schedule the next Wellington bloggers meet-up to coincide with that, meet ups all around the world on the same day would be kinda cool. πŸ™‚

  9. Hooray, what fun it was! See you next time πŸ˜€ (love the action shot of Drake by the way.. great timing!)

  10. I love the food close ups, they look even more delicious in photo-blog form, if that is even possible, may have to beg Mrs C for her calzone recipe!

    I’m glad you like my little nerdy fabric labels, I admit I am a teeny bit embarrassed that I forgot to take it off πŸ˜‰ haha

    • Those fabric labels are fabulous! Such a great idea. πŸ™‚ I’ve started writing down the details (yardage and cost) on the tags I put on my fabric stash boxes, but your label idea is even better. πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Beyond the UFO pile: Simplicity 1802 (also sewing bloggers are AWESOME!) « the curious kiwi

  12. Looks like a fun day was had. I’ll have to try make it next time πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: something catchy required | Calico Stretch

  14. Pingback: The “Beatrice” Dress | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a comment