The “Bad Romance” Slip

The Facts

Fabric: about 1.5 metres of lingerie stuff, ~$0.50 from Fabric-a-brac
Pattern: Vogue 9350
Year: 1957
Notions: about 1.5 metres of pink ribbon
Time to complete: 2 hours
First worn: to work on Thursday
Wear again? Yep – I made it the perfect length for under my Owls About It dress
Bump: 27 weeks
Total cost: ~$0.50

Another week, another Sew Weekly creation!

This week, the theme was all about holidays. Since we’re in the middle of winter here, it didn’t seem quite right to be making something for a summer holiday. (I briefly toyed with the idea of making a swimsuit, since I’ve finally found some fabric I like for a 1950’s inspired one, but the whole baby bump made me give up on that idea. That, and the idea of taking photos of myself wearing a swimsuit. I’m just not that brave just yet….) Instead, I channeled the delight of winter vacations!

Winter vacations to me don’t really involve snow. (Unless the snow happens to be nearby while I’m soaking in a hot pool, that is. Or as a nice view from a window in a cozy warm building. Me and the cold – we don’t get on so well.) Instead, my idea of a lovely winter vacation involves a hotel or a cottage, preferably an open fire (although lots of nice central heating will suffice), bathtubs with deliciously scented bubbles, hot chocolate, and lounging around with a good book.

And what would a romantic winter getaway be without some lovely lounging gear?

Thus, I present to you – the Bad Romance slip!

(Winter getaway = romance. But why ‘bad romance’, you may ask? Well, don’t look too closely at the cover of that book I’m holding. Shameful though it is to admit, I’ve been devouring historical romance books quite a lot over the past few months. It seems to be all my pregnancy brain wants to focus on – the delicious fluff of bad romances. Hah.)

(And also, it’s a good excuse to try and get a Lady Gaga song playing in people’s minds. Did it happen for you? ;-) )

Technically, this is the second time I’ve made up this pattern – a maternity slip pattern from 1957. The first version of it isn’t actually finished yet – it’s been hanging up, waiting to be hemmed for about 2-3 months now. I’m wearing it under this pink slip for a bit of modesty – you can see the lemon yellow underneath, since I made the first one in a longer length. One day soon, I’ll finish it and then I can finish the blog post I started on it many weeks ago…..

This pattern is nice and easy to use – the skirt pieces are all cut on the bias, so they skim over a pregnant belly nicely and will still be wearable post-baby-bump. I found the crossover in the back to be a bit low, but since it’s worn under things, that’s not really an issue. The slip crosses over at the back, with ties on either side so it can be adjusted for a growing belly. All very pregnancy-friendly, really. And this fabric wears well under dresses, which I can confirm since I wore it to work on Thursday. It provides a much-needed layer of slipperyness between a cotton dress and winter tights. I made it short enough to wear under my Owls About It dress, since that corduroy needs a slip between it and tights or it rapidly turns into a top rather than a dress!

So there we have it – my new slip. Nice and comfy to wear, and it makes me feel all pretty too, which is a good thing in the middle of winter I reckon. :-) And it fits into the ‘vintage’ category of the Sew, Baby! challenge too.

5 responses to “The “Bad Romance” Slip

  1. Pingback: Vogue 9350 « Patterns patterns patterns

  2. Wonderful!! You look stunning- now I know you bought that book just for show and spend all your time reading edifying literature while listening to baroque, right?

  3. Cutting the skirt on the bias really does help it “skim” over everything. I thought your bump looked far too small in the first pictures. It wasn’t until you highlighted it in the last photo that I could see you had grown since the last time I saw you.

  4. Pingback: The “Sunshine” Slip | Modern Vintage Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

