Sewalutions 2013 – I’m in the jar, how about you?

Have you been bitten by the wave of sewing resolutions that’s sweeping the blogosphere at the moment? As with many great trends, it was kicked off by Karen from Did You Make That. She challenged us all to put our money where our mouth is and go public with a sewing resolution for 2013 – putting it in a jar, and being called up at the end of the year to account for our ability to stick to it.

How could I resist a challenge like that?! Wanna see my resolution? It’s my biggest one, and lets face it, it’s going to be one heck of a struggle to keep it. (I tried last year and failed miserably.)

To buy no fabric, patterns or notions.

(Unless itโ€™s something very specific that I need to complete a project and donโ€™t have in my stash, such as interfacing).

Yep, stash busting is the name of the game this year. (And probably next year. And the year after that. And…. Yeah, well, you get the picture.)

A small part of my stash.  The boxes hold vintage patterns - one box each for 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s.

A small part of my stash. The boxes hold vintage patterns – one box each for 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s.

And guess what? So far, the very fact that Karen’s going to be holding me accountable to this at the end of the year has stopped not one but two fabric purchases so far this year!! And about three pattern purchases!!! (Yikes!!!) (And yes, I’m still day-dreaming about one of those fabric purchases I didn’t make….. *sigh*)

All hail the Power of the Jar!

21 responses to “Sewalutions 2013 – I’m in the jar, how about you?

  1. Good luck! Sounds like you’re very dedicated to your goal! It’s a good one! I signed up, although I didn’t see the post until the deadline was over, so I may not be officially in, but I pledged to actually make a pair of trousers. They really intimidate me!

    • Oooh yes, trousers! I’m really wanting to tackle a pair of them this year as well…. Eek! I’ll be looking forward to seeing your ones – you’ve got so many adorable tops to go with them! :-)

  2. anothersewingscientist

    I’m in the jar, but I knew I just couldn’t do the same as you and go a year without buying fabric: the charity shop down the street from me sells fabric for $1/m, and they get goooood stuff! I promised to use my Christmas present of silk dupioni, which is intimidating me.

    • Wow, $1/m! That would be very hard to pass up.

      Ooooh, silk! Pretty! Looking forward to seeing what you make with it :-)

  3. Good luck! At least you didn’t resolve not to accept pattern or fabric donations…. ;)

  4. You can totally do it!!
    Your stash makes me drool. Gorgeous stuff!

    • Thanks! :-) (I must admit, that’s only a tiny fraction of my stash. One day I may do a stash post. If I ever get over the embarrassment of my fabric hording ways….! ;-/ )

  5. I’m in and we can do it! Although I’m just sworn off fabric, I’m allowed notions though as I don’t have a hoard of those!

  6. I missed the deadline for signing up, but my resolution is similar – no more new patterns or fabric until I have worked through a considerable part of my stash. Keeping it a bit vague though in case I need some wriggle room :) Good luck!

    • Nice vagueness! ;-) Good luck with working through it! Maybe we need a stash-busting month, to challenge us all to make as much from our stash as we can….

  7. Good luck! This is a bold one. I tried it and was so successful for so long and then it got to me and I fell off and had a bender and staggered home with bags and bags from the AT sale. Mine is about productivity. I do have a post drafted so I’ll get around to sharing it eventually! Maybe even while it is still January!

  8. It’s a very admirable goal. I have a very small stash and even now I sometimes feel it weighing me down in a way. I want to have less STUFF in my life. So I wish you luck! :D

  9. Last time I made a resolution like this the Fabric Warehouse had the biggest ever sale that the sewing group are still talking about a year later. Who woulds start a sewing sale the day after lent starts!

    • Oh man, was that the one on Lambton Quay? I may have acquired something like three full-to-bursting new bags of fabric from there…. Oops…..!

  10. Pingback: Want a vintage pattern? | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

