Ladybird Purse

Finally, I’ve gotten around to making something else from one of my craft books, as part of the Craft Book Challenge! Right on the last day of the month, even. (I should really start a bit earlier next month, shouldn’t I?!)

This month, I took the opportunity to pick up a cute wee craft book my lovely sister-in-law Krysha sent to me – Cute Stuff by Aranzi Aronzo. These guys make the cutest books ever – they’re written in a comic type format, with super-sweet images of animals, and it’s narrated by White Rabbit and Brown Bunny. Too cute for words! And yet, I’m ashamed to admit that this is the first thing I’ve made from the book. I’ve picked it up several times and loved looking through it, but it’s only now, with the Craft Book Challenge, that I’ve gotten around to making anything from it. Oh well, better late than never, right?! (One of these days I’m going to make myself the cute business card holder. Maybe that should be my June project….)

I choose to make a ladybird purse – it’s made of felt, with a zip in the back so you can use it as a wee purse for, well, whatever you want it to be, really!

It took me a bit longer than I expected to make, as I hand-stitched the spots and the eyes onto the ladybird, and my hand sewing isn’t the fastest (or the best). I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, though – I think it’s rather cute. :-)

I’m going to be sending this to one of the 6 people I have left to make things for as part of my Pay It Forward 2011 craft pledge. Miss Ladybird will be winging her way to one of those people this weekend. Hopefully her new owner will like her as much as I do!

3 responses to “Ladybird Purse

  1. Wow – this looks great Kat. I have this book and its one of the things I have been MEANING to make. Perhaps I should join this craft book challenge too…hummm…..

  2. It’s adorable!

    • Thanks! :-) And thanks for starting such a great challenge – without it I still wouldn’t have gotten around to making anything from that craft book!

Leave a Reply

