The “Boxy Lady” Jacket

The Facts

Fabric: about 1.5 metres of pink/black acrylic blend herringbone from my stash, ~$8
Pattern: McCall’s 5791
Year: 1961
Notions: 4 mis-matched buttons from my stash, ~$0.01
Time to complete: 5.5 hours (so far)
First worn: for these photos
Wear again? yes

Total cost: ~$8

So much for the theme at the Sew Weekly this week. We were meant to be making something for the opposite season to what we’re currently in – which in theory means I should be making something for winter. Not that making something for wearing in 4 months is at all a bad thing. The problem is, it’s actually the right weather to wear it now. Summer seems to have passed us by this year, which is a shame for all my summer tops that haven’t made it out of the wardrobe yet, but is likely a good thing for this jacket, which will be getting out and about a bit sooner than anticipated!

I thought I’d go a bit outside of my usual style this week, and have a go at making a cropped jacket pattern from 1961. Normally, cropped jackets aren’t my style. Nor are boxy jackets, shawl collars, or double-breasted styles. But for some reason, this fabric and this pattern just wanted to be joined together, in happy-jacket-making-ness.

Surprisingly, I actually quite like the result! I need to figure out what to wear it with, but I’m sure I can come up with something. :-)

The pattern came together nice and easily, with only a couple of small head-scratching moments. The back neck facing just didn’t want to be where it was being told to stay by the pattern, but where it’s settled seems to work just fine. And now that I think about it, the instructions for where to tack down the back neck facing were the only part that didn’t translate easily into the construction. A nice and easy pattern to put together, indeed!

Since it’s a boxy jacket style, I didn’t bother with a small bust adjustment, and I think it works fine as it is. Next time, I might make it a couple of centimetres longer, and maybe make the sleeves full length (just for variety), but I’m pretty happy with the fit of this jacket.

I must admit to something though – while I’ve faced it, I haven’t yet lined it. (*gasp!* shock, horror! *hangs head in shame*) I was going to, but it involves a heck of a lot of hand sewing, and these days I’m in the habit of saving as much hand sewing as possible for when I go on a trip. Steve and I are heading up to a friend’s bach/crib/holiday house/whatever you want to call it for the weekend, so I’m thinking about taking it with me for some hand-sewing up there. (A true sewing geek, I was seriously considering taking my sewing machine with me. Steve put his foot down about that one, though.)

Would I make this pattern again? Maybe. There are two other variations of it, and I’m particularly interested in variation C, with it’s neckline detail. In fact, now I think about it, it may be rather cute done up in denim, don’t you think?

8 responses to “The “Boxy Lady” Jacket

  1. Aw now I usually like your creations, but this one has me pawing at the monitor! I love this and really want to stroke that fabric. Nicely done lady!

  2. This is just a fabulous jacket and I love it… and you have the perfect bod to carry it off! I can see it with a high waisted pencil skirt or cropped trousers. High waisted a must methinks to stop a draft! I think a denim one would be great too. :-)

    • Thanks! :-) I’m thinking I need more high-waisted pencil skirts in my wardrobe (or maybe more plain-coloured wiggle dresses) so I can show this jacket off in winter, tee hee

  3. I love this jacket too! Such a great herringbone fabric as well! Like ooobop I could see it with a high waisted pencil skirt or high waisted trousers…or cute little capris!

  4. what a great jacket! I’m so scared of making something like this I I live through everyone else doing it! It’s brilliant.

  5. Pingback: Scary Burda jacket! | ooobop!

Leave a Reply

