A week of scrapbusting

For quite a while now, I’ve been intending to do something with the mountains of scraps that I hoard. I mean, seriously – it’s getting ridiculous. I have piles of scraps from years ago, still sitting around, waiting to be turned into things.

Our kitchen is currently being renovated (which translates to – no kitchen for another 1.5 weeks, and all kitchen things stashed all over the house, cluttering up the lounge and the hallway and the baby’s room). So the lounge isn’t a good place to hang out these days, what with most of the seating being pushed away to make way for a fridge and other random appliances. With no lounge for hanging out in, I suspect I’ll be spending a lot of time in my room – which seems like the perfect opportunity to actually *do something* with that scrapbusting plan I’ve been wanting to put into action for a while!

I’ve also been inspired by Meg’s 30-in-60 challenge. (If you haven’t seen it, you should go and check it out – she’s been making some awesome things out of scraps.) If I’m honest with myself though, I don’t have the attention span to focus on a challenge like that for a full 60 days. So, here’s what I’m doing instead….

Between now and when I have a kitchen/lounge again (i.e. about 1.5 weeks) I’m going to make as many things as I can from one of my boxes of scraps. This box:

This crate has been hanging around for a few years now. I don’t even know what’s in it, but it looks like a random collection of scraps.

I guess it’ll be a bit like unearthing hidden treasure, digging through it!

So, for the next 1.5 weeks, I’ll be using as much as I can of what’s in that crate. Might be a good time to jump onto Pinterest and actually do a few of those zillions of craft projects I’ve pinned……

6 responses to “A week of scrapbusting

  1. I just gave a huge bag of scraps to my daughter’s play centre. It was so hard to part with but, much like yours it was getting out of control… and that was without the bigger pieces! I bet you will have heaps of fun with little scrapbusting projects. Really looking forward to see what you come up with. :-)

    • I’ve been giving away all the smaller scraps to a friend who works in a pre school – the kids love them for art projects, apparently. :-) (I can’t bring myself to part with the pieces that are big enough to ‘do things with’ though – argh!)

      • I saw an example of a ‘tumbling block’ quilt design yesterday and I feel a bit gutted for giving all those scraps away now. But hey, I will have to start furiously sewing more so I can replenish the scrap stash! :-)

  2. I keep a bag beside the sewing machine which every scrap and off cuts from finished projects go into (once they are all completed). My sons old preschool always appreciate a bag of fabric for craft purposes, as so few people sew these days. I have found that as I tire of prints, unless they are very special they will never get used again. I would rather have room for new projects and I find a good purge really gets the creative energy flowing! Hope you are well, I miss our emailing! x

  3. Hooray for scrapbusting!!! I’m super excited to see all of the goodies you are going to make!

Leave a Reply

