The “Sunshine” Slip

The Facts

Fabric: 2 metres of a fine silk/cotton blend, $3/metre
Pattern: Vogue 9350
Year: 1957
Notions: approx 1 metre of ribbon from my stash, ~$20c
Time to complete: 2 hours 15 mins
First worn: for these photos
Wear again? probably

Total price: ~$6.20

Ok, I admit it. This slip was actually the first maternity garment I started making for myself, back in February (or was it March?) for the Sew Weekly Pantone challenge. I never got around to finishing it then, and it’s been hanging on the back of my wardrobe door, waiting for the bias to settle so it could be hemmed, ever since. This week’s Sew Weekly challenge was all about the colour yellow. Clearly, it was time to finish off this slip!

(Somewhat ironically, in between starting and finishing this slip, I actually made the pattern a second time, and have worn that pink slip quite a lot. It’s also being worn under this yellow slip in these photos, for the sake of modesty and all that.)

In case you’re wondering, these photos were taken in our kitchen. What, you mean you can’t tell it’s a kitchen?!? Where’s your imagination!?! I’ve been assured it will start looking like a somewhat more serviceable kitchen from tomorrow, when the cabinets start getting installed. We shall see.

I’d been doing really well this year with my resolution to buy no new fabric (and yes, second-hand is fine). And then The Curious Kiwi posted about a pop-up sale store just down the road from where I work, for one of my favourite fabric shops. I was managing to avoid the temptation, until right near the bottom of her post she mentioned silk. For only $5 a metre!! Ok, I was sooo there!!! (While trying to fool myself that the only reason I was going was in case there was the right sort of fabric for a dress for my mother, since I oddly don’t have anything suitable in my stash.)

*Ahem* Yes, well, that resolution has now completely bitten the dust. I resolve to begin it again starting from now.

There were a lot of gorgeous fabrics there. There was fine pure wool suiting for only $5 a metre. Lining for only $1 per metre, or $2 per metre for fancy stuff. And lots of lovely, lovely things for $3 per metre. I now have a fabric pile in my room that I have no space for. (But oh my, it’s going to make so many gorgeous garments!)

One of the things I spotted there was some lovely fine, lightweight silk-cotton blend, with a little bit of a sheen and a textured pattern woven through it. Remembering I’ve been wanting to make some slips for under vintage dresses for ages, I picked up some in both lemon yellow and salmon pink. Clearly it was meant to be, since I’d just acquired Vogue 9350, a vintage slip and panties pattern from 1957.

The pattern itself was nice and easy to make up. Simple lines, simple instructions. Cutting the bottom parts of the slip out on the bias was a bit of a pain, as the fabric has a fair amount of stretch along the bias. But I persevered, and it worked in the end! (And really, that’s the fault of the fabric, not the pattern.) (Just don’t look too closely at how even the hem is along the bottom. I may have sworn under my breath quite a bit while struggling with that bias stretch. Grrr.)

I did cheat in a couple of places. Rather than using bias trim for around the top of the slip, I simply folded a narrow hem and stitched it down. Why? I didn’t have any bias binding lightweight enough for this fabric, and the idea of sitting there making a whole lot just didn’t appeal to me at that point in time. Next time I make this pattern up (likely in that aforementioned salmon pink silk/cotton blend) I’ll give making my own bias binding a go, and see how it turns out. I also left the lace off the hem. I may or may not change my mind about that – lace does have a tendency to cling to tights when walking. (Sadly, I suspect this silk/cotton blend will do the exact same thing!)

Overall, I’m reasonably happy with how it turned out. I’ll take a bit more care next time (making my own bias binding, etc), but it’s a perfectly serviceable slip so it can stay and be worn. :-) It’s a good maternity style as well, with the bias-cut fabric, and the wrap-around back allowing lots of space for a growing bump.

3 responses to “The “Sunshine” Slip

  1. I’m going to try to channel this as inspiration – I’ve been meaning to make myself a slip (or two) for ages! Those are really cute photos, btw, you look lovely!

  2. That last picture of you is one of my all time favorites – you look glorious! And well done on finishing the yellow slip. Here’s to your kitchen being finished soon as well!

  3. Pingback: Top 5 of 2012 – the misses | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

